We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No atmosphere”

John Dory's Atrium Overport
Ranked #18 of 20 Restaurants in Berea
Cuisines: Sushi, Seafood, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Description: Ahoy and welcome to our John Dory's page, where you'll find specials that are all the rage. Follow the wise words from the fisherman; share stories from the deep and like the memories you wish to keep!
Reviewed 7 May 2018 via mobile

Ate here two nights in a row. Sushi was delish, howerever, it took ages to be served even though there were very few ppl in. Possibly only 3 other tables were being served. The 2night I came back for the same super sushi but when order came to the table we were told they had no Ginger to serve with the sushi and neither was there any wasabi. Staff apologized but I cannot see this place staying in business for much longer. Very few patrons again tonight.

Th sushi was delicious, prawn avalanche and prawn salad were equally tasty but the pickled ginger and wasabi would have made up for the lack of people or atmosphere. Sadly I won’t be returning as I thought that at least tell customers there is no ginger as it’s no point wasting sushi if all the taste components are not available.

Thank Fiona P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_Dorys_Fish, Guest Relations Manager at John Dory's Atrium Overport, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2018

Dear Fiona,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review John Dory's The Atrium Overport family restaurant. We are sorry to hear that this was your experience.

We would appreciate the opportunity to get in touch with you directly to discuss this further. Please email your contact details along with a copy of your rating to customer-care@johndorys.co.za.

Kind regards,
John Dory's Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (11)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 11 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2018

We had dinner at this restaurant. We waited one hour for our food yet the food was terrible , and so was the service.we also waited a very long time for our sushi. The prawns were tasteless and the restaurant was very dirty ☹️☹️☹️☹️☹️☹️☹️☹️☹️

Thank hardwearing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_Dorys_Fish, Guest Relations Manager at John Dory's Atrium Overport, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Dear Hardwearing,

Thank you for taking the time to review John Dory's The Atrium Overport. We're so sorry to hear that this was your experience. That certainly doesn't sound like the level of service and food quality we pride ourselves on.

We would appreciate the opportunity to get in touch with both you. Please email us your contact details along with a copy of this review to customer-care@johndorys.co.za and hopefully, we can turn this around.

Kind regards,
John Dory's

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2018 via mobile

We had lunch here and to be honest we were not impressed. The service was good, waitress super helpful and extremely pleasant but the food not too impressive! The prawns were bland and tasteless. The calamari though was quite good. We love seafood and this is definitely not the best seafood we've eaten. I don't think we'll eat at John Dory's again.

Thank moki786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_Dorys_Fish, Guest Relations Manager at John Dory's Atrium Overport, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

Dear moki786,

Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. We are very concerned to hear about your poor meal experience.

If you wouldn't mind forwarding this review on, together with your contact details to customer-care@johndorys.co.za. We'd really like the opportunity to discuss this further with you and hopefully turn it around.

Kind regards,
John Dory's

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

The sushi was lovely and fresh, the service was good and the waitress very helpful and polite, the prawn mussel dream is really good! Some of the Sushi is half price on a Wednesday!

Thank zakmitha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_Dorys_Fish, Guest Relations Manager at John Dory's Atrium Overport, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Dear MrsMitha,

Thank you for taking the time to review our fish, grill & sushi restaurant. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our excellent service as well as our sushi, expertly-rolled by our sushi chefs.

We look forward to having you back again, soon!

Kind regards,
John Dory's

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2017

We had lunch at this restaurant and the food was freshly prepare and by enjoyable. The servings were generous and well presented. The service was excellent and the staff were by pleasant

Thank Saroj R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_Dorys_Fish, Guest Relations Manager at John Dory's Atrium Overport, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

Dear Saroj R,

Thank you so much your amazing review! Delivering excellent food and service is what we live for - glad you experienced just that.

We look forward having you back again, soon!

Kind regards,
JD's Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed John Dory's Atrium Overport also viewed

 
Berea, Durban
Berea, Durban
 

Been to John Dory's Atrium Overport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing