We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect stay at 2Mokolo”
Review of 2 Mokolo

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sandton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
2 Mokolo
Ranked #7 of 81 Sandton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2016

When we arrived at 2Mokolo, we immediately felt at home (if not better than home). Comfortable rooms, birds chirping, beautiful bathrooms with everything you need and more. The breakfasts were a highlight. Thank you to Sandy and Stanley and the team. It really was a special stay. And so convenient + safe too!

Room Tip: All rooms are private, quiet and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kerri v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandradeWitt, Owner at 2 Mokolo, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2016

Thanks to you for discovering 2 Mokolo amongst the countless options available to you. (Fortuitously fateful we like to think!) We thoroughly enjoyed meeting you and your colleagues, and of course having you stay with us. Your appreciation of our bath salts, birds and breakfasts is much appreciated. We do hope to see more of you in future. Our regards to all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2016

Staying at 2 Mokolo and 18 Marikana is the highlight of my business trips to Johannesburg. The accommodation is luxurious and Sandy and her team ensure that I am as comfortable as I am at home. I find the location quiet and peaceful despite it's convenient proximity to the business hub of Sandton.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimmyferendinos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandradeWitt, Chief Cook & Bottle Washer at 2 Mokolo, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2016

You had us nervously anticipating your ‘genuine’ feedback with this review. So what a ‘genuine’ delight to read your review once posted. Given your professional exposure to some of our country’s most luxurious guest houses, we are particularly flattered by your comment, yet happy that you feel comfortable with us. Thank you for your review and undying support.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2016 via mobile

I spent 2 nights at 18 Marikana whilst on business and in transit between Australia and Zimbabwe. The welcome from Sandy was warm and genuine. She took me throughout to a generous and airy room which had simple but tasteful luxury.

For the intrepid and business Traveller, having wall sockets to suit any plus, including my pesky Australian ones, was a deft touch.

The shower and bathroom facilities include heated floors and towel racks and as such one can enjoy the marble decor.

Breakfast - I chose the cooked breakfast. Awesome choice.
Well done to Sandy, Graham, Stanley and the rest of the 18 Marikana team!

Stayed: June 2016, travelled on business
Thank Shingai J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandradeWitt, Chief Cook & Bottle Washer at 2 Mokolo, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2016

What a great start to our day… sharing your review of 2 Mokolo’s ‘Annex at 18’ with the team. Thank you very much! We are pleased that you mention our plugs. In fact our electrical installation is over engineered, and all because our research was based on a sample of two - ourselves. We know the scenario only too well: Arriving with multiple devices to be charged simultaneously, you find yourself on your knees searching behind the bed pedestal for that plug point, then move furniture to precariously install your adapters, which generally flop out mid-charge. So overcompensating for our travelling pet hate, we installed a standard RSA, a universal multi-socket, a euro-socket and two USB points at pedestal height next to your bed. This configuration is again echoed at the desk. Happy charging we say. As a self confessed foodie, we are very chuffed that you approve our cooked breakfast. We do hope to see you again some day - safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2016

As a regular to JHB this has become my second home.
Attention to detail, from food to comfort, owners and staff.
Tranquil and secure, interesting, luxurious, central and close enough to Morningside Shopping center.

Room Tip: All have unique features, outdoor shower, lux baths, well decorated..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jonathanb442016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandradeWitt, Chief Cook & Bottle Washer at 2 Mokolo, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2016

As the very first guest to walk through our doors at 2 Mokolo when we opened in 2013, we are so happy that after over 250 nights, you are still so happy. (You certainly do know your way around our kitchens.) We would like to thank you for all your support, even during our torturous renovation as we expanded to the ‘Annex at 18’, for hearing us out and all you valuable suggestions. We thank you for supplying many of our soft furnishing and decor items that have help create the unique feel at 2 Mokolo. We are eternally grateful for all your referrals that have attracted guests we now consider regulars too. So... not only do we have to thank you for your loyal support, but for being the self-appointed ‘Head of Security’. And we do know that whilst we try hard, we can never really replace your true home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2016

We had a 4 night stay at 2 Mokolo. It could not have been more pleasant. We were very warmly welcomed by Sandy, and we instantly felt at home. The rooms are beautiful, impeccably clean and the bathrooms are to die for, each with a big beautiful bathtub, amazing for those cold winters! A very special touch was that you find a warm hot-water bottle tucked under your duvet at night, absolutely the best thing on a chilly night. The breakfast was incredibly delicious, so much variety to choose from, plus freshly made juice each morning. The quality of the food was fantastic. I would recommend 2 Mokolo without any hesitation. The location is also great - in a secure, quiet area, but just minutes from the city centre, perfect!

Stayed: June 2016, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank estia397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandradeWitt, Chief Cook & Bottle Washer at 2 Mokolo, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2016

We are delighted that your group chose to stay with us at 2 Mokolo, that you like what you found and that you have taken the time to ‘pen’ this great review: Our sincere thanks. We are equally delighted that you appreciated the strategically placed hot-water bottle at night. We know that they do feel a bit old fashioned, but we believe that beside adding a nostalgic touch, they are a healthier option to sleeping on an electric blanket - none of those electromagnetic fields to mess with your body’s metabolism. We hope to see you in October for more of the same…

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandton
11,9 km away
84 on Fourth Guest House
84 on Fourth Guest House
#5 of 305 in Johannesburg
196 reviews
2,8 km away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#13 of 47 in Sandton
1 427 reviews
3 km away
Glenalmond Hotel Sandton
Glenalmond Hotel Sandton
#25 of 47 in Sandton
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3,1 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
3,3 km away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#3 of 47 in Sandton
1 012 reviews
5,1 km away
Silver Oak Luxury Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 2 Mokolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 2 Mokolo

Address: 2 Mokolo Close | Morningside, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Sandton
Price Range: R 600 - R 1 600 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — 2 Mokolo 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the beautiful suburb of Morningside, Sandton, 2 Mokolo offers an intimate respite from the hustle of the city. Our popular, established bed and breakfast accommodation is now complemented by a luxuriously appointed new 4 star guest house, which adjoins the property. Entering the gates, you’ll imagine yourself in a country lodge. It’s hard to believe you’re a mere 4.5 km from the heart of Johannesburg’s commercial centre, and a stone's throw from the Sandton Convention Centre and Gautrain station. All this, and yet you are just a few kilometres from all major access roads and conveniently close to the main highways, putting you within easy reach of Gauteng’s premier attractions. Tailored to the discerning business traveller demanding privacy, or to the local and international leisure traveller seeking a home away from home. Either way the tensions and stresses of work or travel are soon but a distant memory, as you relax in our friendly and secure environment. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing