We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My son recommended we visit”

1000 Hills Chef School Restaurant
Ranked #311 of 989 Restaurants in Durban
Description: 1000 Hills Chef School students have taken the SA Junior Chef of the Year title TEN times since 2006, including the win in 2019 and 2018. Our fine dining restaurant and bistro-style deli are the practical training ground for our students. Here they practise serving and preparing both food and beverages for paying guests while still enjoying the safety of a school environment. They will explore trends and focus on seasonal ingredients, with input to our menus that are revised each term. Senior students complete an Advanced Diploma with a focus on supervision and management. They put their training to the test and take it in turn to manage the deli (with oversight) and review feedback on everything from profit and loss to the impact of weather on margins. Come and enjoy a bite so they can enjoy exposure to the real world of work.
Restaurant details
Description: 1000 Hills Chef School students have taken the SA Junior Chef of the Year title TEN times since 2006, including the win in 2019 and 2018. Our fine dining restaurant and bistro-style deli are the practical training ground for our students. Here they practise serving and preparing both food and beverages for paying guests while still enjoying the safety of a school environment. They will explore trends and focus on seasonal ingredients, with input to our menus that are revised each term. Senior students complete an Advanced Diploma with a focus on supervision and management. They put their training to the test and take it in turn to manage the deli (with oversight) and review feedback on everything from profit and loss to the impact of weather on margins. Come and enjoy a bite so they can enjoy exposure to the real world of work.
Reviewed 2 February 2020 via mobile

My son recommended we visit this awesome eatery. We had a table with a stunning view. We did beer tasting and had a pizza and sausage taste plate. It was great under the trees. My gin drink was beautiful!

Date of visit: February 2020
Thank Aaltjie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (13)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 13 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2019 via mobile

What an incredible experience. Chatting to the up and coming chefs and learning about their studies was so interesting
They evenadee my own vegan five course meal

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Karyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 September 2019 via mobile

Decided to visit 1000 hills chef restaurant as it was a fabulous day.
As we arrived we were greeted by one of the students/waitress and asked where we would like to be seated.
Being such a beautiful day we were spoilt for choice.
Decided to sit at the top to enjoy the beautiful views. Ordered our drinks and decided on a platter of nachos with accompaniments. Needless to say they were excellent. Freshly made and flavousome. Asked gir dome green cut chillies and they could not accommodate us. Will be back for more on another round

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank RamolaMakan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 March 2019

The chef school offers the opportunity for students to prepare and service food to various patrons that visit.

There are various tables available, whether outside on a deck or inside in the deli area. The menu offers a variety of food, from breakfasts, pizzas to main meals that include curries and more.

We arrived for brunch and I chose the omelette with onions, bacon and mushrooms wit rye bread. The chefs had just started with the quiches of the day and, since we had three orders of those at the table, we were asked to wait for 20 minutes while it was prepared.

It's a lovely area to catch-up and spend time with people, so the wait wasn't an issue and we enjoyed coffee and the general ambiance while we waited. There's also a deli on the premises where I bought some cheese for an afternoon snack after we arrived at home

The food was well prepared and tasty - well worth the wait.

Prices are comparable to other restaurants in the area but it's worth giving the students some practical experience during your visit. The lady that looked after us was really eager to please and very friendly

All in all a lovely experience in the area

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ryamarim
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 March 2019 via mobile

We stumbled across the 1000 Hills Chef School Restaurant by accident, but really glad we did. It’s in a lovely setting, sharing premises with a brewery. We sat outside in the shade of trees. Service was good, costs were reasonable and the food was good. The menu offers various lunch items from salads and sandwiches to pizzas. Some patrons had brought their dogs to frolick in the lawns. There’s also a kiddies play area.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed 1000 Hills Chef School Restaurant also viewed

Botha's Hill, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Morningside, Durban
 

Been to 1000 Hills Chef School Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.