We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely lunch in Vaal Dam area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Vaalnest Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 16 Vereeniging B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 October 2017 via mobile

We took a drive up to the Val Dam.
Have been to lunch here oin a few occasions. The restaurant is pretty. Exquisite decor. Staff were lovely. The menu pretty vast. I had chicken stir fry. Hubby had supreme. Mom, chicken curry and Dad beef lasagne. They had our favorite rose' wine. Food was beautifully presented and tasty.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank jenniferj24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2017 via mobile

Every year in August we go on a child free weekend to celebrate our anniversary. This year was no different. We always look for boutique hotels as we want something quaint and personal. We specifically want something close to home( Johannesburg ) if something happens with the kids , but also far enough to feel like a getaway.

I found Vaalnest on line and the reviews were amazing. Photos were not very clear but price was good and we took a chance.

We arrived quite late Friday night but the place was warm with a fire going and the staff welcoming.
Our room was neat and clean and a basket of goodies awaited us.

We had dinner in the dining area by the fire. I had the lamb curry and my hubby the fillet steak. We enjoyed our meal.
I must say out of all the places I have been to the staff at the Vaalnest was exemplary. So well trained yet natural and at ease. We really felt they made the stay worthwhile.
So well done on that!

We found the decor in our room a little outdated and not quite our style. But of course that is personal opinion. It was clean and had ample hot water which is always nice. We stayed in the presidential suit and it had a air conditioner as well.
The bed was a little uncomfortable and we struggled to sleep.

The breakfast the next morning was slightly lacking compared to other buffet breakfasts we have had at other places. It was not as good as the dinner.

We also found the staff ( or was it other guests ?) to be very noisy in the morning.

Dinner Saturday night was a bit of a disappointment as we ordered lamb shank - which was popped into the microwave as it had chunks that was hard and over cooked. Definitely not falling off the bone.
The other food was fine.

Overall we felt that the staff and the general ambience at the Vaalnest was great. We would just recommend a fresh eye to look at decor and care to be taken with the already fantastic menu.
I think with a little bit of a fresh look the place can be a gold mine.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Muriellelize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthias A, General Manager at Vaalnest Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Hi Murielle
Thank you very much for making the time to write your review, we really appreciate your feedback on your stay at Vaalnest, the management team will carefully go to the points raised and be assured that we valued your in-put.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017 via mobile

We enjoyed our night . Food good. The room was very cold . But had lovely heater and plenty hot water for the nice huge bath. The staff were extremely friendly and made u feel welcome. Would like to revisit in summer.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Juliep924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthias A, General Manager at Vaalnest Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2017

Hi Julie
Thank you for making the time to post your review, we really glad that you found your overnight stay at Vaalnest pleasant.
Looking forward to welcome you back in the summer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017 via mobile

We made an impromptu stop over at the Vaal on our way back to Guateng after a week-end in the berg . What a pleasant surprise ! Being a Monday in the middle of winter the Vaal Marina area is a ghost town . Even though we are the only guests the service and kitchen experience is excellent ! Top quality service and food . Amazing find and we will be back with our boat to explore this amazing dam and area

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank tanyap810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthias A, General Manager at Vaalnest Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2017

Thank you so much for making the time to post your review.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, Looking forward to welcome you back.
Vaalnest management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017

A very unique hotel that has very good level of service. I took the lovenest special/package, and I can say that it was worth every cent spent. The staff was very professional and welcoming, the Waitress, Chef as well as the lady at the SPA made the stay to be extra-ordinary. This place is a gem. Thanks for the wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 630levi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthias A, General Manager at Vaalnest Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2017

Thank you very much for making the time to post your review we very please to hear that the Lovenest Package fulfill all your needs, looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.
Vaalnest Management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vereeniging hotels
37,3 km away
BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal
BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal
#4 of 4 in Vereeniging
271 reviews
35,9 km away
Three Rivers Lodge & Villa Anna Sophia
52,3 km away
Ikhamanzi Bed & Breakfast
Ikhamanzi Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 7 in Vereeniging
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
40,4 km away
No photo provided
Korundum Lodge
#7 of 16 in Vereeniging
1 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Vaalnest Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vaalnest Boutique Hotel

Address: 587 Kob Street | Vaal Marina, Vereeniging 1945, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Vereeniging
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Vereeniging
Price Range: R1 335 - R2 804 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vaalnest Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vaalnest Boutique Hotel at the Vaal Dam is a small and intimate hotel in the quaint town of Vaal Marina in the Vereeniging/Midvaal area, it redefines luxurious accommodation with a 4 star rating. We are a number one stop location on route to Durban, Drakensberg and even Lesotho. Our boutique hotel is a popular couples escape, team building and conference venue. Showcasing some of the most spectacular scenic sites perfect for bird watching, fishing and yachting enthusiasts. Come and experience the perfect outdoor base camp with tailored made accommodation packages to suite your needs. Bookings can be made for various activities such as Paint Ball games, River Rafting, Quad Biking, Inflatable Sports, Archery, Boat Cruises and visits to the birding routes. We have our own in-house events organiser who can coordinate everything from accommodation package to the perfect milestone birthday celebration, conference or team building session. Just about an hour's drive from Johannesburg, it is a perfect weekend getaway in one of the scenic sites of Gauteng. "An alluring nature experience with a touch of tranquillity" The perfect Spa boutique hotel... Rejuvenate your body, and get treated to a relaxing body massage facility that features first class service. Vaalnest together with Kalahari brings you a well sort after Spa therapy that incorporates the finest aromatic body oils to help the body relax and let the juices flow. Our Vaalnest Spa incorporates a lavish tranquil experience with nature and feature luxury service with the right advice, from our outdoor gazebo stations that offer various treatments, to our private indoor room service spa therapy sessions when requested. Vaalnest Spa can be ideal for that relaxing getaway you have been waiting for. Because we care for our client's well-being, we have made some products available for purchase once your treatment is done ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Vaalnest Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing