We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shabeen Tour in Kwa Marshu”
Review of Street Scene Tours

Street Scene Tours
Ranked #5 of 68 Tours in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Street Scene Tours was created by Sthembiso Mbonanbi, Jonas Barausse and Richard Powell, in early 2010, with one unique goal set at its core; to showcase Durban to Durbanites. As you can imagine this is by no means the conventional stance of a tour operator, but Street Scene is not your conventional tour operator. They are constantly exploring Durban and its surrounds, ever on the lookout for nuggets of history and the many hidden gems the province has to offer.Durban and its surrounding areas are filled with a rich tapestry of history which is largely unknown not only to tourists, but also its residents. After all, Mahatma Gandhi made Durban his home for many years, and it was just outside Durban that Nelson Mandela cast his vote in the 1994 elections that forever changed South Africa. The great King Shaka Zulu also spent much time on the very land upon which Durbanites now call home.From the city's architecture to its people, Street Scene aims to engulf its guests in all that is Durban. They started out with their focus on locals but soon realized that when you create a set of tours that residents of the city love, you are guaranteed to have tours that visitors to the city will find riveting and unique. There is nothing conventional about Street Scene Tours, and that's just the way we like it.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children
Durban, South Africa
1 review
“Shabeen Tour in Kwa Marshu”
Reviewed 31 May 2016

What an amazing experience - from the fun, professional service from Jonas and Gabi in the office to the amazingness that is Lwazi our Guide on the day. 19 of us had a wonderful day learning about the history of our country and enjoying the diverse and vibrant local Shabeens. We were made to feel welcome at every stop and never felt unsafe. A proudly South African experience that I can not recommend highly enough.

Visited May 2016
Helpful?
Thank bronwynlaing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    14
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
1 review
“Wonderful experience!”
Reviewed 18 May 2016

We are a tour agent and organised a two day tour of Durban and surrounding for a group of 15 senior citizens visiting the country. Our clients were well taken care of and appreciated the extra mile Sthe went to in making sure their tour was of the highest quality. His honest, energetic and empathetic way of guiding was much applauded by all.

Right from our initial meeting with Jonas and Sthe when we started planning, to our last communication regarding the tour, we felt their 100% commitment. We loved their passion, enthusiasm and dedication to South Africa and their heartfelt desire to tell its’ true story. Being local Durbanites ourselves, it was so gratifying to learn how much they have raised the profile of Durban and promoted our wonderful city to its’ rightful place!

We look forward to working with Street Scene again in the near future. Karen and Naftaly. Pamoja Experience

Visited April 2016
Helpful?
Thank Pamoja-Experience1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Durban walking tour for my birthday ”
Reviewed 17 May 2016 via mobile

We are a proud family of born and bred Durbanites. Sithembiso and Jonas of street scene tours tailor made a walking tour of Durban for my family and I for my birthday. It was three hours of absolute fun learning about the vibrant culture, street vibe, language and history of a city and people we thought we knew backwards. Highly recommend their excellent service, brilliant knowledge and unique tour style.

Visited May 2016
Helpful?
Thank Taryn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
2 reviews
“Super Scene Tour”
Reviewed 6 May 2016

Loved this tour; it covered the heritage and cultural side of Durban so well. Sthembiso is a great guide and looked after us, explaining things as needed. Special thanks for making sure I didn't get lost, distracted by things to look at in the markets!
I definitely recommend this as something visitors need to do to understand Durban, and for Durbanites it's absolutely essential. You'll be amazed by how much you don't know about your own city. I took this tour on Behalf of Getaway Magazine, issue July 2016

Visited April 2016
Helpful?
Thank Teagan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wow wow wow”
Reviewed 7 April 2016 via mobile

We have just had the most amazing day doing both the city walk and the township tour, our guide was outstanding and showed great passion for his city and the experience he wanted us to have. We felt 100% safe at all times and met some fantastic locals. The whole experience was out of this world and although emotional at times due to the history of this country it is a must for anyone travelling to Durban!!

Visited April 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank Steph621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Street Scene Tours also viewed

 
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Street Scene Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing