We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 06:00 - 20:00
Save
  
Ways to Experience Tim Brown Tours - Durban Safari Tours
from US$172,17
More Info
from US$216,93
More Info
Reviews (485)
Filter reviews
485 results
Traveller rating
463
17
2
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
463
17
2
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews game reserve day trip south africa cape buffalo excellent guide cruise ship sibo giraffes wildlife tala reserves expert
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 485 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2019

From the moment he picked us up, Tim was completely dedicated to making sure we had the best safari experience possible. He shared an abundance of knowledge about Durban, Hluhluwe, the animals, and South Africa in general. Tim welcomed every question with a smile and I can truly say we learned so much from him. After arriving on the reserve, we went right to searching for animals even though it wasn't on the schedule and delayed his lunch hour- in fact, it was even Tim's idea. He even went out of his way to make sure we saw giraffe as close as possible before we left, showing his vast knowledge of the reserve and the animals within it. I could not have asked for a better time on Safari- Tim Brown Tours is a must, if I ever get the chance to return to South Africa, there is no doubt I will be going on another Safari with this company.

Date of experience: May 2019
1  Thank snyderhr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimBrownTours, Owner at Tim Brown Tours - Durban Safari Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2019

Dear Mr Snyder

Thank you for your wonderful review.

It was a great Safari and I am so glad we took the extra time out of lunch to search for animals as it was really worth it!

Look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2019

We did the 2 day tour from Durban and would recommend this over the 1 day option as you really need the time to do it justice.
Day 1 started with a drive to the Cheetah conservation centre which was sensitively managed and an eye opener into re-introducing these big cats to the wild. Then onto Hluhuwe where we rapidly started spotting the big beasts of the reserve. We also added on the options sunset drive which was worth the extra.
Day 2 included a couple of further drives around the reserve before we went on to St Lucia for a 2 hour cruise to see hippos and crocs.
It was a wonderful 2 days with a number of knowledgeable guides. Highly recommended!

Date of experience: June 2019
3  Thank phatbear9
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimBrownTours, Owner at Tim Brown Tours - Durban Safari Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2019

Thank you so much for your great review.

We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Kind regards

Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2019

I did the 2-day tour combining Hluhluwe with the St Lucia wetlands. The guide was very knowledgable, knowing all the backroads of the park. Lots of animals sighted in the park (white rhinos in particular), including a magical exprience with elephants eating peacefully on all sides of the vehicle while we were watching.

Date of experience: June 2019
1  Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimBrownTours, Owner at Tim Brown Tours - Durban Safari Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2019

Dear Peter

Thank you for your lovely review, so glad you enjoyed your experience with Tim Brown Tours.

Kind regards

Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2019

I did the overnight trip from Durban to Hluhluwe-Imfolozi and it was so worth it! Our tour guide was great, and gave us so much information about Zulu culture, the animals, and anything else we were curious about. Having a small group made the entire experience even better since everything felt a little more personal. I would recommend Tim Brown to anyone.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank Erin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimBrownTours, Owner at Tim Brown Tours - Durban Safari Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2019

Dear Erin

Thank you for your lovely review.

So glad you enjoyed your tour and felt the intimacy of our smaller groups. This is exactly what we like to achieve.

Look forward to hosting you again.

Kind regards

Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2019

Having been to South Africa and on safari before, I was excited to take a group of eight university students volunteering for two weeks just outside of Durban on a weekend excursion. After hours of searching the internet trying to find the “right” tour operator for my students, I came across Tim Brown Tours and was initially impressed by the fact that Tim Brown with Tim Brown Tours was voted the best nature Tour guide in South Africa at the Lilizela national Tourism Awards 2018. As I worked with the team at Tim Brown Tours, I continued to be impressed by their responsiveness, helpfulness, and all-around professionalism. As I was coordinating a student group with only two free days, Tim Brown Tours was flexible with planning our excursion schedule and most attentive to particular requests, such as change in accommodation meet the group’s needs. And in only two days, the group was able to take in all that the Cat Rehabilitation Centre and Hluhluwe Game Reserve had to offer, as well as St. Lucia Estuary-Isimangeliso Wetland Park in May, 2019.

We were pleasantly surprised to have Tim Brown himself as our guide! After picking us up at our accommodation just outside of Durban, onto the Cat Rehabilitation Centre we went where the group toured and was able take photos and even selfie’s sitting (and even lying) besides beautiful cheetahs. Then onto Hluhluwe Game Reserve, where within moments of entering the Game Reserve we met a parade of elephants playing in a mud hole. And Tim’s expertise quickly became evident to the group, so much so that the students “squished” in the safari vehicle just so that Tim could join. Over the course of the afternoon, evening, and next morning on our private safari drives, the group saw three more of the Big 5 - a pride of lions (twice!), rhino, and buffalo – as well as many more exquisite animals such as chameleon, owl, warthog, impala, waterbuck, and zebra. And when it came time to leave the Game Reserve, and the group had only seen giraffe from afar through binoculars, in true guide fashion Tim went out of his way to track down a group of giraffe so that everyone in the group could go home happy. And then the perfect ending to our weekend excursion - St. Lucia Estuary where the group had a restful, yet entertaining (thanks to the hippo’s) boat cruise through the beautiful Wetland Park.

The entire time that the group was with Tim Brown Tours, from pick up and arriving safely back to our accommodation and EVERYTHING in between, we were in excellent hands and above all the group had an unforgettable experience! Thank you Tim Brown and Tim Brown Tours!!! I cannot wait to book again with my next group in October, 2019!!!

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank jennyy12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimBrownTours, Owner at Tim Brown Tours - Durban Safari Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2019

Dear Jenny

Thank you for your wonderful review!

So glad you enjoyed it and the group.

Great to hear you will be back soon, we look forward to hosting you once again.

Kind regards

Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews