We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”
Review of High Stakes

High Stakes
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
Restaurant details
Reviewed 11 September 2017

The food at High Stakes is definitely first-rate. The steaks were delicious and cooked really well. Freshly baked bread with a selection of butters was an absolutely indulgent touch and I have spoken about this to family and friends ever since my visit to the restaurant. Service and atmosphere was decent but not on par with the quality of the food.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RoyalRidz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent P, Manager at High Stakes, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello RoyalRidz

Thanks for the review, comments and rating High Stakes so highly on TripAdvisor.

We will happily convey your compliments to Chef Hendry and our new Executive Chef Krish. All around the Resort we’re undergoing various upgrade projects, and High Stakes is one area where we’re reviewing the aesthetics and design with the intention to upgrade. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2017

We enjoyed breakfast, which is served professionally and very quickly and exactly as per order. In and out within an hour.

Thank abcdef493
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent P, Manager at High Stakes, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Hello abcdef493

Thank you for your review of High Stakes. We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed the fine cuisine that Emerald Resort & Casino’s premier restaurant has to offer. We hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2017

The food was exceptionally good, staff was friend, and helpfull! Great steaks and Pastas! Room services was great as well!

Thank Myra E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent P, Manager at High Stakes, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Hello Myra E

Thank you for your review of High Stakes. We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed the fine cuisine that Emerald Resort & Casino’s premier restaurant has to offer. We hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2017

During our stay at the Emerald Resort we ate here 4 times which in itself shows we enjoyed it. The steaks on each occasion were cooked to perfection. You must try the onion rings - the best I've ever eaten. We also went along to their wine pairing evening which was fantastic - 5 courses with two wines to taste with each course. The food was delicious, especially the duck and it was very good value. Held once a month I believe - so glad we were there when they were hosting one of these. The staff here were so friendly and helpful too.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent P, Manager at High Stakes, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2017

Hello again Julie S

Thank you for all your reviews and rating High Stakes the maximum 5 stars on TripAdvisor.

It was a pleasure to serve you at High Stakes. Yes, we host a Food & Wine pairing every month (usually the last Thursday night of the month). This month however we'll be offering guests a Food & Whiskey evening, so if you are in the area you are most welcome. Ah, yes, the onion rings - it's the chef's secret recipe, but I must agree with you that they are the best! I look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2017

The High Stakes restaurant offers high quality, fine dining in a relaxed environment (despite the fact that its in the casino). We ate there two nights in a row and between us tried the steak, chicken rice dish and two pastas. Not cheap, but all were extremely high quality and we would eat any of them again.

Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent P, Manager at High Stakes, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2017

Hello Kevin S

Again - thank you for reviewing High Stakes and rating out premier restaurant the full 5 stars!

Did you try some of our impeccable wines with your meals? During your next meal with us, ask the waiter as to what wine is recommended with your meal, I'm sure that you will be impressed. If wine tasting is something that you enjoy, I would also recommend trying out our monthly Food & Wine tastings, always an enjoyable experience. The food is always made fresh from the best sourced quality ingredients. We look forward to you dining with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed High Stakes also viewed

Vanderbijlpark, Gauteng
Vanderbijlpark, Gauteng
 
Vanderbijlpark, Gauteng
Vanderbijlpark, Gauteng
 

Been to High Stakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing