We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing food”

Amigo Spur Steak Ranch
Price range: US$4 - US$10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery
Description: Spoil your family & eat out at Amigo Spur, we are the best steak house & burger restaurant in Vanderbijlpark. Bring along your kids for some great tasting food & dessert from our famous Spur menu.
Reviewed 20 December 2016

We have been visiting Spur ranches for decades and by now have our expectations based on this. We had lunch and ordered burgers, mine was the chilli chicken burger.
The chicken was the toughest I have ever tasted, chips and onion rings soggy.
6/10 for the food, service was good, Lazier, our water was very attentive. Air conditioning was not effective, no playground for the kiddies, only playstation.
No internet access on the wifi

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TauTona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (16)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 16 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2016 via mobile

We were welcomed in by a host and escorted to our table, but received no menus, and no waiter showed up to help us. After 5 minutes I went to ask for a waiter and menu's. We ordered drinks with a starter. Drinks came soon enough, but we waited 25 min for our starter (fried mushrooms). We ordered our mains with the drinks, but received it almost 50min later from time of order. There were a mix up on one order wich caused another 10 min delay before we could all enjoy our meal.

It took quite some time before the durty plates were removed and until I could get the bill to pay...

The food was excelent, just disappointed by service

Thank Jonathan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spur_Steak_Ranches, Guest Relations Manager at Amigo Spur Steak Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2016

Dear Jonathan F,

Thank you for taking the time to review our family restaurant. We are sorry to hear that the service was not up to standard. Your feedback is much appreciated.
If you would like to discuss this further, please forward this on together with your contact details to customer-care@spur.co.za and we'll get in touch with you.

Kind regards,
Spur Steak Ranches

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2016

Was torn between the Burgers and the Steak previous time the steak was tough , this time it was good . but wish they would stop basting the steaks at the end of the cooking period . Bast was luke warm and kills the tasty of good meat. Wife loved here schnitzel and the sauce. Tip always ask for a hot plate , and say please hot chips.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Adrian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spur_Steak_Ranches, Guest Relations Manager at Amigo Spur Steak Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2016

Dear Adrian H,

Thank you for the review of Amigo Spur! We appreciate the feedback and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Spur Steak Ranches

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2016

We love visiting the Spur, especially on the days they have specials. Despite several visits we haven't been disappointed and we always receive service with a smile. Their burgers, ribs and nachos are some of our favourites, but we love their breakfasts too.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank CharlesV78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spur_Steak_Ranches, Guest Relations Manager at Amigo Spur Steak Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2016

Dear CharlesV78,

Thank you for the review of Amigo Spur! We are happy to hear that you love our different meals and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards,
Spur Steak Ranches

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2016

The food was sub par, but with many Spurs, it is always a good place to go to grab a snack, drink a beer and let the kids have fun in the designated play area.

Thank AdamBoydwtw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spur_Steak_Ranches, Guest Relations Manager at Amigo Spur Steak Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2016

Dear AdamBoydwtw,

Thank you for taking the time to review Amigo Spur. We appreciate your feedback. :)

Kind Regards,
Spur Steak Ranches

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Amigo Spur Steak Ranch also viewed

 
Vanderbijlpark, Gauteng
Vanderbijlpark, Gauteng
 

Been to Amigo Spur Steak Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing