We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$183
US$133
View Deal
SAVE US$50
Hotels.com
eDreams
Travelocity
Booking.com
Expedia.comUS$183
View all 12 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (15)
Filter reviews
15 results
Traveller rating
4
4
1
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
4
4
1
3
3
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 15 reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2019

Nice appartement overlooking Nelson Mandela Square. The surrounding air conditioning a bit nosy.
Easy accès to mall and restaurant. Room could need a revamp in decoration and appliance. Breakfast at the Maximilian restaurant

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank mjanser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradise33792839726, Guest Relations Manager at Raphael Penthouse Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2019

Dear Mjanser,
Thank you for your kind review on TripAdvisor. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we have taken note of your concerns. We do look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Best wishes
The Raphael Suites Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2019 via mobile

Short of staying at one of the other hotels in the vicinity, you couldn’t get any closer to the shopping centre & Nelson Mandela Square. Restaurants & bars everywhere.
Stayed in a grand suite. Very grand indeed. Came with it’s only plunge pool & a family of pigeons, which made the place homely.
The staff were just excellent, just couldn’t do enough for their guests.
Only minute niggle, TV’s in either room need updating with DSTV connectivity. A pain constantly walking into the living room to change channels. Aside of that, just a great stay.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Grunter2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradise33792839726, Guest Relations Manager at Raphael Penthouse Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2019

Dear Grunter2014
Thank you for your kind review onTripAdvisor. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we are happy to note you ejoyed your time with us. Thank you for bringing the concerns of the DSTV connectivity to our attention. We will pass on your kind review to the members of staff and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Best wishes
Jackie Gordon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2019

Quiet. Clean and beautiful. Close to all the action. The Hotel is hidden away from the noise and attention of the Michelangelo but still offers the same comfort. It is right on the square and surrounded with amazing restaurants and good shopping.

Room tip: Choose rooms that over the Nelson Mandela Square
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank kunlea2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarieseD1, Manager at Raphael Penthouse Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2019

Dear Kunlea2013,
Warm greetings from Raphael Penthouse Suites, many thanks for taking the time to give us such a detailed review of your stay with us, we are very grateful for your feedback.
I am pleased to see that you have enjoyed your overall experience with us, we do our very best to ensure we exceed guest expectations with our high service standard and passion.
I will ensure I pass on your kind review to the rest of the team, positive feedback is always well appreciated!
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Mariese du Toit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2019

We are a family of four. We booked in at the
Raphael Penthouse Suites on the SAT 20th April 2019.

1) When we arrived with a trailer, and baggage and 2 kids, I could not understand for the life of me, HOW CAN you let guests park "ON THE ROAD" where taxis and other traffic fly pass you, just missing you, to book in and off load? its does not make any sense to have it like that. My wife and children were at risk for 1 hour!! You have to fix the area where people get off, and it was raining !!! NO roof over your head, so we all got wet and so did the luggage. (not the porters fault, he did his best, its the setups fault.)

2) After an hour, got into the room!!!
kitchen was nice, lounge was nice, thats it !!!
BAthroom was dirty and sandy
balcony OH NOW, i cant even write about it.
room was smelling of cigarettes,
fridge very dirty.

air con was not working, (was told to cal maintenance)
u just arrive from a long drive theres no time for that nonsense,
(why was is not taken care off before)_ ???

tv remotes not working,

Thats when i HAD IT !!!

I must mention the 2 gentlemen in charge, very helpful, tried to make the mess of the hotel not seem so bad.

I complained at the reception and I demanded to be transfered immedialtely,

They then called the MICHAEL ANGELO HOTEL,
and there, all was sorted.

I was transfered to the other hotel, a quick walk throught the mall, and we were sorted out with class and speedy service.

But I lost 4 hours of my 1 night get away :(

Ill never stay at the Raphael penthouse suites again.

"a concerned legacy hotel member"

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank silveraxe12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarieseD1, Manager at Raphael Penthouse Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2019

Dear Silveraxe12,
Please accept our sincerest apologies for the service deficiencies you encountered on your recent stay with us.
We pride ourselves on delivering 5* service to all our guest and we definitely fell short this time.
As a gesture of good will we would like to offer you a 1 night complimentary stay with us and allow us the opportunity to rectify your experience with us.
Please contact us directly to book your complimentary stay.
Once again please accept our sincerest apologies for your recent stay.
Kind regards,
Mariese Du Toit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2019

When we arrived at our apartment, the air conditioning was not working and the room was very warm. We reported this and an engineer turned up, fiddled with the controls and tried to persuade us that it was now working, it wasn't!! The furniture was worn and outdated and the whole apartment was in need of refurbishment. We were eventually offered a move to completely different apartment in a separate tower (Michelangelo Tower) which is owned by the same group. This was much better apartment.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank yorkyibiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarieseD1, Manager at Raphael Penthouse Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2019

Dear Yorkyibiza,
Thank you for taking the time to give us such a detailed review of your recent stay with us.
It’s with great sadness that I read this and note that several things throughout your stay was not up to par, please note that this is not our usual standard of service and I would like to firstly apologise for the lack of service that you have received whilst staying with us, this has been reported to our Maintenance manager for his urgent attention.
We are in the process of soft refurbishments in our apartments, and some of our units have been refurbished already.
I do hope that you will give us another chance and we will make sure that with your next stay everything will be in order.
Kind regards,
Mariese Du Toit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews