We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Road Lodge Durban
Nearby Hotels
US$174
US$148
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$196
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$145
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$90
US$72
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
US$95
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (42)
Filter reviews
42 results
Traveller rating
8
16
11
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
8
16
11
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmy home away from homerooms are cleanwithin walking distanceplace to stayvending
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 42 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2017

We love staying at the road lodge when in Durban, rooms are just about perfect size when you only using the room for a nap and a splash before you up and about touring Durban.. Rooms are clean and the service is great.. Mc Donald's is a 1 min walk away and the beach front is a 10 min walk... all amenities close by..

Stayed: May 2017
Thank Yusuf_H_786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLHG_PR_Consultant, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Durban, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2017

Thank you for staying with us and we are so glad that you had a great stay! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2017 via mobile

This hotel is positioned beautifully in the central art disrict. There was paintings on all of the walls in the area. The staff were friendly and helpful once bribed and it is surrkunded by many high-class restaurants.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank FriendlyGuest21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Durban, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2017

Thank you for staying with us. We are so happy that you enjoyed the convenience of the hotel’s location; and found our staff so helpful and friendly - key components that we pride ourselves on! We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2017 via mobile

Assume place to stay for the price rooms are just for sleeping and showering they don't have a microwave or kettle, you can make hot beverages like coffee at reception for a price in cluding vending machines for cold befregied and snaks. My overall exsperions is assume....

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Douglas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Durban, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2017

Thank you for staying with us and we are so glad that you had a great stay! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2016

Where do I start...firstly, it is situated in an unsafe area of Turban. Secondly, there is a Mc Donald's right next door and thus very noisy. Thirdly, I am not sure what actually bit me, but I am covered in itchy bites. Fourthly, my TV did not work. Fifthly, there is not enough seating in the dining room, thus I stood and ate breakfast both mornings. Sixthly, the noise of the other residents made me feel like I was trying to sleep through a party and last but not least, I would not even accommodate my dog in this trash heap of a hotel. The staff were sort of friendly though.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel.
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank AndyLawler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Durban, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2016

Thank you for staying with us. We are sorry that you did not have an enjoyable stay. Please note that Road Lodge is our budget one-star brand which we believe offers value for money to guests. However, we will certainly look into all of the matters you have raised to consider what can be done to improve the guest experience. We will also bring your comments to the direct attention of the hotel’s management. Please also note that our City Lodge Hotel Durban offers much larger rooms and a wide range of features and services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2016 via mobile

This a hotel good for bed & breakfast and a Mc Donalds ice cream if you are bored at night.

There wasn't anything special about my stay here.
Their breakfast is lovely, good variety.

This is a walking distance from the Durban ICC, a mini mall & taxi rank.

Stayed: November 2015, travelled solo
1  Thank Reshego S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Durban, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2016

Thank you for staying with us, and we are so glad that you had a great stay! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews