We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”
Review of Road Lodge Durban

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Road Lodge Durban
Ranked #24 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Reviewed 27 May 2017

was sceptical to book at first as most of the hotels were fully booked due to the Tourism Indaba which took place.But was i surprised upon checking in. good location, within walking distance to beach and tourist attractions and as an added bonus, received a scrumptious muffin and youghurt upon check out!!!!stafff must also be complimented on the friendly service.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Charlene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLHG_PR_Consultant, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Durban, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a fantastic review, it is hugely appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2017

We love staying at the road lodge when in Durban, rooms are just about perfect size when you only using the room for a nap and a splash before you up and about touring Durban.. Rooms are clean and the service is great.. Mc Donald's is a 1 min walk away and the beach front is a 10 min walk... all amenities close by..

Stayed: May 2017
Thank Yusuf_H_786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLHG_PR_Consultant, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Durban, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2017

Thank you for staying with us and we are so glad that you had a great stay! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2017 via mobile

This hotel is positioned beautifully in the central art disrict. There was paintings on all of the walls in the area. The staff were friendly and helpful once bribed and it is surrkunded by many high-class restaurants.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank FriendlyGuest21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Durban, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2017

Thank you for staying with us. We are so happy that you enjoyed the convenience of the hotel’s location; and found our staff so helpful and friendly - key components that we pride ourselves on! We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2017 via mobile

Assume place to stay for the price rooms are just for sleeping and showering they don't have a microwave or kettle, you can make hot beverages like coffee at reception for a price in cluding vending machines for cold befregied and snaks. My overall exsperions is assume....

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Douglas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Durban, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2017

Thank you for staying with us and we are so glad that you had a great stay! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2016

Where do I start...firstly, it is situated in an unsafe area of Turban. Secondly, there is a Mc Donald's right next door and thus very noisy. Thirdly, I am not sure what actually bit me, but I am covered in itchy bites. Fourthly, my TV did not work. Fifthly, there is not enough seating in the dining room, thus I stood and ate breakfast both mornings. Sixthly, the noise of the other residents made me feel like I was trying to sleep through a party and last but not least, I would not even accommodate my dog in this trash heap of a hotel. The staff were sort of friendly though.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank AndyLawler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Durban, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2016

Thank you for staying with us. We are sorry that you did not have an enjoyable stay. Please note that Road Lodge is our budget one-star brand which we believe offers value for money to guests. However, we will certainly look into all of the matters you have raised to consider what can be done to improve the guest experience. We will also bring your comments to the direct attention of the hotel’s management. Please also note that our City Lodge Hotel Durban offers much larger rooms and a wide range of features and services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
1.2 km away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#34 of 43 in Durban
96 reviews
1.5 km away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 43 in Durban
452 reviews
0.7 km away
City Lodge Hotel Durban
City Lodge Hotel Durban
#17 of 43 in Durban
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#2 of 43 in Durban
1 514 reviews
1.3 km away
Parade Hotel
Parade Hotel
#23 of 43 in Durban
75 reviews
1.0 km away
Pavillion hotel
Pavillion hotel
#27 of 43 in Durban
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Road Lodge Durban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Road Lodge Durban

Address: Cnr Braam Fischer and KE Masinga Roads, Durban 4056, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Price Range: R583 - R652 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Road Lodge Durban 1*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located within walking distance of the International Conference Centre, Tourism Durban offices, the beach and numerous restaurants. A 2 minute drive to Durban’s CBD, and only 25km from King Shaka International Airport, ensures that this hotel is in a very convenient location ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Road Lodge Durban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Road Lodge Durban Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing