We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
US$98
US$88
View deal
Hotels.comUS$88
Official HotelUS$98
Expedia.comUS$88
eDreamsUS$89
Orbitz.comUS$88
CheapTicketsUS$88
View all 17 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (372)
Filter reviews
372 results
Traveller rating
151
145
52
12
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
151
145
52
12
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooms are spacious business johannesburg morningside gym suburb porter
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 372 reviews
Reviewed 28 December 2019 via mobile

Checked in. Gave proof of booking and payment. Went out. Came back,locked out of,y room and advised I had not paid and wanted to pay again! I went back to the room and packed to go and check out when the reception staff advised it was an error and I had paid! I will NEVER again stay here or at theFalstaff where I normally stay when i am in Sandton!

Date of stay: December 2019
Thank RogerW55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMQuat, Guest Relations Manager at Faircity Quatermain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2019

Dear Mr. Williams,

Thank you for once again bringing this to our attention, We take all feedback to heart and are continually striving to improve our offering and service.

As mentioned in our meeting with you, we had not received the voucher for your booking at the time of check-in. Though you gave us a confirmation at check-in, we still needed the voucher from the agent which was sent later on. We do apologize once again for the inconvenience this may have caused and we trust that you are still enjoying your stay with us.

Please do not hesitate to contact us at reception if there is anything else we can do to make your stay more comfortable. Enjoy the rest of your stay with us.

Whilst we did not entirely meet your expectations on this occasion, I sincerely hope that we will have another opportunity to restore your confidence in our service

Kind Regards

Nonku Sithole
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2019

If you are a frequent business traveller like myself that travels to JHB regularly and relies on a comfy, elegant place to stay with a good location near Sandton - then look no further. This hotel is perfect. From the hospitality, friendly service, delicious dining and hotel amenities; The Faircity Quartermain Hotel is one of Sandton's most understated hotels located in the leafy burb of Morningside.

The Hotel Management (Jerrod the GM and Samir Head of Food & Bev) take very much pride in what they do, always delivering the very highest standards of service across the board to guests.They always go the extra mile to meet your personal needs from a specific dining request or ensuring you have the right bottle of wine in your room on arrival.

The hotel staff from reception, wait staff and porters are always so helpful, engaging and friendly wanting your stay to be the best and most memorable one. Travelling can be very stressful and the friendly faces at QM always make it a whole lot more bearable with their good service and warmth.

The hotel also has an in-house gym that is great for squeezing in a good training session and a lovely swimming pool. The rooms are just comfy and beautiful!

Room tip: The rooms are spacious, however book the Deluxe room if you can.
Date of stay: December 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SherrinDavie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMQuat, General Manager at Faircity Quatermain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2019

Dear Ms. Davie,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Faircity Quatermain Hotel (proudly Premier) through TripAdvisor.

As OUR VALUED GUEST, we appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear that you always have a great stay with us. we as a Team take great pride in not only meeting, but exceeding our guest's expectations.

We are so delighted to hear that our Team always go the extra mile to make your stay memorable. We will be sure to acknowledge the entire Team and share your feedback with them.

Your feedback is integral to our ability to continue to improve our services and will be shared with the team to continue to inspire and motivate them to deliver exceptional service.

Thank you once again for your time and we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind Regards

Jerod Flaum
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2019 via mobile

I only go to this hotel if I have to - work function or show happening there ( dinner time stories) because it really is awful. Facilities are tired - toilets run, hot plates don’t work etc - but it’s mainly the really lazy awful staff. Arriving for a spectacular show today and the welcome drinks had run out - staff too busy chatting to notice of course. Have to ask rude barman what’s happening - comes back with leftovers and not what was on the menu for the show - crazy - was almost too much effort to get up and so rude. Last time was breakfast and no serving cutlery - won’t ever host a work do there again - it’s embarrassing. No idea how they landed something as lovely as dinner time stories - who fortunately use their own crew and management it seems

Date of stay: November 2019
1  Thank CathrynSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMQuat, General Manager at Faircity Quatermain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2019

Dear CathrynSouthAfrica

Thank you for taking time to share with us your displeasure, I apologise for any inconvenience caused, and assure you of my utmost attention to your concerns.

We pride ourselves on service delivery and we may not get it right all the time, I am pleased we get it right most of the time.

My Duty Manager has shared with me what transpired yesterday, and I am sure there are many ways this can be avoided in the future. Dinner Time Stories staff and team will be advised and together we will ensure that the service from the lounge to the venue will always be impeccable.

I agree with your sentiments in relation to the property looking tired, this is a focus point for 2020, as we have been bought out by Premier Hotels and budget will be provided to do so.

Once again our sincere apologies for your poor arrival experience, we are pleased you enjoyed the lunch.

Kind Regards

Jerod Flaum
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2019

For our 25th anniversary we "experienced" Le Petit Chef at the Faircity Quatermain Hotel. What an astounding journey in the footsteps of Marco Polo!

Imagine transforming your surroundings into a sea, a desert, a spice market or a mountain of snow ... Add servers dressed accordingly; an animated guide; bowls, baskets, carpets, pots, chests and bags specific to each region; stunning presentation; as well as delicious morsels showcasing the tasty specialities of the specific areas.

Time flew while we broke bread with new friends and quaffed the perfectly chosen paired wine.

This dinner was creativity on all fronts and I would certainly recommend the adventure to anyone looking for a meal with difference for a special occasion!

Room tip: The public rooms & areas are delightfully upmarket & beautifully furnished while the bar is cosy and the outdoor area is idyllic.
Date of stay: November 2019
    • Value
    • Service
Thank tonio109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2019

Wonderful stay at a beautiful hotel! Rooms are spacious and comfortable, elegantly decorated and very private. Gardens are immaculate and the food is delicious! We would definetly come again! A wonderful breakaway without breaking the budget!

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Emrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews