We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Great Massage

We took the African Stay and Spa. The snacks before everything started was really great, our leg... read more

Reviewed 29 August 2018
Rene Y
,
Polokwane, South Africa
Birthday Spa Day

Bestie surprised me with a night of pampering at this Spa. I love massages and I have been to a... read more

Reviewed 7 July 2018
letmeseeubitthat
,
Johannesburg, South Africa
via mobile
Read all 80 reviews
  
Reviews (80)
Filter reviews
80 results
Traveller rating
50
21
3
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
50
21
3
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews full body massage indaba hotel high tea leg massage spa package hot breakfast beautiful facilities great spa bathrobes and slippers neck and shoulders changing facilities birds chirping top class masseuse massaged session bushveld
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 80 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2018 via mobile

I have visited here solo, with my hubby and with friends. Each experience just gets better and better. Have tried the competition and they do not match up. Mowana all the way

Thank Thea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon H, Public Relations Manager at Mowana Day Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

Thank you for the wonderful review - we are thrilled that you enjoyed your recent Mowana Pamper Journey with us and will certainly pass your kind comments on to the team

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon

Yours in Wellness

Sharon Hunink
Group Marketing & Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2018 via mobile

A very pleasant experience.
We booked for the afternoon session. The food was great....quite filling and tasty.
The vegetarian dish was divine. We went for the head and shoulder massage first. The view was absolutely breathtaking.For a moment I forgot I was in Johannesburg. It’s like a bush retreat away from the bustle and hustle of the city. The full body massage was good too...my favorite was the foot massage! Loved the variety of sweet delicacies during the break. Drinks were flowing as well.
It’s value for money!! Way more than what I’d expected. Will most definitely go there again and recommend it highly.

Thank HappyRud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon H, Public Relations Manager at Mowana Day Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2018

Thanks for the awesome review- we are thrilled that you enjoyed your Mowana Pamper Journey with us and will certainly pass your kind comments on to the team

Look forward to welcoming you back soon

Yours in Wellness

Sharon Hunink
Group Marketing & Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2017 via mobile

I have visited the Mowana spa on at least four occasions and each time was spectacular. The spas promotions make great quality packages affordable to the keen and frequenting spa lover. Food, decor and petit fours are laid out in style and in satisfying portions. This is a great spa for moms and daughters, couples, friends or just groups of colleagues at a work do. I would visit here any time.

Thank Kashi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon H, Public Relations Manager at Mowana Day Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2018

Thank you for the awesome review - we are thrilled that you enjoyed your recent pamper experience with us and will certainly pass your kind comments on to the team

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon

Yours in Wellness

Sharon Hunink
Group Marketing & Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2017

We visited the spa last weekend for a spa treatment and overnight stay. We had an unfortunate experience where some people that we shared a room with apparently got frightened by a rat that disrupted their treatment. They screamed and run out and of course their panic sent the guests and therapists running out of the treatment room. Water was poured all over and my sister (6 weeks pregnant) fell on the ground. This totally ruined our experience at the spa, seeing that it happened only 20 minutes into our first treatment. The spa manager on duty that night took some trouble to offer us scrub and a fizz ball and a 10% discount voucher. Unfortunately that can not make up for a supposed rat in a spa that we read great reviews about. We did not enjoy our evening and unfortunately did not get to experience what the whole excitement about Mowane Spa is all about.

3  Thank anadenkini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon H, Guest Relations Manager at Mowana Day Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2018

Apologies again for the poor experience and we look forward to welcoming you back for your complimentary spa pamper journey as discussed with our Spa Manager

Yours in Wellness
Sharon Hunink
Group Marketing & Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2017

What an incredible day. Most spas are rushed, this was stress free in the most stunning setting. Feels like you are miles into the bush-veld, tranquility to the max. Huge open spaces for everyone to relax in between sessions. Very impressed that us smokers had a comfortable area too, normally you just find a spot to stand and look like a spare part.Treatments are to die for and all the staff super friendly. The food was out of this world and kept flowing. Thank you Mowana Spa for making my husband's birthday present so memorable!

Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon H, Director of Sales at Mowana Day Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2017

Thank you for choosing to spend your special occasion with us - we are thrilled that you enjoyed your pamper journey and will certainly pass your kind comments on to the team.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon

Yours in Wellness

Sharon Hunink
Group Marketing & Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews