We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Saint James on Venice Guest House
Nearby Hotels
US$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Durban(Durban)
US$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$226
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$123
US$59
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$188
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$134
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$199
US$195
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Benjamin(Durban)
US$143
US$137
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$52
US$46
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$52
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (133)
Filter reviews
133 results
Traveller rating
76
37
10
4
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
76
37
10
4
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshigh teababy showerdouble storeyboutique hotelsmall hotelloved our stayconference roombusiness staypleasant stayeasy accesshome away from homeroom was spaciousvenuewaterpolokudamorningsidecouch
Filter
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 133 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2016

Good stay thank you, comfortable and elegant. Excellent, helpful and friendly service from staff.
Lovely breakfasts outside under trees with water feature. Good quality linen and bedrooms well appointed.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tammy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick K, Owner at The Saint James on Venice Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2016

It was a pleasure to have you stay at The Saint James on Venice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2016

I had to travel for work and staying at the St James on Venice was a true treat. The staff were friendly and the food was great, prepared with attention. The place is really central and in such beautiful surroundings. You have to sit under the tree and trace your "roots" after a long day. The rooms are spacious and the service impeccable! I am sooooo coming back!!!

Room Tip: Stay upstairs, you have a lounge area that you can sit and have that glass of wine after a long day.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1609Philly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick K, Owner at The Saint James on Venice Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2016

We value people and look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2016

I found my stay over to be really pleasant, the atmosphere was relaxing but efficient which made it very pleasant as a work related stay over. I would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a stay over in Durban.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank seankO412GN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick K, Owner at The Saint James on Venice Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2016

Thanks Sean. Great that The Saint James on Venice is your home away from home!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

We had a lovely time here ,just an old house with stunning Windows and doors and floors are probably over 100 years old !! Not all rooms have baths , best room is def no 8 but has no bath , breakfasts are good and staff is very friendly and enjoy their jobs ! Great security guard ! And friendly ! It's like coming home , try the restaurant Mali s around the corner fantastic Indian restaurant , I have really come to love morning side !!

Stayed: August 2016
Thank hekpoortheksie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick K, Owner at The Saint James on Venice Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2016

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2016

I had recently had the pleasure of working with an amazing bunch of people at the St James on Venice in planning the proposal to my then girlfriend. The dedication of the staff was remarkable and special mention goes out to Sithembile for her endless patience, advice and support in helping me plan the event. Furthermore, Siziwe the waitron on duty who was tasked with assisting me setup the venue was out of this world phenomenal. The evening duty manager (I cant remember his name) was on point and played his part too the tee. The chef, well let's just say I will be definitely going back more often thanks to the great dishes prepared. You all will go very far in life with kindness you have shown to me, my now fiancé and the family that had joined us afterwards.

To the management of the St James on Venice.

You have an amazing team working with you. From their warm smiles to their dedication in seeing what may have been a small event for the hotel through to the end (yet a massive event in my life). You really have gems working with you in your establishment. It is because of your team I will forever remember the 19th of July 2016 not only because of the proposal but because the service levels carried out by them was admirable to say the least. These qualities expressed by your staff are a true reflection of a management team who have succeeded in their endeavours in making the St James on Venice what it truly is. And it truly is, perfect in every way!

Once again, thank to everyone at the St James on Venice. You guys are AMAZING!

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Bryce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick K, Owner at The Saint James on Venice Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2016

Thank you for taking the time to note your positive experiences and share them with us. We are truly delighted that we could contribute toward making this momentous occasion a happy memory.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews