We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Buffet ever”
Review of Ubuntu Buffet Restaurant - CLOSED

Ubuntu Buffet Restaurant
Description: Ubuntu Buffet Restaurant is designed to offer visitors a unique food experience. The restaurant boasts a private dining area, ideal for parties or corporate lunches. Families are welcome. A separate bar lounge is available to people over 18. The restaurant can seat 350 people. With a scrumptious menu, sure to satisfy all tastes, comprises of salads, entrees, homemade breads, hot dishes, roasts, vegetable dishes, sauces, a la minute section, traditional section and dessert station.
Restaurant details
Description: Ubuntu Buffet Restaurant is designed to offer visitors a unique food experience. The restaurant boasts a private dining area, ideal for parties or corporate lunches. Families are welcome. A separate bar lounge is available to people over 18. The restaurant can seat 350 people. With a scrumptious menu, sure to satisfy all tastes, comprises of salads, entrees, homemade breads, hot dishes, roasts, vegetable dishes, sauces, a la minute section, traditional section and dessert station.
Reviewed 3 October 2016

The buffet did not cater for someone who does not eat beef or pork.The chicken at the carvery was finished by 07:15pm.More chicken was prepared that was deep fried in oil and undercooked and was served at 08:30pm. The head chef's comment to the lack of variety was the crowd was unexpected. The dessert display was poor and misleading.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank ashinasarawan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent P, Manager at Ubuntu Buffet Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2016

Hello ashinasarawan

Thank you for your review. Your comments and feedback are appreciated.

Please accept our apologies. Ubuntu Buffet does indeed cater for all dietary requirements so I’m disappointed that you were not provided with other alternatives sooner. I will discuss the poor quality of food and timelines of replacing finished dishes with the chef and management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (30)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2016 via mobile

This place doesn't know how to manage bookings and queues. By the time you sit to eat you are so bloated from fighting to go in and get a table!

Thank L_Zul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent P, Manager at Ubuntu Buffet Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2016

Hello L_Zul

Please accept our apologies for your poor experience at Ubuntu Buffet. We will investigate internally to see where the delays in service were and see where the process can be more streamlined. It is certainly not the experience we like our customers to have and hope that you will try the restaurant again as the food is certainly worth the experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2016

The variety of food on offer is mind-blowing. The atmosphere is very relaxing, and offers a true dining experience. Have enough time available, sample as much as you can, and go hungry!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CharlesV78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent P, Manager at Ubuntu Buffet Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2016

Hello CharlesV78

Thank you for your compliments.

As you have mentioned, make sure that you are hungry and have enough time to try this unique food experience. It certainly is heaven for those that love a wide variety of food. I am pleased that you had a relaxing dining experience and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2016

It was my fiancee's birthday,12 August 2016.I took her to dine at ubuntu and we really enjoyed the food.Daddy the chef at the carvery section was a very friendly and helpful guy and he knows his food because I asked him all kinds of questions about meat types.It was unfortunate that there were no pork ribs in the braai section but i must say, the wors is to die for.I will definately visit again some time soon. Thank you for the leka food,it never went wrong since the fiancee enjoyed everything about the restaurant.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank phakamani446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent P, Manager at Ubuntu Buffet Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2016

Hello phakamani446

Thank you for your review and rating Ubuntu Buffet so highly on TripAdvisor.

Congratulations on your fiancé's birthday and thank you for choosing Ubuntu Buffet as the restaurant to celebrate at, it was our pleasure to host. I am pleased that you both enjoyed the Ubuntu experience and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2016 via mobile

The place looks really nice, we arrived as a group of 12 and welcomed by the lovely hostess at the front, all seemed well, we opted to buy drinks instead of getting the bottomless option, we waited over 20 minutes for a waiter until we got up and found one, we probably only order 1 set of drinks cos after we got them we never saw our waitress till we wanted to pay the bill.

The food is quite basic I was really disappointed with the variety of food and the taste of what I had. I tried the stir fry option and the herbs I chose got burnt in the process, the beef potjie was swimming in so much oil the I opted for the brisket, which was okay.

We then went for our last course and it seemed as though we were a bit late, what was a full section was now limited. We decided to have waffles and icecream, after waiting 15 minutes for a waffle which we ended up sharing amongst 2 since it took so long, there was no vanilla ice cream, we requested eventually it arrived.

It's an okay place but I wouldn't go back

Thank Bongie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent P, Manager at Ubuntu Buffet Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2016

Hello Bongie K

Please accept our apologies for your lacklustre experience at Ubuntu. Our reviews are usually very positive about this restaurant with guests enjoying the variety and quality of foods available. I will certainly take up your points with the relevant managers and hope that on your next visit you notice a marked improvement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ubuntu Buffet Restaurant also viewed

Vanderbijlpark, Gauteng
 
Vanderbijlpark, Gauteng
 
Vanderbijlpark, Gauteng
Vanderbijlpark, Gauteng
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing