We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Chelsea S
New York City, New York

Very Dirty

Review of The Benjamin
2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 18 Oct 2022
The hotel is very run down, chipped paint, broken furniture and flickering lights. But worse then that was the state of the rug in my hotel room, honestly so disgusting I couldn't walk around without shoes on. The breakfast is nice and the dining room is nice and bright and has plugs for outlets. Would be nice if they had a dinner option.
Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled on business
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Suncoast Towers
R 2 345
R 2 127
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 127
1.8 km from The Benjamin
Free Wifi
Pool
SUN1 DURBAN EXTERIOR
R 725
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
  • Priceline
2.1 km from The Benjamin
Front of Hotel
R 693
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
2.6 km from The Benjamin
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 511
  • Algotels
3.0 km from The Benjamin
Free Wifi
Pool
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani exterior
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Algotels
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 631
  • Booking.com
2.2 km from The Benjamin
Free Wifi
Pool
Event
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 205
  • Booking.com
2.3 km from The Benjamin
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 269
  • Booking.com
2.8 km from The Benjamin
Free Wifi
Pool
Entrance Foyer
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Site
    R 1 170
  • Booking.com
3.2 km from The Benjamin
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 744
  • Booking.com
9.2 km from The Benjamin
Free Wifi
Free parking
Deluxe Three Bedroom: Sea View View
Serviced Apartment
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 600
  • Booking.com
5.4 km from The Benjamin
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Durban
Reviews (304)
Filter reviews
304 results
Traveller rating
159
108
24
9
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
159
108
24
9
4
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 304 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2022

The Benjamin has a great location and is good value. However there was black mold in the shower and stains on the sheets, and we had to go to reception 3 times to ask for bath towels. If you stay here, ask for a room facing away from Florida Rd, as the music from the neighboring club kept us up all night.

Room tip: Ask for a room not facing Florida Rd, as the noise from the street is very loud
Date of stay: October 2022
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 553ishanip
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 December 2021

The room carpets were very dirty, I wore my sandles and could not walk barefeet. The Aircon remote didn't work. TV remote had no batteries and on both occasions I had to walk to reception to get them to sort it out. Toilet broke before bed time and i had to move rooms, this was just after 21.30 no help offered we were just given keys to the next room no so much as an apology for the inconvenience. When we got to the next room the same guy that sorted my remote in previous room didn't even bother to check if the room he moved us to was in order... So the new room had no AC remote..again a walk to reception and a further 10min wait as he needed to find one,this was now well over 22.00 and again not even a sorry. As if the adjoining room toilet n plumbing noise was not enough to disturb anyone's sleep the inconsiderate staff setting up bfast screaming n dragging furniture as early as 6 was enough to make anyone lose their mind.i opened the door and so happen to see the night supervisor and I asked him why are they being so noisy. He didn't even respond and just starred at me as if I was in the wrong. Again not even a sorry for waking me up, in fact he just remained silent. I chose not to spoil his day and also kept quiet.

Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank NorthStar02479905136
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 November 2021 via mobile

We opted to stay in the area because of all the restaurants nearby. We were not disappointed! Location is perfect! The hotel is so comfortable and staff are friendly. There were a few small things we noticed, like a stain on the head board or missing teaspoons, cups and towels for us to both enjoy. There was also a little stain on the carpet. However, value for money is amazing and would stay here again for sure! They have off street parking too! Lovely little hotel!

Room tip: We didn’t book breakfast and wish that we did! It looked so good!
Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank AmbLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 October 2021

Myself and 5 friends stayed at the Benjamin during a month end weekend in October. The hotel is ok, not the 4 star advertised, perhaps a few years ago it was. On Saturday a group of guests were partying in the shared balcony with loud music until 4 am. Hotel staff or security was no where to be found after ringing then several times. The party continued at the pool area at 8:30am and was still in full swing when I checked out at 12:00pm. Again, no intervention from hotel staff or consideration for other guests. I expected some noise from Florida road itself, considering it’s very vibey, but even then the noise cuts out at curfew.
Not at the Benjamin though…this definitely ruined the experience of what could’ve been a good stay.

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank I1828EKericac
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 March 2021 via mobile

We stayed only one night. The hotel use to be very grand and it has gone down a bit but is still fine for an overnight. It has a great location in Durban in a very trendy road and we loved the walk around. Linen was fantastic and check in was quick. Bathrooms are clean and amenities were provided. Things like carpets and furniture need an update. Still clean and service was great.

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Shantellebooysen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews