We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Emerald Resort & Casino
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Ingwe Guest Lodge(Vanderbijlpark)(Great Value!)
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Shakespeare Inn(Vanderbijlpark)
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Road Lodge Southgate(Johannesburg)(Great Value!)
US$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
Thaba Eco Hotel(Johannesburg)
US$195
US$125
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riverside Sun(Vanderbijlpark)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1 071)
Filter reviews
1 071 results
Traveller rating
433
344
163
75
56
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
433
344
163
75
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsanimal worldaqua domebush lodgebreeze restaurantadventure golften pin bowlingputt putthigh stakesanimal parkwall climbingshuttle serviceget awaythe rivervalue for moneywhole familyself cateringfriends and family
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
141 - 146 of 1 071 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2017

Friendly and helpful check-in staff as well as restaurant staff. We enjoyed the awesome daily buffet breakfast served at the hotel restaurant. The premises is very neat and tidy and the location suited us well as it was only an hour and 15 minutes drive from the east of Johannesburg. The kids also enjoyed their stay as there are enough activities to keep themselves busy.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank rct2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent P, Manager at Emerald Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2017

Hello rct2017

Thank you for your review and rating us so highly on TripAdvisor.

I am pleased that you and the kids enjoyed your holiday with us. Thank you too for your wonderful feedback, it's always great to hear that our Resort is performing well and living up to all the expectations of our guests. The Hotel breakfast buffet is a treat for everyone and the variety and quality is commented on most favourably by our guests. As you have mentioned, we are much closer to Johannesburg than many people think and offer some unique business and leisure experiences. We look forward to welcoming (and the family) back soon. Adventure Awaits!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2017

Nice place for a short stay / weekend getaway. Mini-store could be better stocked. They could improve on facilities for children such as jungle gyms, have more child related activities and provide better facilities for fishermen.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 947srb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent P, Manager at Emerald Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2017

Hello 947srb

Thank you for your feedback and constructive comments. We will discuss these internally for implementation. Our guests who stay at our River Resort accommodation do indeed have great access to fishing in the Vaal River, I hope that you asked for assistance from our team? If not please do enquire ahead of your next visit so we can make the necessary arrangements for you if you felt that anything was lacking. With regard to children’s activities we have too many options to mention here but some of these include our indoor water park Aquadome, our zoo Animal World, ten pin bowling, wall climbing, putt putt and so much more! We hope that you get a chance to visit us again soon and experience more of the Resort at your leisure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2017

it was great , look into supplying rooms with peace full sleep due to insects and mosquitos. other than that everything was great people facilities and all in all it was a grate stay .cant wait to stay their again

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank zaffarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent P, Manager at Emerald Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2017

Hello zaffarc

Thank you for your 5 star rating and wonderful feedback. We prefer our guests to bring their own Peaceful Sleep or Tabard or whatever their brand of choice as each family knows what product works best for them. Otherwise we’re very pleased that you had a wonderful time with us and we look forward to hosting you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2017

Enjoyable. Child friendly environment
Suitable for all ages
Aqua dome suitable for all type of weather
Lots of entertainment
Only issue a a baby cot was not available although requested when booking was done

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 602zg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent P, Manager at Emerald Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2017

Hello 602zg

Thank you for the 5 star rating but please accept our apologies regarding your request for a cot. We have all the details of your stay and will look into this our side. We’re pleased though that you had a good stay overall and got to experience the Aquadome. We look forward to seeing you all again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2017

Was not happy at all with the quality and cleanliness of the rooms and shower. Furthermore was told that we need to use a hand towel to wipe our 2 year old child as the hotel staff are not allowed to give more than 2 Bath towels per room. But they were aware that we requested a baby cot. The showers do not have any pressure and the shower heads need a upgrade. Room was dirty with weird food particles on the floor that was left from previous occupants and not cleaned.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kmgd2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent P, Manager at Emerald Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2017

Hello kmgd2017

Please accept our apologies for the poor service you received. We will certainly look into the cleanliness of the rooms with our housekeeping team and chat to the managers who were on duty during your stay. We’d like our guests to know that no request is too large or too small, I apologise if yours wasn’t fulfilled. We will also look into the maintenance issues in the shower, thank you. We hope you visit us again and notice a vast difference in your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews