We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, quiet, but close to the city of Durban”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mackaya Bella Guest House
Ranked #3 of 256 Durban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 December 2015

I stay at Mackaya Bella for work and have always found it friendly and accommodating. The house is situated in a beautiful garden with a lovely veranda to have breakfast. It is close to the city, but in a quiet street with safe, off street parking. The rooms are spacious, clean and beautiful with everything you may need. It is a great stay at a reasonable cost!

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled on business
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Elfrieda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NickiMahony, Owner at Mackaya Bella Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2015

Thanks Elfrieda. It was lovely having you, Paulene & John come stay with us. Hope to see you again next time you're in Durban.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (132)
There are newer reviews for Mackaya Bella Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 74 of 132 reviews

Reviewed 13 December 2015 via mobile

Thank you Mike and Nicky for your warm hospitality. We felt really welcomed. A lovely relaxing venue. Breakfast was superb, the joyous melody of Mike singing whilst cooking was very emtertaining. Well done to both of you, you make all your guest feel special.
Thank you...
Mike and Nikki

Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Nikki Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NickiMahony, Owner at Mackaya Bella Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2015

Thanks for the lovely review Nikki (and Mike). You might have thought Mike sang for you because you both have the same names as us, but alas, he does that for everyone!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2015

A very pleasurable 1 night stay at Mackaya Bella. The hosts were extremely friendly and accommodating. The place was neat and had all the necessities. Pool was clean perfect for an evening dip. Breakfast was top notch and I was very impressed that they bake their own fresh croissants. The host was even kind enough to contact me about a top I had forgotten. Would definitely recommend this place for a peaceful stay.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Esivani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2015

Good place to stay if you are looking for a quiet venue, away from the hustle and bustle of the city and sea front but still within 4-6km of such places. Also handy for UKZN, DUT etc. I walked from DUT to the GH.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank tonymN9519GW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NickiMahony, Owner at Mackaya Bella Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2015

Thanks Tony. That sums us up nicely! We get asked questions a lot about our location and if it's going to be quiet for studying etc so now I can just point people to your review :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2015

I Really enjoyed the time I spent here. I wont take a microsecond to decide where I would like to stay the next time I am in Durban. The management to cleaning staff axis of service simply excelled ++



  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank dzombaarmstrong625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NickiMahony, Owner at Mackaya Bella Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2015

Thanks Armstrong. We really enjoyed having you stay with us and those 3 weeks just flew by. Although we might not have solved the problems of the world, those morning breakfast discussions with the Professor were a lot of fun. Hope all goes well with your studies and hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
4.8 km away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#2 of 43 in Durban
1 456 reviews
5.1 km away
The Concierge Boutique Bungalows
4.6 km away
Road Lodge Durban
Road Lodge Durban
#25 of 43 in Durban
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 km away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 43 in Durban
443 reviews
5.7 km away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
6.9 km away
Goble Palms Guest Lodge & Urban Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mackaya Bella Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mackaya Bella Guest House

Address: 137 Penzance Road | Glenwood, Durban 4001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 256 B&Bs / Inns in Durban
Price Range: R988 - R1 318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mackaya Bella Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 4-star, modern and environmentally friendly guest house serving bed and breakfast. Located in Glenwood, Durban, overlooking a tranquil park, we are known for our friendly hospitality, comfortable rooms, tasty breakfasts and indigenous garden. Local and international guests, business people, tourists, academics and visitors are all welcome. We have 6 en-suite double rooms with TV, wi-fi, study desk plus all necessary amenities and 1 large, self-catering unit with its own kitchen, bathroom and lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Mackaya Bella Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing