We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mackaya Bella Guest House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Hotel(Durban)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Albany Hotel(Durban)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
SUN1 Durban(Durban)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (155)
Filter reviews
155 results
Traveller rating
114
37
4
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
114
37
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbudget roomgreat hostshome away from homehelpful in every wayoff street parkingkwazulu natalstay there againquiet environmentwonderful stayfelt like homecomfortable roomsawesome breakfastperfect place to staysmall fridgeawesome servicethanks guysbusiness or pleasure
Filter
Updating list...
92 - 97 of 155 reviews
Reviewed 13 December 2015 via mobile

Thank you Mike and Nicky for your warm hospitality. We felt really welcomed. A lovely relaxing venue. Breakfast was superb, the joyous melody of Mike singing whilst cooking was very emtertaining. Well done to both of you, you make all your guest feel special.
Thank you...
Mike and Nikki

Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Nikki Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NickiMahony, Owner at Mackaya Bella Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2015

Thanks for the lovely review Nikki (and Mike). You might have thought Mike sang for you because you both have the same names as us, but alas, he does that for everyone!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2015

A very pleasurable 1 night stay at Mackaya Bella. The hosts were extremely friendly and accommodating. The place was neat and had all the necessities. Pool was clean perfect for an evening dip. Breakfast was top notch and I was very impressed that they bake their own fresh croissants. The host was even kind enough to contact me about a top I had forgotten. Would definitely recommend this place for a peaceful stay.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Esivani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2015

Good place to stay if you are looking for a quiet venue, away from the hustle and bustle of the city and sea front but still within 4-6km of such places. Also handy for UKZN, DUT etc. I walked from DUT to the GH.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank tonymN9519GW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NickiMahony, Owner at Mackaya Bella Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2015

Thanks Tony. That sums us up nicely! We get asked questions a lot about our location and if it's going to be quiet for studying etc so now I can just point people to your review :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2015

I Really enjoyed the time I spent here. I wont take a microsecond to decide where I would like to stay the next time I am in Durban. The management to cleaning staff axis of service simply excelled ++



  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank dzombaarmstrong625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NickiMahony, Owner at Mackaya Bella Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2015

Thanks Armstrong. We really enjoyed having you stay with us and those 3 weeks just flew by. Although we might not have solved the problems of the world, those morning breakfast discussions with the Professor were a lot of fun. Hope all goes well with your studies and hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2015

The accommodation was perfect. Very clean and helpful & friendly staff. The hosts are very welcoming and very helpful. The self service breakfast area has a variety of food and was fantastically prepared.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 705kylec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NickiMahony, Owner at Mackaya Bella Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2015

You were a very easy and friendly guest Kyle, so the pleasure was all ours. Thanks for the review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews