We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Saint James on Venice Guest House
Nearby Hotels
US$122
US$79
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hilton Durban(Durban)
US$146
US$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$241
US$227
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$221
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$205
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Benjamin(Durban)
US$148
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$164
US$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Concierge Boutique Bungalows(Durban)(Great Value!)
US$100
US$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$127
US$108
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$118
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (132)
Filter reviews
132 results
Traveller rating
76
36
10
4
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
76
36
10
4
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshigh teababy showerdouble storeyboutique hotelsmall hotelloved our stayconference roombusiness staypleasant stayeasy accesshome away from homeroom was spaciousvenuewaterpolokudamorningsidecouch
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
65 - 70 of 132 reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2016

We arrived at the hotel on January 17th. The staff was warm, friendly and efficient. The rooms were quaint and comfortable. We had dinner twice at the hotel's restaurant and the food was absolutely amazing! Everyone especially loved the famous butternut soup! 10/10, would recommend. Looking forward to another stay.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlaricPrins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2016

Beautiful place with great food and excellent hospitality.
The staff were helpful and friendly. The chef was very accommodating - I'm a vegetarian, the chef offered to prepare meals to suit my dietary requirements.
I'll definitely recommend this place to anyone in Durban looking for accommodation.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KimDurrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2016

Great place to stay if you want to be close to all the action on Florida Street. Intimate, warm and friendly. Our stay included breakfast. The staff was very helpful and kind. It felt like a home away from home.

Room Tip: best value
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Florence B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2016

We had a two night stay over at St. James on Venice in December, it was delightful. The people were so friendly and helpful, the owner checking in at breakfast in the mornings. The room was very spacious, neat and tidy. The hotel is close to the Madiba Stadium, nice and quiet during the day and in the evening. Recommended for a nice escape when you are looking to relax and do your own thing.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Annasofe13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2015 via mobile

Got here on 23rd December, found the receptionist very helpful, had a friend coming in next day so need single beds, had double for 1 night then they split the beds, any info about durban was no problem to melanie and her staff, egen at 4am when i woke for a drink i was served, an intimate place that likes to look after their customers from phoning different people to printing cricket tickets nothing was any trouble

Stayed: December 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Meleney, General Manager at The Saint James on Venice Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2016

It was a pleasure to host the 'Barmy Army' and I hope that you and your friends enjoy the rest of the cricket series in South Africa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews