We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Minor flaws but also flair”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The St. James on Venice
Ranked #11 of 42 Hotels in Durban
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Minor flaws but also flair”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2016

I stayed at the St James one night during Tourism Indaba. The guesthouse is in a charming old building and rooms are spacious and beautifully decorated. Easy to get to, good and safe parking.
Breakfast needs a bit of attention though. Coffee was finished and I had to ask for new coffee to be made. The kitchen had run out of coffee filters and plunger coffee was offered instead- which I generally would not mind, had it not been super weak, the colour of tea. I asked for a new one and advised them on how the plunger has to be used. Hot breakfast was served from a menu to chose from which was good. The breakfast buffet however had not much to offer: Basic cereal but no fruit at all. The home made bread - as written on a small board - was only brought after direct request and appeared to be just defrosted as it was rather cold and solid... A bit of management supervision would probably go a long way here.
Overall friendly staff though and - with the hope that the breakfast issues were possibly a once off event - I would probably come again. Four stars because the house and rooms do have flair.

Room Tip: Bathroom had bath with hand held shower. Would request shower next time. Avoid rooms next to stairca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick K, Owner at The St. James on Venice, responded to this review, 20 July 2016
Thank you for your constructive feedback and we shall pay special attention to the comments you made regarding the breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    26
    5
    2
    4
See reviews for
16
19
10
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2016

A sophisticated boutique hotel with a personal touch. This place situated across the historic St.James church has a kind of vintage feel to it. We ( Hubby , our 7 month baby girl and myself) stayed at SJOV for 4 nights.Such comfortable and beautiful rooms to made our stay special.Such a special trip with our little girl, she was so comfortable just like at home. Beautiful terrace seating arrangement by the restaurant and not to forget the delicious food they offer. Lovely manager Meleney and her friendly team made our stay a memorable one.Keep up the excellent work team. Look forward to seeing you all soon !!!

  • Stayed December 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandhyaVee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick K, Owner at The St. James on Venice, responded to this review, 20 July 2016
It gives us great pleasure to make our guests feel at home at The Saint James on Venice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ommeren
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2016

Recently spent 4 nights here and enjoyed my stay. The service was personal and welcoming. Comfortable room (#10), reasonably quiet. Good wifi. Nice location only 5 minutes from Florida Road with many restaurants.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rinse W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick K, Owner at The St. James on Venice, responded to this review, 20 July 2016
We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai, India
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2016

St James On Venice (SJOV) is a lovely little place with 15 rooms and a friendly and very efficient Meleney who runs the same.
We stayed there for 5 days and it was very much like home unlike a regular commercial hotel that one is normally used to.
If you are visiting Durban I would highly recommend the same.
Ask for Room #10 which is a corner room on the first floor.
Try their butternut soup which could be a meal by itself accomapnied by their home made bread.

  • Stayed February 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaitriWorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick K, Owner at The St. James on Venice, responded to this review, 20 July 2016
We are glad that you felt at home and enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2016

We arrived at the hotel on January 17th. The staff was warm, friendly and efficient. The rooms were quaint and comfortable. We had dinner twice at the hotel's restaurant and the food was absolutely amazing! Everyone especially loved the famous butternut soup! 10/10, would recommend. Looking forward to another stay.

  • Stayed January 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlaricPrins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
3.2 km away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 42 in Durban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1 343 reviews
1.6 km away
The Concierge Boutique Bungalows
3.8 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
African Pride Audacia Manor Boutique Hotel
2.9 km away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
6.7 km away
Endless Horizons Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. James on Venice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. James on Venice

Property: The St. James on Venice
Address: 100 Venice Road | Morningside (diagonally opposite Clifton school acquatic centre), Durban 4001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 42 Hotels in Durban
Price range (per night): R1 123 - R1 867
Hotel Class:4 star — The St. James on Venice 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally the home of Corobrick founder Robert Storm who built it in 1892, the guesthouse is steeped in Durban history and retains much of its old world charm. The 15 bedrooms are individually decorated in a classically elegant style with some having a view over the century's old St James church while others look over the hotel's peaceful garden patio. Being close to the trendy eateries of Florida Road, Durban's beachfront, major sports stadiums (Kings Park and Moses Mabhida Football Stadium), golf courses and Jameson and Mitchell Parks means all Durban's attractions are just a short drive away. The guesthouse is ideal for small meetings, conferences and private dinners and is well equipped to ensure business runs smoothly and efficiently. For business guests, the guesthouse is well-placed for access to the ICC, as well as quick freeway access to the Umhlanga Ridge precinct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The St. James on Venice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing