We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe not our type of spa...”
Review of Mowana Day Spa

Mowana Day Spa
Ranked #1 of 16 Spas & Wellness in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed 2 May 2018 via mobile

We have been to many spa's and for many massages. I am not sure if it was our masseuses but we did not enjoy the experience at all. The full body massage had no purpose no sequence or symmetry if this makes sense. What you do on one side you do on the other, this was not the case for both my hubby and I. We then had the foot and lower leg treatment I am uncertain as to why my shin (Tibia) was massaged? It honestly felt like they didn't care about or know what they were doing.

Just a little disappointed.

Date of experience: May 2018
3  Thank Nicci B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon H, Manager at Mowana Day Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2018

Thank you again for taking the time to give us a little feedback on your recent spa experience. We are extremely passionate about our service and spa offering and so were very disappointed to hear that you didn't enjoy your pamper with us. I am aware that our Spa Manager, Claudia James has been in contact with you and I do hope that she has been able to resolve your concerns.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Mowana Spa son and do hope that you will enjoy your experience with us

Yours in wellness

Sharon Hunink
Group Marketing & Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"full body massage"
in 14 reviews
"high tea"
in 8 reviews
"indaba hotel"
in 6 reviews
"leg massage"
in 4 reviews
"welcome drink"
in 3 reviews
"head and shoulders"
in 3 reviews
"bathrobes and slippers"
in 2 reviews
"birds chirping"
in 2 reviews
"hot breakfast"
in 2 reviews
"beautiful facilities"
in 2 reviews
"changing facilities"
in 2 reviews
"main course"
in 2 reviews
"change rooms"
in 2 reviews
"top class"
in 3 reviews
"service was excellent"
in 2 reviews
"an amazing experience"
in 2 reviews
"treatment"
in 42 reviews
Filter

9 - 13 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2018 via mobile

One of our friends is gluten intolerant. With lunch, they did not substitute the croquettes with anything else. Which means he had to eat two pieces of meat with no sides for lunch. We have asked for substitutes when we booked. The key lime tart that came with our dessert was still frozen which made the taste quite unpleasant. The high tea snacks were also a bit bland and the cakes were dry. The Spa treatments on the other hand were incredible and the attention to detail did not go unnoticed. My therapist was Dineo M. and she was fantastic. In future I will ask specifically for her. She knows her stuff!!

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank vanniekerkfourie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon H, Manager at Mowana Day Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

Thank you for taking the time to complete a Review as we appreciate all guest feedback - we have noted your concerns re the menu and food items offered in the spa and have addressed this with our Group Executive Chef who will take the necessary corrective actions

Thrilled that you enjoyed your spa pamper experience and will certainly pass your kind comments on to the team

Do hope to welcome you back soon

Yours Sincerely

Sharon Hunink
Group Marketing & Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2018 via mobile

Went for the half day package and it was just the right amount. 3 different massages with lunch and high tea. You keep the same masseuse for the whole time so they know your preferences each massage.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank jasoncZ7688XB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon H, Manager at Mowana Day Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Thank you for the wonderful review - we are thrilled that you enjoyed your experience with us and hope to welcome you back soon

Yours Sincerely

Sharon Hunink
Group Marketing & Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2018 via mobile

I have visited here solo, with my hubby and with friends. Each experience just gets better and better. Have tried the competition and they do not match up. Mowana all the way

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank Thea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon H, Public Relations Manager at Mowana Day Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

Thank you for the wonderful review - we are thrilled that you enjoyed your recent Mowana Pamper Journey with us and will certainly pass your kind comments on to the team

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon

Yours in Wellness

Sharon Hunink
Group Marketing & Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 26 January 2018 via mobile

A very pleasant experience.
We booked for the afternoon session. The food was great....quite filling and tasty.
The vegetarian dish was divine. We went for the head and shoulder massage first. The view was absolutely breathtaking.For a moment I forgot I was in Johannesburg. It’s like a bush retreat away from the bustle and hustle of the city. The full body massage was good too...my favorite was the foot massage! Loved the variety of sweet delicacies during the break. Drinks were flowing as well.
It’s value for money!! Way more than what I’d expected. Will most definitely go there again and recommend it highly.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank HappyRud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon H, Public Relations Manager at Mowana Day Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2018

Thanks for the awesome review- we are thrilled that you enjoyed your Mowana Pamper Journey with us and will certainly pass your kind comments on to the team

Look forward to welcoming you back soon

Yours in Wellness

Sharon Hunink
Group Marketing & Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mowana Day Spa also viewed

Randburg, Greater Johannesburg
Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
 
Muldersdrift, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Mowana Day Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing