We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Veronique
Cape Town, South Africa

Good for the building character, but service to improve

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 19 Jan 2023
Nice building with historic vibe.
The comoun area are nice, but the room are just OK.
Cleaness to improve, as the bathroom bin was not emptied from the previous guest
No direct open window allowing a good ventilation
I asked to change the room but the hotel was prentendingly fully booked
Date of stay: January 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
R 1 977
R 1 283
  • Algotels
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
1.4 km from Durban Manor Hotel & Conference Centre
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
R 2 638
Fully refundable
  • Algotels
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
2.4 km from Durban Manor Hotel & Conference Centre
Free Wifi
Beachfront
SUN1 DURBAN EXTERIOR
Tripadvisor
R 841
  • Algotels
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.1 km from Durban Manor Hotel & Conference Centre
Radissonhotels.com
R 5 694
R 3 842
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 5 694
  • Booking.com
16.2 km from Durban Manor Hotel & Conference Centre
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotel
Tripadvisor
R 863
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
  • Priceline
0.4 km from Durban Manor Hotel & Conference Centre
Free Wifi
Beachfront
The Royal Outside
Algotels
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 211
  • Priceline
0.2 km from Durban Manor Hotel & Conference Centre
Pool
Restaurant
Algotels
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 340
  • travelup.com
6.1 km from Durban Manor Hotel & Conference Centre
Free Wifi
Free parking
Main Exterior
Algotels
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Site
    R 1 300
  • Booking.com
3.5 km from Durban Manor Hotel & Conference Centre
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 936
  • Priceline
11.6 km from Durban Manor Hotel & Conference Centre
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 661
  • Booking.com
1.2 km from Durban Manor Hotel & Conference Centre
Beachfront
View more hotels in Durban
Reviews (82)
Filter reviews
82 results
Traveller rating
3
16
27
16
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
3
16
27
16
20
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 82 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2021

Tv, aircon,room phone...all not working. Getting a 2nd bath towel for 2 guests took a day. Torn curtain ...delipidated and disappointing. Any past glory days are gone. When did it last get any star rating?

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank birder90
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 September 2020 via mobile

Hotel is good only breakfast and lift should be changed.it is small and scary, kids running and making noise at night such should be taken into consideration in to order but neither than that evetyuing was ok

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank BeautyeQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 September 2020

we visited this place in December wow what a good place,only the lift is very scary,our agent gave us a good hotel but we decided to take Durban manor hopefully next time we will get a different one and listen to our agent

Date of stay: October 2019
1  Thank madamMpumi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 January 2020 via mobile

I had one of the greatest trip you could think of. Thanks alot to Tripadvisor ! I had a great holiday and enjoyed it with myy closest freinds and I advise people who have never used Tripadvisor,to start using it.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank GomoLemoMathe
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 November 2019

I honestly don't understand how this place has a good rating on Google reviews.

I am a backpacker and I usually book accommodation that can allow me to just have a place to sleep. My requirements are standard, but this place has to be the worst accommodation I have ever seen (especially considering my standard). It was so bad, we checked in, tried to convince ourselves to spend at least one night (We were booked for 3 nights) but we couldn't bear the thought of sleeping on those sheets.

We had to find another place to stay at 10pm. That's how disgusting this place was.
To start with, there were women walking around in skimpy night dresses AT THE RECEPTION AREA. When we checked in, it seemed as if the entire floor was having a party and we were intruders.

The room was not clean. Someone just ran a vacuum cleaner over the carpet but it wasn't clean. The shower was dirty, the door had a broken lock and the neighbours were rowdy. I think they rent out the "hotel" and have full-time tenants but when we asked them about this they denied it.

Don't even waste your money. This place is far from being a hotel.

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Randtravels2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews