We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Sightsee31972111714

No back up electricity

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 27 Jul 2023
Nice enough place, but there is no generator to provide electricity during daily loadshedding power outages. This is unlike many of the other BnBs and hotels in South Africa. The WiFi is weak/ intermittent. Staff do not answer emails.
Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
R 1 168
  • Priceline
    R 982
  • Agoda.com
    R 879
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 086
3.3 km from Silver Oaks Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 287
  • Priceline
    R 1 330
  • Vio.com
    R 1 242
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 400
3.6 km from Silver Oaks Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Beachfront
R 958
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    R 888
  • Vio.com
    R 827
  • Agoda.com
    R 994
3.6 km from Silver Oaks Boutique Hotel
Pool
Beachfront
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani exterior
R 1 720
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    R 1 911
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 637
  • Vio.com
    R 1 720
3.5 km from Silver Oaks Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Coastlands Durban Main Pic
R 850
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    R 850
  • Agoda.com
    R 850
  • StayForLong
3.7 km from Silver Oaks Boutique Hotel
R 920
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    R 855
  • Agoda.com
    R 809
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 874
5.8 km from Silver Oaks Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Durban
Reviews (23)
Filter reviews
23 results
Traveller rating
5
4
7
2
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
5
4
7
2
5
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 23 reviews
Reviewed 8 February 2020 via mobile

Looking for somewhere to stay overnight for cricket match at Kingsmead. Came across Silver Oaks and could not believe the rate! Staff are great, rooms large with shower and spa bath,dstv and comfy bed. Great experience and would recommend to anyone looking for a tranquil place to stay in the hub if the city. Welcome surprise.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank pennington_beach
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 October 2019 via mobile

Great place to stay in Durban
Quiet and very clean
Staff are friendly and breakfast is great
Note: Bottled water must be provided in rooms and also a can of airfreshner!!!!!!!!!
Parking is good and very reasonable rates for rooms.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank aslim h
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 December 2018

The location is almost perfect... a walking distance from the almost forever green Musgrave Centre.

The size is ideal and the rooms are well-sized. The beds were comfortable and clean.

What we hated the most were the carpets. Fabric flooring always carries smells and in this case it was mouldy. There were also hairs all over the place!

The room that I was given on arrival had a dysfunctional air conditioning system. Imagine how was my evening in the scorching humid heat of summer Durban! Nightmare. The bathroom cupboards were aging, peeling ungraciously.

But the air-conditioning system is what bothered us the most. It is old and unsightly. You know that cheap yellow plastic colour. Yet the reception and common areas have new and more effective air-conditioning systems... this says a lot about how they view their customers.

I must admit, this situation was remedied as soon as I raised the matter the following day. But the damage was done.

Last, there is no undercover/shaded parking. In fact, there is NO parking to speak of!

Room tip: Excellent Wi-Fi
Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mfundiso M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 November 2018

Ideally placed if you have business in the Musgrave area. Very good value for money. Clean, with friendly staff, secure parking, good Wi-Fi and a decent breakfast. Filling station, shopping mall and restaurants close by. A comfortable lounge with daily newspaper and magazines.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mario K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 August 2018

I have spent three weekends at Silver Oaks this year so far. The interior is modern and well maintained, It's an exquisite comfortable home away from home. The service is absolutely great, the staff members are very welcoming and respectful. We always find our designated suite spotlessly neat and thoroughly polished every time. I cannot wait for my next visit!

Room tip: Room 9 was the best for me
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sinethemba M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews