We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Saint James on Venice Guest House
Nearby Hotels
US$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Durban(Durban)
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$188
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$123
US$59
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$134
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$52
US$46
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Valley Lodge(Durban)
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$52
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$226
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (133)
Filter reviews
133 results
Traveller rating
76
37
10
4
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
76
37
10
4
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshigh teababy showerdouble storeyboutique hotelsmall hotelloved our stayconference roombusiness staypleasant stayeasy accesshome away from homeroom was spaciousvenuewaterpolokudamorningsidecouch
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 133 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2016

what a lovely surprise and comfortable stay, staff so pleasing...amazing value!!
the building has been beautifully renovated and the rooms are comfortable, clean and so cozy. what a special time we had.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank J3959NElaurenc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick K, Owner at The Saint James on Venice Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2016

Wonderful to hear that you enjoyed a comfortable stay and appreciated the heritage home. Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2016

We had a quick overnight stay at the Saint James after a wedding recently. They very kindly waited up for us until the wee hours of the morning to check-in which I was so impressed with!
The rooms are stunning, such beautiful décor and bathrooms.
Our room was between reception and the kitchen so was a bit noisy!
Breakfast was tasty but not much selection.
Otherwise a lovely central spot!

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 366kirstyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick K, Owner at The Saint James on Venice Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2016

Thank you for your review. To improve upon our breakfast selection we have amended our breakfast menu! We now include homemade muesli, muffins and rusks on the buffet table. You may also order a delicious smoothie to start the day, and we have included a banting option in our selection of cooked breakfasts. Please visit us again and try some of the new items on our menu.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2016

Good stay thank you, comfortable and elegant. Excellent, helpful and friendly service from staff.
Lovely breakfasts outside under trees with water feature. Good quality linen and bedrooms well appointed.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tammy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick K, Owner at The Saint James on Venice Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2016

It was a pleasure to have you stay at The Saint James on Venice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2016

I had to travel for work and staying at the St James on Venice was a true treat. The staff were friendly and the food was great, prepared with attention. The place is really central and in such beautiful surroundings. You have to sit under the tree and trace your "roots" after a long day. The rooms are spacious and the service impeccable! I am sooooo coming back!!!

Room Tip: Stay upstairs, you have a lounge area that you can sit and have that glass of wine after a long day.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1609Philly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick K, Owner at The Saint James on Venice Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2016

We value people and look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2016

I found my stay over to be really pleasant, the atmosphere was relaxing but efficient which made it very pleasant as a work related stay over. I would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a stay over in Durban.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank seankO412GN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick K, Owner at The Saint James on Venice Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2016

Thanks Sean. Great that The Saint James on Venice is your home away from home!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews