We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice boutique hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The St. James on Venice
Ranked #10 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Nice boutique hotel!”
Reviewed 11 January 2016

Great place to stay if you want to be close to all the action on Florida Street. Intimate, warm and friendly. Our stay included breakfast. The staff was very helpful and kind. It felt like a home away from home.

Room Tip: best value
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Florence B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    29
    8
    2
    6
See reviews for
20
24
12
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 January 2016

We had a two night stay over at St. James on Venice in December, it was delightful. The people were so friendly and helpful, the owner checking in at breakfast in the mornings. The room was very spacious, neat and tidy. The hotel is close to the Madiba Stadium, nice and quiet during the day and in the evening. Recommended for a nice escape when you are looking to relax and do your own thing.

  • Stayed December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annasofe13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 31 December 2015 via mobile

Got here on 23rd December, found the receptionist very helpful, had a friend coming in next day so need single beds, had double for 1 night then they split the beds, any info about durban was no problem to melanie and her staff, egen at 4am when i woke for a drink i was served, an intimate place that likes to look after their customers from phoning different people to printing cricket tickets nothing was any trouble

Stayed December 2015, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Meleney, General Manager at The St. James on Venice, responded to this review, 1 January 2016
It was a pleasure to host the 'Barmy Army' and I hope that you and your friends enjoy the rest of the cricket series in South Africa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2015

Although they advertise hi-tea for R85 per person, or R100 per person if you are a group of 15 people or more, they in fact will NOT ACCEPT less than a group of 15 people, what the heck that is rediculars

Stayed October 2015
Helpful?
2 Thank Marcelline57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Meleney, General Manager at The St. James on Venice, responded to this review, 20 October 2015
I apologise for the delay in my response but I have been trying to track down the website where you obtained this information. This information and pricing you mention is from an outdated 3rd party website. We do not have control over 3rd party content nor have we been asked to contribute or update to the website where you obtained this information. Kindly note that our High Tea functions, including rates and menus, changed over a year ago. I have notified the website of their outdated information. Please contact me directly regarding any additional information I can assist with.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Shepstone, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2015 via mobile

Visited this hotel for one night. We found the hotel to be very quaint and amazing. The rooms are modernly furnished with all amenities. The breakfast location is amazing and so peaceful. It was a night worth the price. ..

Stayed October 2015, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ImraanGanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
3.2 km away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1 431 reviews
0.1 km away
African Pride Audacia Manor Boutique Hotel
1.6 km away
The Concierge Boutique Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
2.3 km away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#18 of 43 in Durban
606 reviews
6.7 km away
Endless Horizons Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. James on Venice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. James on Venice

Property: The St. James on Venice
Address: 100 Venice Road | Morningside, Durban 4001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Price range (per night): R1 206 - R3 539
Hotel Class:4 star — The St. James on Venice 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally the home of Corobrick founder Robert Storm who built it in 1892, the guesthouse is steeped in Durban history and retains much of its old world charm. The 15 bedrooms are individually decorated in a classically elegant style with some having a view over the century's old St James church while others look over the hotel's peaceful garden patio. Being close to the trendy eateries of Florida Road, Durban's beachfront, major sports stadiums (Kings Park and Moses Mabhida Football Stadium), golf courses and Jameson and Mitchell Parks means all Durban's attractions are just a short drive away. The guesthouse is ideal for small meetings, conferences and private dinners and is well equipped to ensure business runs smoothly and efficiently. For business guests, the guesthouse is well-placed for access to the ICC, as well as quick freeway access to the Umhlanga Ridge precinct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The St. James on Venice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing