We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Steaks and Desserts”

Chippewa Spur Steak Ranch
Ranked #3 of 20 Restaurants in Berea
Price range: US$3 - US$9
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery
Description: Spoil your family & eat out at Chippewa Spur (Halaal), we are the best steakhouse & burger restaurant in Berea. Bring along your kids for some great tasting food & dessert from our famous Spur menu.
Reviewed 21 November 2017

Great service, enjoyed the meals and the desserts were the perfect closure for a great night. Added plus was the kids being kept in the kiddies play area while I ate in peace.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank shokathr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spur_Steak_Ranches, Guest Relations Manager at Chippewa Spur Steak Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2017

Dear shokathr,

Thank you so much for your great review. We're thrilled to hear that the food & service was a hit!
We hope to see you again soon for many more positive experiences.

Kind regards,
Spur Steak Ranches

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2017 via mobile

I always have a nostalgic feeling about returning to spur for their ribs. Took my mom this time and was sorely disappointed with the quality of the meat. I wonder if they are still using a good grade meat. Not impressed!

Thank Ludwig K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spur_Steak_Ranches, Guest Relations Manager at Chippewa Spur Steak Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2017

Dear Ludwig K,

Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. We're so sorry to hear that this was your experience. That certainly doesn't sound like the level of food quality we pride ourselves on.

If you wouldn't mind forwarding this review on, together with your contact details to customer-care@spur.co.za. We'd really like the opportunity to discuss this further with you and hopefully turn it around.

Kind regards,
Spur Steak Ranches

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017 via mobile

This Spur being the only halaal one in durban and i have dined here numerous of times. I used to really enjoy eating here unfortunately during the past two years there is a major cut down on food. The chips, onion rings and meat are served in much smaller portions and it doesn't taste how it used to. I ate lunch here with one of my friends whom has eaten at other spurs and she supported my opinion. Due to this i hardly dine here anymore.
The service here however is extremely good. The waiters are very friendly and the manager is always on the floor checkig up on the customers. It is very spacious and there is a very nice big play area for children and there are dining seats right outside where you can watch your child while eating although there is always a staff member that watches the kids there.

Thank Nadia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spur_Steak_Ranches, Guest Relations Manager at Chippewa Spur Steak Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Dear Nadia R,

Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed our facilities and the great customer service. However, we are sorry to hear that this was your experience regarding your food. That certainly doesn't sound like the level of food quality we pride ourselves on.

If you wouldn't mind forwarding this review on, together with your contact details to customer-care@spur.co.za. We'd really like the opportunity to discuss this further with you and hopefully turn it around.

Kind regards,
Spur Steak Ranches

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2017 via mobile

The restaurant is large and great if you have young kids cos the play area is equally large. Specials are great. My family particularly likes the Buy one get one burger free Monday Special. Food is decent and portions are generally large. Only downside is that due to the size of the restaurant you sometimes struggle to find your waiter when you need them or have to wait a while for the bill. Other than that small issue, it is recommended for family outings.

Thank MohamedFayaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spur_Steak_Ranches, Guest Relations Manager at Chippewa Spur Steak Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2017

Dear MohamedFayaz,

Thank you for your review of Chippewa Spur. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to have you back again soon!

Kind regards,
Spur Steak Ranches

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2017

Good food, halaal.
The play area keeps my son busy all the time. amazing attendants and facilities, best I have seen

Thank Azima M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spur_Steak_Ranches, Guest Relations Manager at Chippewa Spur Steak Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2017

Dear Azima M,

Thank you so much your amazing review of our Chippewa Spur Family Restaurant. So happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us! We hope to see you and your family again soon, for another Spurrrific experience.

Kind regards,
Spur Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chippewa Spur Steak Ranch also viewed

 
Berea, Durban
 

Been to Chippewa Spur Steak Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing