We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$194
US$163
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/07/30
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
US$181
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/07/31
CheapTicketsUS$181
TravelocityUS$181
getaroom.comUS$194
View all 16 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 414)
Filter reviews
1 414 results
Traveller rating
828
403
118
39
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
828
403
118
39
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shopping mall nelson mandela square sun deck direct access sandton city convention center excellent hotel business trip enjoyed my stay concierge convenience leisure gym conference joburg proximity porter
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
153 - 158 of 1 414 reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2019

We recently stayed at the Sandton Sun hotel. Although it is a big hotel with many guests we received excellent personal service. All our needs were met and from the room to the dining experience everything was perfect. I will strongly recommend this hotel and its staff for a special night out or for all your business travel needs.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank lifeStephan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert J, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2019

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Sandton Sun and for taking the time to share your experience with other travellers on Trip Advisor. Your views are of utmost importance to us and thank you for your positive comments about the hotel.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2019 via mobile

My family and I enjoyed the Mothers Day Lunch Buffet which offered a great variety of quality food. The Seafood choice was exceptional. The service staff was attentive and the management comprising of the GM Mr. Robert Jasper, the Executive Chef Mr. Gerard Vingerling and Group Sommelier Mr. Miguel Chan was of the highest standard.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank manfredo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert J, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2019

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your positive feedback and also for choosing to celebrate Mother's Day at Sandton Sun. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and I hope we have the opportunity to see you on many future occasions.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2019

great option to stay in sandton.
easy access to sandton city.
the hotel has been revamped so it now looks nice and modern while preserving the original grandeur.
lovely breakfast.
good service.
I would definitely recommend it

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank naeemvally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert J, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2019

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your feedback and for choosing to stay with us at Sandton Sun. Your comments are of vital importance to us and we utilise this to continually evaluate and improve on the service we offer.

We hope to have you stay again in the near future.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2019

It is always a pleasure taking my short left with Tsogo Sun Hotels. We really enjoyed the great privacy in this hotel and the way the staff treats us as clients it is commendable. Booking online was a breeze.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank ThomsonMhlongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert J, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2019

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your feedback and for choosing to stay with us at Sandton Sun. Your comments are of vital importance to us and we utilise this to continually evaluate and improve on the service we offer.

We hope to have you stay again in the near future.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2019

I really liked my room at the Sandton Sun, but it was also an easily accessible hotel, and you can take the Gautrain from OR Tambo to the Sandton Station, which is a walking distance from the hotel. You can also access the Sandton Mall and other interesting places like Mandela Square from the hotel. Only downside, the gym is next door.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
2  Thank ao1379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert J, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2019

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your positive feedback and also for choosing to stay with us at Sandton Sun. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and I hope we have the opportunity to see you on many future occasions.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews