We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (113)
Filter reviews
113 results
Traveller rating
52
45
8
2
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
52
45
8
2
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews perfect place staff were lovely marina area peaceful atmosphere next morning dam vaal tranquility anniversary waitress hands hubby eye summer johannesburg heater
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 113 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2017 via mobile

Every year in August we go on a child free weekend to celebrate our anniversary. This year was no different. We always look for boutique hotels as we want something quaint and personal. We specifically want something close to home( Johannesburg ) if something happens with the kids , but also far enough to feel like a getaway.

I found Vaalnest on line and the reviews were amazing. Photos were not very clear but price was good and we took a chance.

We arrived quite late Friday night but the place was warm with a fire going and the staff welcoming.
Our room was neat and clean and a basket of goodies awaited us.

We had dinner in the dining area by the fire. I had the lamb curry and my hubby the fillet steak. We enjoyed our meal.
I must say out of all the places I have been to the staff at the Vaalnest was exemplary. So well trained yet natural and at ease. We really felt they made the stay worthwhile.
So well done on that!

We found the decor in our room a little outdated and not quite our style. But of course that is personal opinion. It was clean and had ample hot water which is always nice. We stayed in the presidential suit and it had a air conditioner as well.
The bed was a little uncomfortable and we struggled to sleep.

The breakfast the next morning was slightly lacking compared to other buffet breakfasts we have had at other places. It was not as good as the dinner.

We also found the staff ( or was it other guests ?) to be very noisy in the morning.

Dinner Saturday night was a bit of a disappointment as we ordered lamb shank - which was popped into the microwave as it had chunks that was hard and over cooked. Definitely not falling off the bone.
The other food was fine.

Overall we felt that the staff and the general ambience at the Vaalnest was great. We would just recommend a fresh eye to look at decor and care to be taken with the already fantastic menu.
I think with a little bit of a fresh look the place can be a gold mine.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Muriellelize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthias A, General Manager at Vaalnest Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Hi Murielle
Thank you very much for making the time to write your review, we really appreciate your feedback on your stay at Vaalnest, the management team will carefully go to the points raised and be assured that we valued your in-put.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017 via mobile

We enjoyed our night . Food good. The room was very cold . But had lovely heater and plenty hot water for the nice huge bath. The staff were extremely friendly and made u feel welcome. Would like to revisit in summer.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Juliep924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthias A, General Manager at Vaalnest Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2017

Hi Julie
Thank you for making the time to post your review, we really glad that you found your overnight stay at Vaalnest pleasant.
Looking forward to welcome you back in the summer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017 via mobile

We made an impromptu stop over at the Vaal on our way back to Guateng after a week-end in the berg . What a pleasant surprise ! Being a Monday in the middle of winter the Vaal Marina area is a ghost town . Even though we are the only guests the service and kitchen experience is excellent ! Top quality service and food . Amazing find and we will be back with our boat to explore this amazing dam and area

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank tanyap810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthias A, General Manager at Vaalnest Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2017

Thank you so much for making the time to post your review.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, Looking forward to welcome you back.
Vaalnest management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017

A very unique hotel that has very good level of service. I took the lovenest special/package, and I can say that it was worth every cent spent. The staff was very professional and welcoming, the Waitress, Chef as well as the lady at the SPA made the stay to be extra-ordinary. This place is a gem. Thanks for the wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 630levi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthias A, General Manager at Vaalnest Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2017

Thank you very much for making the time to post your review we very please to hear that the Lovenest Package fulfill all your needs, looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.
Vaalnest Management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2017

Lovely warm hotel the most peaceful atmosphere, perfect place for some time away from the city.

The theme is African and warm, the owners are hands on with a superb hospitality skills.

The food is divine and the waitress is super friendly.

If you want to rest this is the place to go.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank jemimakab937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews