We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$180
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/07/31
Hotels.com
Trip.com
US$192
US$148
View deal
Booking.comUS$162
TravelocityUS$180
getaroom.comUS$192
View all 16 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 414)
Filter reviews
1 414 results
Traveller rating
828
403
118
39
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
828
403
118
39
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shopping mall nelson mandela square sun deck direct access sandton city convention center excellent hotel business trip enjoyed my stay concierge convenience leisure gym conference joburg proximity porter
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
290 - 295 of 1 414 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2018

Review
We stayed at the hotel on 13-14 September
Although it was a short stay, we stayed around 7 days in the previous year in the same hotel when we were visited Joburg in-depth. The consistency in quality year-on-year was very well appreciated.

Location
The hotel is ideally located in Sandton Mall. On level 6, you get access to the shopping mall – and this is extremely nice and convenient. You feel quite safe with this kind of facility, without the need to leave any building to do shopping. And the mall has lots of food shop options.
Even leaving the hotel during the day feel safe since Nelson Mandella Square is nearby and this is a quite chic quartier.
Score 5/5

Room
The room is very large and comfortable for two adults. We have a very large office desk, comfortable room, large bathroom with a luxury style, safe in room. Room amenities are superb with lots of Shower cap, gel etc.
Room cleaning also appeared to be good. The floor is carpet made. You get a beautiful city view on the outside window. Perhaps they can consider inserting a small WC shower spray.
4.5/5

service quality
The service quality was decent. We didn’t get to speak a lot with the staffs around, especially since we did not have dinner there, but during the short breakfast service, we found the service to be ok.
Score 4/5
Food
Breakfast is very nice and lots of options. You will love the croissant, the fruits, the cappuccino and everything!
Score 4.5/5

Other facilities
Didn’t have time to explore other parts of the hotel – I doubt they have a gym

Overall 4.5/5

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Y7959ZRmichaelh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert J, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2018

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your feedback and for advising us of your recent stay with us.

Guest feedback is an essential part in ensuring that our clients are provided with the standards of quality and effective customer service that are synonymous with the heritage of the Sandton Sun. Our gym is situated at our sister hotel linked across the sky walk.

We appreciate your opinion and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2018

My husband and I had a wonderful 2 night stay at the Sandton in late August prior to our departure for a safari. We were with several friends, and we all agreed everything was top notch.....the rooms large and well appointed, the beds very comfy, service above and beyond, and the food in their restaurant is excellent highlighted by the sumptuous breakfast buffet. There is a large upscale mall attached to the hotel, but we were too busy sightseeing to really take advantage of the available shopping.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BKandCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert J, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2018

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your positive feedback and also for choosing to stay with us at Sandton Sun. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and I hope we have the opportunity to see you on many future occasions.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2018

I would like to register my sincere thanks to all the staff at Sandton Sun hotel. The hotel is fantastic, but the staff make a stay at Sandton Sun a genuinely fabulous experience. It is hard to pick out individual employees for special praise, because everyone in the hotel, from the concierge team, to the reception staff, to the restaurant staff, and the guest room cleaning staff are so incredibly friendly and helpful. Nothing is too much trouble, and the staff are a credit to the organisation. After a long overnight flight from the UK, the initial welcome at the hotel, and a fuss-free check-in are critical to the guests' impression of the hotel. The concierge and reception staff are second to none. I have stayed in many hotels all over the world, for both business and leisure, and Sandton Sun compares extremely favourably with everywhere I have stayed. Many thanks indeed - we will definitely be staying in Sandton Sun when we visit Johannesburg next time.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Stu C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert J, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2018

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your positive feedback and also for choosing to stay with us at Sandton Sun. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and I hope we have the opportunity to see you on many future occasions.

I am pleased that our staff had a personal impact on your time here and I will ensure that they are recognised for this. Guest feedback is an essential part in ensuring that our clients are provided with the standards of quality and effective customer service that are synonymous with the heritage of the Sandton Sun.

We appreciate your opinion and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2018

The atmosphere is exceptionally good. It meets my need and I believe that it does the same to many. I always prefer private spaces. It's a place you can always come to refresh yourself. The brand itself sums it up.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank apostlevv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert J, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2018

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Sandton Sun and for taking the time to share your experience with other travellers on Trip Advisor. Your views are of utmost importance to us and thank you for your positive comments about the hotel.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018

This hotel is an old part of Sandton but is ever renewed. It is large and accomodates a lot of visitors but the Staff are always there to help. The lounge is perfectly situated with newspapers every day and service for any food required. It leads out onto a patio which is supurb and has place to sit and have lunch or drinks. It also has a fantastic view of Johannesburg's Northern Suburbs. The staff are very attentive and await whatever one orders. The rooms are elegant and fashionable and very luxurious. One has only to walk a short distance and be in Sandton City, the Shopping Mall of Africa. Further, one needs only go down to the entrance and a Porter organises a taxi in no time. Certainly a great place to meet for business and relax when not meeting or shopping. There are other restaurants in the Sandton Square but the hotel boasts a wonderful restaurant with a wide variety of food. Definitely a place to stay in ther richest half mile in Africa.

Room tip: Try and get a room at as high as the levels go. It gives a good view and is not inconvenient. There is a lift running all day and night.
Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 42markbriggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert J, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2018

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your positive feedback and also for choosing to stay with us at Sandton Sun. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and I hope we have the opportunity to see you on many future occasions.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews