We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
bdavid918866
Elliot, South Africa

Excellent service and amazing views

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 23 Jul 2022
We had an amazing stay at The Grange Guest House. Awesome views from the room and absolutely excellent service. Thank you
very much! We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and highly recommend it. We will most certainly be back.
Date of stay: July 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
R 988
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 416
  • Agoda.com
    R 873
  • Priceline
2.5 km from The Grange Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 844
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Lol.travel
    R 814
  • Expedia.com
    R 892
6.2 km from The Grange Guest House
Pool
Beachfront
R 1 010
R 924
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 008
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 010
6.4 km from The Grange Guest House
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani exterior
R 1 698
R 1 385
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • StayForLong
    R 1 579
6.9 km from The Grange Guest House
Free Wifi
Pool
R 1 162
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 912
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 086
7.4 km from The Grange Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Front of Hotel
R 628
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 607
  • Expedia.com
    R 692
7.3 km from The Grange Guest House
Free Wifi
Beachfront
The Royal Outside
R 936
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 772
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 048
8.4 km from The Grange Guest House
Pool
Restaurant
Coastlands Durban Main Pic
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    R 850
  • StayForLong
  • Agoda.com
    R 850
8.0 km from The Grange Guest House
SUN1 DURBAN EXTERIOR
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    R 659
  • Expedia.com
    R 724
  • Agoda.com
    R 710
7.4 km from The Grange Guest House
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    R 661
  • Agoda.com
    R 559
  • Expedia.com
    R 799
8.6 km from The Grange Guest House
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
View more hotels in Durban
Reviews (178)
Filter reviews
178 results
Traveller rating
152
20
4
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
152
20
4
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful house late arrival peaceful stay place is beautiful breakfast was delicious excellent location family room business trip rooms are spacious
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 178 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2022

Although mine was a business trip, I would have loved to spend more time here. The place is beautiful and well managed. I would definitely be back. The rooms are spacious and have all the amenities you could want

Date of stay: June 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Navigate28660993533
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 May 2022

Excellent location, very exquisite and stylish property. Perfectly clean and welcoming. Very welcoming host and lovely breakfast. Nothing to complain about everything was just up to perfection. Will always come back and refer to others.

Date of stay: May 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Road44774505026
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 May 2022 via mobile

0/10.

I recommend this place to all my out of town guests coming for our wedding as they are in the same street as us. One guest had to cancel as she tested positive for covid. Airlines were wonderful changed tickets without a problem. But to date the guest house has refused to refund in full.
I will definitely NOT recommend them again
The way the financial mamage, has handled the situation is appalling!

Date of stay: April 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank shillaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 April 2021

We ended up at a very sub standard establishment whilst on a weekend away with our granddaughter who is almost 4 years old. Trisha from The Grange came to our rescue and offered us a spacious, clean and very comfortable family room. We were so relieved and impressed with what we experienced on arrival. It immediately changed the mood for our short holiday and added to what was to be a very pleasant weekend away.
The staff is friendly, the accommodation is great and the location is close to a variety of shops and restaurants and the beach, we preferred Umdloti, is only a 17 min drive away. There are beaches closer.
Delicious breakfast was served every morning on the patio.
My wife and I highly recommend The Grange and we will definitely be back some time soon.

Date of stay: April 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank HMarx
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mutari Wada, Owner at The Grange Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2021

Thank you for your review. We are so glad we were able to make your stay in Durban a memorable happy time.
I agree with you, the Umdloti beaches are certainly worth the short drive up the coast, and tend to be less crowded than our local Durban beaches, especially during these holiday long weekends.
We look forward to your next visit to Durban.
Take care and stay safe.
Regards
The Grange Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2021

My parents stayed at the Grange over the Christmas period and were blown away by the amazing service and quality of the room and amenities.

All staff were friendly and helpful and the stay was exactly what we were looking for.

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mutari Wada, Owner at The Grange Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2021

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are always delighted to have guests who are visiting local family in the area, and we are glad they felt comfortable with us. We hope you all had a Blessed time together while in Durban.
Safe travels to you and your family as you return home.
Regards
The Grange Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews