We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Saint James on Venice Guest House
Nearby Hotels
US$153
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$175/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hilton Durban(Durban)
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$157/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$223
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$192
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$145
US$117
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$132
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$31
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
The Benjamin(Durban)
US$141
US$132
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 02/06
US$119
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 02/06
US$50
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (133)
Filter reviews
133 results
Traveller rating
76
37
10
4
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
76
37
10
4
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshigh teababy showerdouble storeyboutique hotelsmall hotelloved our stayconference roombusiness staypleasant stayeasy accesshome away from homeroom was spaciousvenuewaterpolokudamorningsidecouch
Filter
Updating list...
63 - 68 of 133 reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2016

A sophisticated boutique hotel with a personal touch. This place situated across the historic St.James church has a kind of vintage feel to it. We ( Hubby , our 7 month baby girl and myself) stayed at SJOV for 4 nights.Such comfortable and beautiful rooms to made our stay special.Such a special trip with our little girl, she was so comfortable just like at home. Beautiful terrace seating arrangement by the restaurant and not to forget the delicious food they offer. Lovely manager Meleney and her friendly team made our stay a memorable one.Keep up the excellent work team. Look forward to seeing you all soon !!!

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SandhyaVee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick K, Owner at The Saint James on Venice Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2016

It gives us great pleasure to make our guests feel at home at The Saint James on Venice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2016

Recently spent 4 nights here and enjoyed my stay. The service was personal and welcoming. Comfortable room (#10), reasonably quiet. Good wifi. Nice location only 5 minutes from Florida Road with many restaurants.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back.
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rinse W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick K, Owner at The Saint James on Venice Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2016

We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2016

St James On Venice (SJOV) is a lovely little place with 15 rooms and a friendly and very efficient Meleney who runs the same.
We stayed there for 5 days and it was very much like home unlike a regular commercial hotel that one is normally used to.
If you are visiting Durban I would highly recommend the same.
Ask for Room #10 which is a corner room on the first floor.
Try their butternut soup which could be a meal by itself accomapnied by their home made bread.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MaitriWorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick K, Owner at The Saint James on Venice Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2016

We are glad that you felt at home and enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2016

We arrived at the hotel on January 17th. The staff was warm, friendly and efficient. The rooms were quaint and comfortable. We had dinner twice at the hotel's restaurant and the food was absolutely amazing! Everyone especially loved the famous butternut soup! 10/10, would recommend. Looking forward to another stay.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlaricPrins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2016

Beautiful place with great food and excellent hospitality.
The staff were helpful and friendly. The chef was very accommodating - I'm a vegetarian, the chef offered to prepare meals to suit my dietary requirements.
I'll definitely recommend this place to anyone in Durban looking for accommodation.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KimDurrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews