We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mackaya Bella Guest House
Nearby Hotels
US$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$197
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$175
US$142
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$126
US$113
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$97
US$70
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$115
US$97
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Buckleigh Guest House(Durban)(Great Value!)
US$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$208
US$202
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$49
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$124
US$104
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (155)
Filter reviews
155 results
Traveller rating
114
37
4
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
114
37
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbudget roomgreat hostshome away from homehelpful in every wayoff street parkingkwazulu natalstay there againquiet environmentwonderful stayfelt like homecomfortable roomsawesome breakfastperfect place to staysmall fridgeawesome servicethanks guysbusiness or pleasure
Filter
Updating list...
109 - 114 of 155 reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2015

Is it not a little too expensive? I was expecting something like R600 - R650??Other than that, the place and its people are very warm, you feel like a family member. Next time, same room please? Big up

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nonfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NickiMahony, Owner at Mackaya Bella Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2015

Thanks so much for your comments. Much appreciated. So happy that you feel it's like a home away from home. We genuinely love meeting people and have the best job. Re the rates, we are pretty much on par with the price for other 4 star graded establishments in Glenwood. Some people think that's too much and others don't even blink an eye. We do specials from time to time, so keep an eye out for them. PS: Which room were you in?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2015

I had a pleasant experience and met a wonderful person in the owner. The place was immaculate and room most comfortable. I especially enjoyed the privacy and the freedom of movement the place allows especially at night.
The only disappointment was the breakfast that was pre cooked and heated in the microwave and served to me, which left the bacon and sausage dry and the eggs leathery. Prefer fresh food and I am happy to wait for it. Thanks.

Overall, a place I will certainly recommend and visit again. Thanks guys and all the best.


  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Selvam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NickiMahony, Owner at Mackaya Bella Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2015

Thanks Selvam. Glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you again. Re the breakfasts, I have already chatted to our ladies about this as i noticed it happened with another guest last week. Sometimes if there is a gap between guests eating times, they have taken it upon themselves to cook ahead in preparation for the next guest so that they can have the meal ready asap. As you pointed out, this is to the detriment of taste and freshness. They now all understand that cooking to order and having guests wait a few minutes extra is far more preferable. Appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2015

We needed a comfortable , convenient home for a business visit in the Glenwood area of Durban South ...and found it , at Mackaya Bella.
Personal , prompt and professional service were the hallmarks of Nicki and her team ; with a tasty breakfast start to the day, and friendly attention to detail, in resolving our service requests .

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bill434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2015

Wonderful stay will definitely visit again. Thanks Nicky! Just one thing, check the aircon remote control's batteries they are flat. Oh and thanks for recommending Olive and Oil Restaurant had the most delicious prawns there!

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NickiMahony, Owner at Mackaya Bella Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2015

So sorry about the flat batteries. Will fix that asap and thanks for letting us know. Have asked the staff to make this part of their room readiness. Please just knock on our door next time (even after hours). Good to hear about Olive and Oil. We love prawns so will have to make a visit there soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2014

I spent 4 weeks at Mackaya Bella while in Durban visiting UKZN. This must be one of the best guest houses I've ever stayed in. The room was fantastic, with everything one could want, the staff friendly, oh so accommodating, and the breakfasts were simply divine. With such a beautiful house and garden there too, I'd recommend it to anyone visiting the area. Thank you Louise and Jon!

Room Tip: The flat is a treat!
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Stefan182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews