We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (321)
Filter reviews
321 results
Traveller rating
132
126
43
12
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
132
126
43
12
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsheated towel railquiet hotelsmall swimming poolno liftdeluxe roomsdesk staffshuttle buscity hotelnight staytv channelscomplimentary shuttleshuttle servicesandton areasafe areasouth africahotel roomwi fi
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 321 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2018

Quite possibly one of the worst places I have stayed. It is more like a railway station than a hotel with screaming and shouting guests, staff that talk loudly outside your room and then bang on your door at 8am on a sunday screaming 'HOUSE KEEPING!".

My room on the ground floor was the worst thing possible DESPITE requesting a top floor room. Whoever was above me, sounded like they were rearranging the furniture each night.

In the end, what ever the attractive price they are offering, it is simply not worth it. There are far better hotels in the area and I will be staying their in future.

Room Tip: Rather choose a room at another hotel!
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shaun0010, General Manager at Faircity Quatermain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2018

Dear Dean,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We regret to hear that you had a less than satisfactory experience due to the inconvenience caused by the noise disturbances during your visit, we also apologize that your room preference was not granted due to the high occupancy at the hotel. Reviews like yours are very valuable as they enable us to target areas we need to improve on. Rest assured your feedback will be forwarded to all concerned departments for evaluation so that the necessary actions can be taken to ensure that this does not happen again in the future.

We value you as our guest and hope to accommodate you again for a chance to provide you with a much better experience.

Kind Regards

Shaun Wheeler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2018 via mobile


1) Internet is very slow and unreliable. Ended using my mobile phone hotspot for data.
2) Some would call it country type hotel. I would say ‘dated’ style.
3) Room was cold (winter). Had a wall unit aircon, but the outside motor was incredibly noisy beyond distraction.
4) Bath robes only for small people, and bath towels also very small.
5) TV channels limited.


1) Staff excellent and friendly.
2) comfortable clean bed
3) Room service good and tasty
4) breakfasts - good and tasty selection buffet
5) Secure hotel and parking.

Summary, not a bad hotel by any stretch, but not the style I prefer. As a regular business traveller my biggest bug-bear was appalling internet access, a MUST!!

Will I return? Probably not.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled on business
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018 via mobile

Great charm and simplicity. You get the feel of a country side hotel right in the middle of Sandton. Rooms are decent, bar nice, gym and good breakfast. Helpful and friendly staff also add to the charm.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank mrg19762017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shaun0010, General Manager at Faircity Quatermain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2018

Dear Value Guest,

We're thrilled to hear that you had a great experience with us! It's wonderful that you loved our beautiful hotel and rooms, along with our attentive service! We are delighted that you enjoyed the bar, gym and breakfast. We aim to please and your praise lets us know we're doing our job! We'd love to have you back again soon to share an even more positive experience with you.

Kind Regards

Shaun Wheeler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2018 via mobile

I stayed for a business trip visiting a client in Johannesburg. This hotel would be described as a colonial hotel. The beds in the rooms were comfortable. The staff were always friendly. The breakfast was very good - with a person making eggs for you and a lot of selection of breads, fresh fruit and a variety of juices. A full English breakfast buffet is available. The shuttle service offered by the hotel was really good and staff friendly. It was a good hotel for a business trip to Johannesburg. They had a person named Nelson at the travel desk who took us for a trip around Johannesburg for an additional fee which was very good and informative.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
Thank Patel12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shaun0010, General Manager at Faircity Quatermain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

It's wonderful you enjoyed your stay with us so much! We strive for excellence so we're thrilled you appreciated not only our spacious room and outstanding service, but also our prime location! Your praise lets us know we're doing our job! We have shared your wonderful comments with Nelson our tour operator.

We can't wait to host you again soon for another amazing experience! Have a stellar day!

Kind Regards

Shaun Wheeler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2018 via mobile

I spent 3 nights at the FairCity Quartermain. Easy to reach, with security gate and parking inside.

Staff are all friendly, with a clean room, separate shower and bath, and hot drink facilities. No iron and ironing board, but housekeeping brought one to me only minutes after requestor.

There is a bar, restaurant, and even a library - there's an old colonial feel to the hotel.

Located in a seemingly safe area a shopping area within easy walking distance if you want a little more life as the bar was always quite quiet.
Would definitely stay here again on my next visit to Johannesburg.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled on business
Thank Meloquin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shaun0010, General Manager at Faircity Quatermain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

Thanks for the excellent review, Meloquin!

We're delighted your time with us was so outstanding as providing our guests with an excellent experience is very important to us. It's fantastic you appreciated our clean comfortable rooms and helpful service as well as our lobby and bar area. That's what we like to see! Thank you very much for the recommendation. We look forward to hosting you again soon for another stellar experience.

Have an amazing day!

Kind Regards

Shaun Wheeler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews