We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
KhalidHayat
The Netherlands

Terrible

2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 25 Aug 2018via mobile
We arrived very late, and there were only two rooms left. When entering our room it smelled horrible, like vomit in the carpet. Obviously we requested the other room, which wasn't much better as it had stains in the carpet. The next day we requested a beach view room. While this one was better, it was not hygienic.

Only plus side of this hotel was the friendliness of the staff and the owner, hence the 2 stars. The hotel has potential to become better, and I hope they will improve it. Nevertheless, I will never come back.
Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Coastlands Durban Main Pic
R 850
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    R 850
  • Agoda.com
    R 850
  • StayForLong
6.5 km from The Marilyn Boutique Hotel
R 1 235
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    R 1 235
  • Vio.com
    R 1 164
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 300
8.1 km from The Marilyn Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Beachfront
R 994
R 844
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    R 959
  • Agoda.com
    R 994
  • Expedia.com
    R 895
8.2 km from The Marilyn Boutique Hotel
Pool
Beachfront
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani exterior
R 1 926
R 1 720
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 720
7.5 km from The Marilyn Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
R 1 099
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    R 1 096
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 099
  • Trip.com
6.5 km from The Marilyn Boutique Hotel
Beachfront
Restaurant
R 912
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    R 834
  • Agoda.com
    R 810
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 844
11.9 km from The Marilyn Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 452
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Expedia.com
    R 666
  • Agoda.com
    R 430
  • Trip.com
    R 668
5.9 km from The Marilyn Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Durban
Reviews (8)
Filter reviews
8 results
Traveller rating
2
0
0
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
2
0
0
3
3
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 8 of 8 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2018

We booked on bookings.com and got a quote but on arrival we were told to pay an extra R410,00, the check in staff had absolutely no clue how to work with clients, and had a seriously bad attitude. The room overlooked a tattoo studio in a dodgy looking alley! The room had no ventilation and smelt aweful! The only ONE thing I can say was good, was the staff in the dining area were very polite and helpful. The food itself wasnt great! Who eats spinach and chilli / dry sausages for breakfast ? I definately wont go back, and wouldnt recommend it to my family and friends.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Charmaine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 April 2018 via mobile

Stayed for two nights as we were visiting family. Aircon not functioning on arrival - told it can only be fixed next day. Next day still wasn't really working.

Disgusting soap container in bathroom cabinet never cleaned even though we left it open for them to see. (Photo attached)

One towel in room even though it's a double bed room. The next day we we're only supplied with one towel again even though we asked for a second the night before. Towels also had holes in it (Photo below)

Woken up by other guests partying at 01:30. Nothing done by management.

No fridge. TV not working. No fridge in room. NO PHONE to phone down to reception. The list goes on.

Avoid avoid avoid. Definitely not worth three stars or your money.

Good wifi.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank DerrikDetroit
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 April 2018

My wife and I, as well as our little daughter had a great stay here, especially with such a great ocean view! Food was wonderful and so were the staff. They were very accommodating and always willing to help. The room was awesome and comfortable, air conditioning is a must for me and they had it. Close to awesome restaurants as well as a great little beach with a pool for the kids. Awesome stay for sure.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DominicW821
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 March 2018 via mobile

The hotel is beautiful. We were given a room next to the freeway. Couldn’t sleep a wink and I was traveling the next morning. The light in the room even when the light was switched off ,it kept flickering. If you go there don’t stay in Room 17.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank tim01212
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews