We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Children's Activity Zone”

uShaka Marine World
Book In Advance
More Info
US$52,77*
and up
Ushaka Marine World in Durban
Ranked #1 of 117 things to do in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: A uniquely African marine theme park, uShaka Marine World offers guests an unforgettable experience. uShaka Marine World is composed of uShaka Sea World, uShaka Wet 'n Wild, uShaka Kids World, uShaka Village Walk, Dangerous Creatures, Chimp & Zee Rope Adventure Park, Sea Animal Encounters Island & uShaka Beach. Park Tickets available on the uShaka Website
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Wheelchair access
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Children's Activity Zone”
Reviewed 9 January 2017

We always take our children to Ushaka's Children's Activity Zone and we were very happy with the activities and facilities on offer. The zone is great value for money, particularly the water park and jungle gyms.

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank Mr Kavith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2 451 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,320
    871
    193
    36
    31
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
78 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent place to visit for the whole family”
Reviewed 8 January 2017

Fun for every on if you love fish, the sea life, food for every bodies taste.
Beautiful outlay.
Clean.
Nice Shopping can be done.
You have also beach assess and can go to a restaurant that is build just in the see.
Friendly and all races are welcome.
Very Cosmopolitan.

Visited March 2016
Helpful?
Thank 798joeyv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ushaka Marine Durban's Water Kingdom”
Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

This should be a compulsory tourist destination in Durban. Lots to see and do. If you love sea creatures than this place is for you. You will come again and again. There are also lots of great places to eat without leaving the precinct of Ushaka Marine. Plenty of safe parking. Near the city centre and very accessible.

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank Rajendran G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely time”
Reviewed 5 January 2017

Lovely collection of fishes , truely worth spending time with kids . The dolphin , penguin and seal shows were all very good . My little one truely enjoyed the shows are loved being in waters.

Visited December 2016
Helpful?
Thank 979mee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randfontein, South Africa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely Family Outing”
Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

We visited Ushaka on Sunday, 11th Dec 2016.

It's a lovely place for families - with lots of entertainment and water activities.


We loved exploring the ship wreck's ocean life and watching all the shows that were on offer. Also enjoyed the "interactive area" - where you can put your hand in the water and the fishey creatures eat your dead skin cells...and then also, where you can look at the sea creatures through the microscopes.


Highlight for us was definitely the Dolphin show...as well as the Seal show! The performances by both the animals & presenters was superb! The show content in both instances was lively and entertaining - and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves!!

We loved the fact that they also get people from the crowd involved in the show and to interact with the dolphins & seals.

My son was lucky enough to win a "dancing" competition at the beginning of the dolphin show - and was hence treated to an "experience of a lifetime", by being able to partake in the dolphin show itself!!

He said the presenters were amazing - they were very friendly & they made you feel like you were part of their happy family!!


We bought the most amazing photos of both my "son's dolphin experience", as well as a group photo of our day at the aquarium. It really was all So exciting!!


It was a wonderful end to a day that started off so dismaly....due to the fact that my other son (aged 17) was pick-pocketed, of his new cellphone, at the entrance (i.e. the ticket area) to Ushaka - on our way in!!! We asked at the office & informed them of the incident...but they seemed unaffected by our dispair - almost as if they see it happen every day!?!


Nice to see Ushaka - but wont visit Durban again in a hurry...the place is a crime haven!!!

Visited December 2016
Helpful?
Thank SamanthaBotha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed uShaka Marine World also viewed

 
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to uShaka Marine World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing