We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome venue! Awesome food!”

Union Square Hillcrest
Ranked #81 of 648 Restaurants in Durban
Price range: US$2 - US$7
Description: We are your a Casual Steakhouse. Our 100% pure beef patties are smashed and sizzled on the grill top, caramelised and complemented with nearly 20 different toppings of your choice. Our grilled chicken burgers are succulent fillets smothered in our house sauces and ensconced between a hot, fresh home-made bun. Wild wings, epic ribs and succulent steaks are basted in a variety of our daily-made speciality sauces. Wash it all down with our wide range of ice-cold craft beers on tap and in the bottle, or creamy and thick gourmet shakes!
Restaurant details
Description: We are your a Casual Steakhouse. Our 100% pure beef patties are smashed and sizzled on the grill top, caramelised and complemented with nearly 20 different toppings of your choice. Our grilled chicken burgers are succulent fillets smothered in our house sauces and ensconced between a hot, fresh home-made bun. Wild wings, epic ribs and succulent steaks are basted in a variety of our daily-made speciality sauces. Wash it all down with our wide range of ice-cold craft beers on tap and in the bottle, or creamy and thick gourmet shakes!
Reviewed 12 July 2017 via mobile

This restaurant was highly recommended to us by friends who eat there every week so we decided to try it out and were super impressed! From the décor to the food to the service, everything is perfect. The menu is diverse with so much to offer and can be customized to suit your needs and taste. By the way, their halloumi is out of this world a must have! Oh and their sweet potato fries are the best on this planet believe me, we've had sweet potato fries everywhere and none of them comes close to theirs. The adult milkshakes, featuring all the popular liqueurs, are to die for! All the food on the menu is great we highly recommend Union Square, day or night!

Thank Annie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendanZA, Owner at Union Square Hillcrest, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Thanks Annie!! you are too kind :) We are just happy to have an opportunity to do what we love day in and out and without you guys that would never be possible. Can't wait to have you guys back in store soon and I will be sure to pass along your kind words to all the team here at Union Square Hillcrest :) :)

Kind regards
Brendan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (18)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 18 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2017

Ah, such an awesome place. I went there after I saw the ad on youtube and the burger did not disappoint. They have great beer as well. Also, let's not forget about the fries with melted cheese!!!! Absolutely delicious. The service was almost too good, we were in and out within the hour.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jarrod M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendanZA, Owner at Union Square Hillcrest, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Lol Jarrod, no such thing man ;) We aim to please and are just stoked you were gracious enough to give U.S some feedback on your time with U.S here in Hillcrest. Without you chaps we can't do what we love so we are truly grateful for your continued support.

Hope to see you back again soon because now we have the next video worthy meal . . . . .The Trash Can Nachos!!!! BOOM!!!!! Just wait till you see and taste those . . .

Right off to lunch now that you got me thinking of Cheese Bombs and Nachos .

Thanks so much
Brendan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2017 via mobile

Visited this place after seeing the video of the cheese bomb burger..I just had to try it and it most certainly tasted as good as it looked! Will definitely be back in the near future! Thank you Union Square

Thank Merlin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendanZA, Owner at Union Square Hillcrest, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Hey Merlin, shot for the shout out man!! That Cheese Bomb is flipping good hey?! Lol it has made me quite fat during the testing phase though ;) Be sure to check out the latest video by EAT101 on I Love Durban though to get some real FOOD FOMO!

Can't wait to see you guys back in store again soon and all the best

Regards
Brendan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017

I have visited Union Square several times and have never been disappointed. Both my husband and myself have enjoyed the burgers we have chosen. The meat is succulent and all the 'extras" such as chips and salads are always tasty and of a generous portion. It is certainly not a fine dining restaurant but a super place to go for a casual meal that will not break the bank. Service is always friendly and effecient.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ruthmcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendanZA, Owner at Union Square Hillcrest, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Ah Ruth you are too kind!! Thanks so much for the support and for the kind words, we really appreciate your support and know that without you guys we would never be able to continue doing what we love so much!

We hope to see you back in again soon and please be sure to say hi when next you are in :)

Regards
Brendan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

One of the best hamburgers (if not the best) that I ever ate, good service. Fair price. R 65.00.
At the heritage market next to the Keg

Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendanZA, Owner at Union Square Hillcrest, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Hey Mark, thanks so much for the shout out brother!!

We are so stoked to hear you enjoyed your time with U.S and can't wait to have you back in again soon

Kind regards
B

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Union Square Hillcrest also viewed

Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
Hillcrest, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Hillcrest, KwaZulu-Natal
Hillcrest, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Union Square Hillcrest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing