We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$148
US$124
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$145
US$115
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$148/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Valley Lodge(Durban)
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$43
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (43)
Filter reviews
43 results
Traveller rating
9
16
11
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
9
16
11
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmy home away from homewithin walking distancerooms are cleanplace to stayvending
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 43 reviews
Reviewed 2 November 2016

Where do I start...firstly, it is situated in an unsafe area of Turban. Secondly, there is a Mc Donald's right next door and thus very noisy. Thirdly, I am not sure what actually bit me, but I am covered in itchy bites. Fourthly, my TV did not work. Fifthly, there is not enough seating in the dining room, thus I stood and ate breakfast both mornings. Sixthly, the noise of the other residents made me feel like I was trying to sleep through a party and last but not least, I would not even accommodate my dog in this trash heap of a hotel. The staff were sort of friendly though.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel.
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank AndyLawler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Durban, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2016

Thank you for staying with us. We are sorry that you did not have an enjoyable stay. Please note that Road Lodge is our budget one-star brand which we believe offers value for money to guests. However, we will certainly look into all of the matters you have raised to consider what can be done to improve the guest experience. We will also bring your comments to the direct attention of the hotel’s management. Please also note that our City Lodge Hotel Durban offers much larger rooms and a wide range of features and services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2016 via mobile

This a hotel good for bed & breakfast and a Mc Donalds ice cream if you are bored at night.

There wasn't anything special about my stay here.
Their breakfast is lovely, good variety.

This is a walking distance from the Durban ICC, a mini mall & taxi rank.

Stayed: November 2015, travelled solo
1  Thank Reshego S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Durban, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2016

Thank you for staying with us, and we are so glad that you had a great stay! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

I can't say how wonderfully impressed I was by the excellent service and friendly staff. They went out of their way to make my stay as comfortable and hassle free as possible. From cleaning staff to front desk. Such a rare find these days.
Thank you!!

Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
1  Thank Lynne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Durban, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2016

Thank you for staying with us and for the wonderful review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and that everything met your needs and expectations. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2016

Stayed at this place over night, it,s in a great location, In central durban, not on the beach, but right next door to macdonalds and within walking distance of Durban ICC. The place is clean but rooms havent been updated. You might find the beds too hard and the linen has aged but still clean, they still old tv's and quite small to try to watch anything, but for the price you pay you might find the standard acceptable. the staff is not too bad, but again they are not geared to please. They offer breakfast again this is acceptable, but dont be late they really dont like it. It is also about kilometre from the taxi rank. If you are looking for a holiday, you might find the place not ideal.

Room Tip: Rooms have no views to anything
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Durban, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2016

Thank you for staying with us and for the constructive review John M. We are so glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and that everything met your needs and expectations. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2016

Efficient check in,clean and comfortable rooms! good city centre location close to The Workshop! highly recommended! affordable priceI will definitely be coming back to the Road Lodge!and would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Hazel55_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Durban, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2016

Thank you for staying with us, and we are so glad that you had a great stay! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews