We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This should be the worst place to eat!”

Ubuntu Buffet Restaurant
Description: Ubuntu Buffet Restaurant is designed to offer visitors a unique food experience. The restaurant boasts a private dining area, ideal for parties or corporate lunches. Families are welcome. A separate bar lounge is available to people over 18. The restaurant can seat 350 people. With a scrumptious menu, sure to satisfy all tastes, comprises of salads, entrees, homemade breads, hot dishes, roasts, vegetable dishes, sauces, a la minute section, traditional section and dessert station.
Restaurant details
Description: Ubuntu Buffet Restaurant is designed to offer visitors a unique food experience. The restaurant boasts a private dining area, ideal for parties or corporate lunches. Families are welcome. A separate bar lounge is available to people over 18. The restaurant can seat 350 people. With a scrumptious menu, sure to satisfy all tastes, comprises of salads, entrees, homemade breads, hot dishes, roasts, vegetable dishes, sauces, a la minute section, traditional section and dessert station.
Reviewed 3 December 2016 via mobile

The whole experience started when we made the booking, the lady on the phone was not really interested in our booking not taking any of our details, then we get to the restaurant, the music was far too loud, had to wait at least 15min for a waiter to take our drinks orders, then after that we maybe saw our waiter twice there after. There is no manager or supervisor to great you there was always staff at the front desk from the waiters to the chefs on their cell phones and looking for a charger.
The buffet, with the strong smell of bug repellent in the air unwelcoming chefs, food that looks like it's been recycled 5 times already, the meat from the roast was cold, the meat over cooked at the braai area the desserts were the worst out of all milk tart squares that tasted like rubber a so called chocolate brownie that was so dry I needed two more drinks just to wash it down, the ice cream (which was very little not even enough for a couple) was really just crushed ice with some flavor that left a after toast in your mouth after wards. The chefs would just look at you as if you meant nothing they would be leaning over the buffet counters on their phones. The warm puddings that looked like they were just slapped in, the custard had a thick dry layer and the chefs were still on the phone.

If this is what R195 per person gets you you can keep it. I really thought from the website that this place would be good as they say. I truly believe that we would have had a better meal at the wimpy.

Thank SJsmith27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent P, Manager at Ubuntu Buffet Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2016

Hello SJsmith27

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the feedback and apologise that your experience did not match your expectations.

This is certainly not the usual service and buffet normally on offer. May I ask that you make contact with me the next time that you visit so that we may discuss this further?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (30)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2016

Hi, for the second time we have been extremely disappointed in this restaurant we went again this week the dishes was so oily had to try and clean them with serviettes but not much help ( do you not have very hot water) again the food was ice cold all of it the carvery the vegetables all was ice cold the only edible thing was the liver pate. Management should try and pull up their socks and at opening time have all the food hot.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Drienie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent P, Manager at Ubuntu Buffet Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2016

Hello Drienie V

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the feedback and apologise that your experience did not match your expectations.

As cleanliness is a priority across the entire Resort, your review concerns me and I will immediately address this with the staff. If I may ask, should you experience anything at the Resort that is not up to standard, that you address the matter immediately with any of managers who are on duty at that point in order to get your concerns rectified immediately. What you have reported is certainly not our normal service and practice. I do hope that you will visit again soon where you will find a marked improvement!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2016

The buffet did not cater for someone who does not eat beef or pork.The chicken at the carvery was finished by 07:15pm.More chicken was prepared that was deep fried in oil and undercooked and was served at 08:30pm. The head chef's comment to the lack of variety was the crowd was unexpected. The dessert display was poor and misleading.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank ashinasarawan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent P, Manager at Ubuntu Buffet Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2016

Hello ashinasarawan

Thank you for your review. Your comments and feedback are appreciated.

Please accept our apologies. Ubuntu Buffet does indeed cater for all dietary requirements so I’m disappointed that you were not provided with other alternatives sooner. I will discuss the poor quality of food and timelines of replacing finished dishes with the chef and management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2016 via mobile

This place doesn't know how to manage bookings and queues. By the time you sit to eat you are so bloated from fighting to go in and get a table!

Thank L_Zul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent P, Manager at Ubuntu Buffet Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2016

Hello L_Zul

Please accept our apologies for your poor experience at Ubuntu Buffet. We will investigate internally to see where the delays in service were and see where the process can be more streamlined. It is certainly not the experience we like our customers to have and hope that you will try the restaurant again as the food is certainly worth the experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2016

The variety of food on offer is mind-blowing. The atmosphere is very relaxing, and offers a true dining experience. Have enough time available, sample as much as you can, and go hungry!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CharlesV78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent P, Manager at Ubuntu Buffet Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2016

Hello CharlesV78

Thank you for your compliments.

As you have mentioned, make sure that you are hungry and have enough time to try this unique food experience. It certainly is heaven for those that love a wide variety of food. I am pleased that you had a relaxing dining experience and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ubuntu Buffet Restaurant also viewed

Vanderbijlpark, Gauteng
Vanderbijlpark, Gauteng
 
Roodepoort, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Randburg, Greater Johannesburg
Benoni, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Ubuntu Buffet Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing