We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommendation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The St. James on Venice
Ranked #14 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 November 2016

I was very happy with my stay at St James on Venice. This is an excellent quality hotel/guest! The rooms are immaculate and the service is excellent. I would have no hesitation in recommending it. The staff were very helpful!

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank B5417VJkevinm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick K, Owner at The St. James on Venice, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2016

Thank you very much for your positive comments which will inspire our team to continue providing a great service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 32 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2016

what a lovely surprise and comfortable stay, staff so pleasing...amazing value!!
the building has been beautifully renovated and the rooms are comfortable, clean and so cozy. what a special time we had.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank J3959NElaurenc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick K, Owner at The St. James on Venice, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2016

Wonderful to hear that you enjoyed a comfortable stay and appreciated the heritage home. Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2016

We had a quick overnight stay at the Saint James after a wedding recently. They very kindly waited up for us until the wee hours of the morning to check-in which I was so impressed with!
The rooms are stunning, such beautiful décor and bathrooms.
Our room was between reception and the kitchen so was a bit noisy!
Breakfast was tasty but not much selection.
Otherwise a lovely central spot!

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 366kirstyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick K, Owner at The St. James on Venice, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2016

Thank you for your review. To improve upon our breakfast selection we have amended our breakfast menu! We now include homemade muesli, muffins and rusks on the buffet table. You may also order a delicious smoothie to start the day, and we have included a banting option in our selection of cooked breakfasts. Please visit us again and try some of the new items on our menu.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2016

Good stay thank you, comfortable and elegant. Excellent, helpful and friendly service from staff.
Lovely breakfasts outside under trees with water feature. Good quality linen and bedrooms well appointed.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tammy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick K, Owner at The St. James on Venice, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2016

It was a pleasure to have you stay at The Saint James on Venice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2016

I had to travel for work and staying at the St James on Venice was a true treat. The staff were friendly and the food was great, prepared with attention. The place is really central and in such beautiful surroundings. You have to sit under the tree and trace your "roots" after a long day. The rooms are spacious and the service impeccable! I am sooooo coming back!!!

Room Tip: Stay upstairs, you have a lounge area that you can sit and have that glass of wine after a long day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1609Philly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick K, Owner at The St. James on Venice, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2016

We value people and look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
3.2 km away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1 483 reviews
1.6 km away
The Concierge Boutique Bungalows
0.1 km away
African Pride Audacia Manor Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#5 of 43 in Durban
233 reviews
2.3 km away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#18 of 43 in Durban
618 reviews
2.8 km away
Coastlands Musgrave Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. James on Venice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. James on Venice

Address: 100 Venice Road | Morningside, Durban 4001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Price Range: R1 296 - R1 944 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The St. James on Venice 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally the home of Corobrick founder Robert Storm who built it in 1892, the guesthouse is steeped in Durban history and retains much of its old world charm. The 15 bedrooms are individually decorated in a classically elegant style with some having a view over the century's old St James church while others look over the hotel's peaceful garden patio. Being close to the trendy eateries of Florida Road, Durban's beachfront, major sports stadiums (Kings Park and Moses Mabhida Football Stadium), golf courses and Jameson and Mitchell Parks means all Durban's attractions are just a short drive away. The guesthouse is ideal for small meetings, conferences and private dinners and is well equipped to ensure business runs smoothly and efficiently. For business guests, the guesthouse is well-placed for access to the ICC, as well as quick freeway access to the Umhlanga Ridge precinct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your The St. James on Venice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing