We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Emerald Resort & Casino
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Vanderbijlpark
Reviewed 11 January 2017

I have not traveled for a long time. So this was a trip where we didn't know what to expect.

We were treated with respect I must say. The shuttle services were superb. The gentlemen (drivers) even took the time to open doors for us.
They did not classify according to race or gender, they treated even children with respect.

This was an awesome trip where we were able to do fun activities as a family under one roof. My children enjoyed the Aqua dome and didn't want to go home. My husband enjoyed the riverside view of our chalet.
The only disappointment was the game drive which did not take place because of the weather and no breakfast.
Other than that, our trip was satisfactory.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 359pk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent P, Manager at Emerald Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2017

Thank you for your review and rating us so highly on TripAdvisor.

Throughout the staff hierarchy, we know and understand that it's the small things that make all the difference and that you, our guest, are our most important asset. As the premier leisure and business destination in the Vaal we certainly cater to the entire family and will always be treated as royalty. As safety is a priority to us, there are some activities, like the game drive, that needs to be cancelled during inclement weather conditions. It is always an activity to look forward to the next time that you visit us. Adventure Awaits!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1 045)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

114 - 118 of 1 045 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2017

the place is beautiful, but to to the rain the entire week-end, my boys could not leave the chalet, the place is extremly neat and tidy,they still have the vouchers given to them which they could not use or go anywhere.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank denisegU5904ZU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent P, Manager at Emerald Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2017

Hello denisegU5904ZU

Thank you for your review and rating us the maximum 5 stars on TripAdvisor.

Thank you too for your complimentary comments. Whatever the weather at Emerald Resort & Casino, there are many entertainment options available for the kids that are indoors. Should the rain hamper your outdoor activities during your next stay, please request the use of the complimentary shuttle that will transport you and kids wherever you would like to go within the confines of the Resort. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Adventure Awaits!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2017

Friendly and helpful check-in staff as well as restaurant staff. We enjoyed the awesome daily buffet breakfast served at the hotel restaurant. The premises is very neat and tidy and the location suited us well as it was only an hour and 15 minutes drive from the east of Johannesburg. The kids also enjoyed their stay as there are enough activities to keep themselves busy.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank rct2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent P, Manager at Emerald Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2017

Hello rct2017

Thank you for your review and rating us so highly on TripAdvisor.

I am pleased that you and the kids enjoyed your holiday with us. Thank you too for your wonderful feedback, it's always great to hear that our Resort is performing well and living up to all the expectations of our guests. The Hotel breakfast buffet is a treat for everyone and the variety and quality is commented on most favourably by our guests. As you have mentioned, we are much closer to Johannesburg than many people think and offer some unique business and leisure experiences. We look forward to welcoming (and the family) back soon. Adventure Awaits!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2017

Nice place for a short stay / weekend getaway. Mini-store could be better stocked. They could improve on facilities for children such as jungle gyms, have more child related activities and provide better facilities for fishermen.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 947srb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent P, Manager at Emerald Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2017

Hello 947srb

Thank you for your feedback and constructive comments. We will discuss these internally for implementation. Our guests who stay at our River Resort accommodation do indeed have great access to fishing in the Vaal River, I hope that you asked for assistance from our team? If not please do enquire ahead of your next visit so we can make the necessary arrangements for you if you felt that anything was lacking. With regard to children’s activities we have too many options to mention here but some of these include our indoor water park Aquadome, our zoo Animal World, ten pin bowling, wall climbing, putt putt and so much more! We hope that you get a chance to visit us again soon and experience more of the Resort at your leisure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2017

it was great , look into supplying rooms with peace full sleep due to insects and mosquitos. other than that everything was great people facilities and all in all it was a grate stay .cant wait to stay their again

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank zaffarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent P, Manager at Emerald Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2017

Hello zaffarc

Thank you for your 5 star rating and wonderful feedback. We prefer our guests to bring their own Peaceful Sleep or Tabard or whatever their brand of choice as each family knows what product works best for them. Otherwise we’re very pleased that you had a wonderful time with us and we look forward to hosting you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vanderbijlpark
11.2 km away
BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal
BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal
#3 of 4 in Vereeniging
260 reviews
5.6 km away
The Shakespeare Inn
The Shakespeare Inn
#5 of 6 in Vanderbijlpark
4 reviews
11.4 km away
The Waterfront Country Lodge
The Waterfront Country Lodge
#4 of 6 in Vanderbijlpark
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 km away
Ingwe Guest Lodge
Ingwe Guest Lodge
#3 of 6 in Vanderbijlpark
4 reviews
14.0 km away
Three Rivers Lodge & Villa Anna Sophia
0.4 km away
Aark Guest Lodge
Aark Guest Lodge
#1 of 9 in Vanderbijlpark
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerald Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Resort & Casino

Address: 777 Frikkie Meyer Blvd, Vanderbijlpark 1900, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Vanderbijlpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Vanderbijlpark
Price Range: R426 - R2 836 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Emerald Resort & Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you come to the Emerald Resort & Casino - part of the world famous Caesars Entertainment Group based in Las Vegas - you come on an adventure. Situated on a lush private estate on the banks of the Vaal River, just 45 minutes drive from OR Tambo International Airport, perfect for short breaks, finest dining and the up-close drama of a game drive at our Animal World. Our conference facility is the only venue in the area with the ability to seamlessly host sessions for anywhere between 3 and 3000, the only venue to be trusted to host an event for the United Nations. Our magnificent estate gives us the ability to offer and deliver an unrivalled range of three and four star accommodation and teambuilding activities. We are your premier entertainment and business destination in the Vaal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Emerald Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emerald Safari Hotel Vanderbijlpark

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing