We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointing lunch”

1000 Hills Chef School Restaurant
Ranked #312 of 990 Restaurants in Durban
Description: 1000 Hills Chef School students have taken the SA Junior Chef of the Year title TEN times since 2006, including the win in 2019 and 2018. Our fine dining restaurant and bistro-style deli are the practical training ground for our students. Here they practise serving and preparing both food and beverages for paying guests while still enjoying the safety of a school environment. They will explore trends and focus on seasonal ingredients, with input to our menus that are revised each term. Senior students complete an Advanced Diploma with a focus on supervision and management. They put their training to the test and take it in turn to manage the deli (with oversight) and review feedback on everything from profit and loss to the impact of weather on margins. Come and enjoy a bite so they can enjoy exposure to the real world of work.
Restaurant details
Description: 1000 Hills Chef School students have taken the SA Junior Chef of the Year title TEN times since 2006, including the win in 2019 and 2018. Our fine dining restaurant and bistro-style deli are the practical training ground for our students. Here they practise serving and preparing both food and beverages for paying guests while still enjoying the safety of a school environment. They will explore trends and focus on seasonal ingredients, with input to our menus that are revised each term. Senior students complete an Advanced Diploma with a focus on supervision and management. They put their training to the test and take it in turn to manage the deli (with oversight) and review feedback on everything from profit and loss to the impact of weather on margins. Come and enjoy a bite so they can enjoy exposure to the real world of work.
Reviewed 9 March 2022 via mobile

My husband and I go here fairly regularly. Its a lovely drive up from Durban and the setting is beautiful. Sadly this visit was very dissapointing. I had a pizza which was good but not woodfired? If you dont order a bottle of wine the option is a 250ml canned wine for r65. I feel this is a bit steep. The biggest dissapointment was the cheese platter. It was a platter of 2 kinds of bread , some torn red cabbage in vinegar , and star fruit also jn vinegar as sides. There were 2 cheeses, both young ,soft,tasteless cheeses. This platter is r130. I complained and it was explained that everything served is made by the students hence there was no mature cheese. We just leff feeling a little sad and concerned that their standards are slipping and this in the long is detrimental to the students attending there, also feel perhaps there is a lack of au fait management.

Date of visit: March 2022
Thank c0rfu2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (13)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 13 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2021 via mobile

The food was cold, and did not all come at once, we all ordered 2 meals came and the other 4 came about 30 minutes later, the drinks came 20 minutes after ordering a few beers. The only thing good was the gin. The food that came was not nice, was very very poorly prepared. They tried to offer a free
Cake to say sorry, it was a stale muffin, 3 days old at least, with lemon curd topping, it was off. We all have food poisoning after, some worse than others. Avoid if you don’t want to get terribly ill, but avoid because its total rubbish. They did not even seem to care.

Date of visit: March 2021
1  Thank paulsZ5984OU
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 March 2021

we have just had lunch there. 20 + minutes to be served a drink and an hour to be served lunch. Other people arrived after us and were served. We were offered excuse after excuse. When our food arrived it was luke warm. At that stage we were so hungry we ate it any way.
Very poor!!

Date of visit: March 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank lennoxthecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 August 2020

Warm welcome on arrival. We sat outside to enjoy the lovely views. Food was really delicious and the staff all very friendly.

Date of visit: August 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Stanford-Jarvie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 March 2020 via mobile

We were well aware that it was a training chef school - that being said - it was shocking to say the least. We had the lamb curry - sambals were not up to scratch - the naan bread was half raw and doughy - heavy as lead. Whoever is training these students is clearly not doing a very good job at all - which is a great pity. In fact it was chaos - to be quite honest. No finesse at all!

Date of visit: March 2020
4  Thank Discerningstylist
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed 1000 Hills Chef School Restaurant also viewed

Botha's Hill, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Morningside, Durban
 

Been to 1000 Hills Chef School Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.