We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 Mokolo
Nearby Hotels
US$235
US$209
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$189
US$155
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$164
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$324
US$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Maslow(Sandton)
US$171
US$143
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$158
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$141/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$134
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$138/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$226
US$161
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$146
US$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$133/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$570
US$540
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (61)
Filter reviews
61 results
Traveller rating
61
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
61
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsamazing hostsperfect retreatown private patiooutdoor showerperfect spacehomemade jamsamazing bathroombustling cityhome away from homewarm hospitalitysecond homerooms are beautifula wonderful stayguesthousemorningsidejohannesburgduvet
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 61 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2016

Staying at 2 Mokolo and 18 Marikana is the highlight of my business trips to Johannesburg. The accommodation is luxurious and Sandy and her team ensure that I am as comfortable as I am at home. I find the location quiet and peaceful despite it's convenient proximity to the business hub of Sandton.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimmyferendinos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandradeWitt, Chief Cook & Bottle Washer at 2 Mokolo, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2016

You had us nervously anticipating your ‘genuine’ feedback with this review. So what a ‘genuine’ delight to read your review once posted. Given your professional exposure to some of our country’s most luxurious guest houses, we are particularly flattered by your comment, yet happy that you feel comfortable with us. Thank you for your review and undying support.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2016 via mobile

I spent 2 nights at 18 Marikana whilst on business and in transit between Australia and Zimbabwe. The welcome from Sandy was warm and genuine. She took me throughout to a generous and airy room which had simple but tasteful luxury.

For the intrepid and business Traveller, having wall sockets to suit any plus, including my pesky Australian ones, was a deft touch.

The shower and bathroom facilities include heated floors and towel racks and as such one can enjoy the marble decor.

Breakfast - I chose the cooked breakfast. Awesome choice.
Well done to Sandy, Graham, Stanley and the rest of the 18 Marikana team!

Stayed: June 2016, travelled on business
Thank Shingai J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandradeWitt, Chief Cook & Bottle Washer at 2 Mokolo, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2016

What a great start to our day… sharing your review of 2 Mokolo’s ‘Annex at 18’ with the team. Thank you very much! We are pleased that you mention our plugs. In fact our electrical installation is over engineered, and all because our research was based on a sample of two - ourselves. We know the scenario only too well: Arriving with multiple devices to be charged simultaneously, you find yourself on your knees searching behind the bed pedestal for that plug point, then move furniture to precariously install your adapters, which generally flop out mid-charge. So overcompensating for our travelling pet hate, we installed a standard RSA, a universal multi-socket, a euro-socket and two USB points at pedestal height next to your bed. This configuration is again echoed at the desk. Happy charging we say. As a self confessed foodie, we are very chuffed that you approve our cooked breakfast. We do hope to see you again some day - safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2016

As a regular to JHB this has become my second home.
Attention to detail, from food to comfort, owners and staff.
Tranquil and secure, interesting, luxurious, central and close enough to Morningside Shopping center.

Room Tip: All have unique features, outdoor shower, lux baths, well decorated..
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jonathanb442016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandradeWitt, Chief Cook & Bottle Washer at 2 Mokolo, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2016

As the very first guest to walk through our doors at 2 Mokolo when we opened in 2013, we are so happy that after over 250 nights, you are still so happy. (You certainly do know your way around our kitchens.) We would like to thank you for all your support, even during our torturous renovation as we expanded to the ‘Annex at 18’, for hearing us out and all you valuable suggestions. We thank you for supplying many of our soft furnishing and decor items that have help create the unique feel at 2 Mokolo. We are eternally grateful for all your referrals that have attracted guests we now consider regulars too. So... not only do we have to thank you for your loyal support, but for being the self-appointed ‘Head of Security’. And we do know that whilst we try hard, we can never really replace your true home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2016

We had a 4 night stay at 2 Mokolo. It could not have been more pleasant. We were very warmly welcomed by Sandy, and we instantly felt at home. The rooms are beautiful, impeccably clean and the bathrooms are to die for, each with a big beautiful bathtub, amazing for those cold winters! A very special touch was that you find a warm hot-water bottle tucked under your duvet at night, absolutely the best thing on a chilly night. The breakfast was incredibly delicious, so much variety to choose from, plus freshly made juice each morning. The quality of the food was fantastic. I would recommend 2 Mokolo without any hesitation. The location is also great - in a secure, quiet area, but just minutes from the city centre, perfect!

Stayed: June 2016, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank estia397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandradeWitt, Chief Cook & Bottle Washer at 2 Mokolo, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2016

We are delighted that your group chose to stay with us at 2 Mokolo, that you like what you found and that you have taken the time to ‘pen’ this great review: Our sincere thanks. We are equally delighted that you appreciated the strategically placed hot-water bottle at night. We know that they do feel a bit old fashioned, but we believe that beside adding a nostalgic touch, they are a healthier option to sleeping on an electric blanket - none of those electromagnetic fields to mess with your body’s metabolism. We hope to see you in October for more of the same…

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2016

Lovely house, great rooms and bathrooms, stunning gardens and wonderful hosts ( Sandy and Graham ) mean you will not be disappointed with a stay at 2 Mokolo. I stayed for a couple of nights but wished I could have enjoyed it for longer. Your home away from home.

Stayed: April 2016
Thank SIWA94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandradeWitt, Chief Cook & Bottle Washer at 2 Mokolo, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2016

Thank you very much for your considered review of 2 Mokolo; we truly value each comment. We enjoyed seeing your birding photographs, taking you birding and sharing stories of our respective birding trips. So much ground to cover - yet so little time - we wish you could have stayed longer...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews