We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
osizwenip
Newcastle, South Africa

Location and Sleep quality

Review of The Benjamin
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 02 Mar 2020
Depending on what one is looking for, the location of the Hotel is such that if you are looking for tranquility, the surroundings severely impede that....and visa versa. Personally, I'd love a hotel that has quiet and peaceful surroundings.. Having said that, I am still going to use The Benjamin as my chosen spot for my trips because all the other qualities it possesses offset this matter
Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled on business
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sunet Pringle, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this review
Responded 04 Mar 2020
Good Day. We so appreciate that we are your hotel of choice! please come again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 862
  • Booking.com
1.9 km from The Benjamin
Pool
Beachfront
Suncoast Towers
R 2 056
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 056
1.8 km from The Benjamin
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 898
  • Booking.com
1.9 km from The Benjamin
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani exterior
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 606
  • Algotels
2.2 km from The Benjamin
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 645
  • Booking.com
2.6 km from The Benjamin
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 920
  • Booking.com
3.4 km from The Benjamin
Free Wifi
Free parking
Parade Hotel
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 692
  • Booking.com
2.9 km from The Benjamin
Beachfront
Bar/Lounge
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 517
  • eDreams
9.2 km from The Benjamin
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Royal Outside
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 895
  • Algotels
3.0 km from The Benjamin
Pool
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 352
  • Agoda.com
2.9 km from The Benjamin
Beachfront
View more hotels in Durban
Reviews (304)
Filter reviews
304 results
Traveller rating
159
108
24
9
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
159
108
24
9
4
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 304 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2020

The hotel is pleasant and conveniently located for walking to all the restaurants and nightlife on Florida Road. The staff are helpful and friendly, and there is a complementary bar available every evening.
The rooms however, are small.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Susan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sunet Pringle, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2020

Dear Susan
Thanks for your lovely feedback. We hope to give you a bigger room next time you visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2020 via mobile

We were a little concerned,by other reviews, that the hotel would be noisy but all very quiet mid-week. Very clean and comfortable and the breakfast was excellent. Also a complimentary bar in the lounge area which was great to have.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Ali R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sunet Pringle, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2020

Thanks so much for the 5* review! We are delighted you enjoyed it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2020

My husband and I stayed for a one-week break at the Hotel Benjamin in January 2020, after attending professional activities in Johannesburg. Highlights of this hotel include: a great breakfast menu in a lovely indoor patio; a "period" decorated bedroom with modern conveniences, quiet and larger than most hotel rooms, with a king bed. It is on a lively street in a nice Durban neighborhood. There are good choices of restaurants from bar food to elegant table menus, safe to walk to at night. Each staff member warmly greeted us every day and provided good service in an unobtrusive style. The hotel has several equipped rooms for small and larger business meetings. I have always loved the style of this charming hotel and will return to it as often as possible. By the way, the hotel can recommend car and tour services. We appreciated Gary who showed us the beautiful updates to Durban since we had been there before.

Room tip: Inside rooms facing the pool are quiet. We chose one of the larger rooms because we were staying for a week.
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SunetGM, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2020

Thank-you for the kind review, we means the world to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2020

I stayed at this hotel for three days and was satisfied with every aspect of my stay. The staff was helpful and friendly (I read that someone wasn't that pleased with their reception experience but the issue must have been resolved as the service I experienced there was perfect). Also very happy with the wifi. Will use this hotel again when in Durban.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank CharlBez
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SunetGM, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2020

Thank-you for your feedback, we really appreciate it. We look forward to having you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2020

this is a really good hotel, the staff could not do enough for you, we had a great large room, our flight was delayed we were able to stay in the hotel . the hotel is located in a busy street with lots of places to eat

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandr268
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SunetGM, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2020

Thanks so much for the wonderful review. The staff are our biggest asset!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews