We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$152
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/10/02
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
US$145
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/10/01
Trip.com
US$135
View deal
Hotels.comUS$152
PricelineUS$153
ZenHotels.comUS$156
View all 16 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 415)
Filter reviews
1 415 results
Traveller rating
829
403
118
39
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
829
403
118
39
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shopping mall nelson mandela square sun deck direct access sandton city convention center excellent hotel business trip enjoyed my stay concierge convenience leisure gym conference joburg proximity porter
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
296 - 301 of 1 415 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2018 via mobile

This is a classy hotel in the heart of the financial district. The attached upscale shopping venue and Mandela courtyard make this place the perfect spot to stay. Rooms are new, fresh, beautifully appointed and adorned with comforts.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank 386kurtj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert J, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2018

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Sandton Sun and for taking the time to share your experience with other travellers on Trip Advisor. Your views are of utmost importance to us and thank you for your positive comments about the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2018 via mobile

Decent property. The rooms are more modern and spacious, than the sister property at the Intercontinental next door, but for a frequent traveller I would not describe them as memorable. Some facilities, such as the gym, are shared with the Intercon

Service wise, I felt that the could have been warmer, but par for course in South _Africa.

Excellent location. No integrated with the Sandton City mall, and great lounge bar and restaurant downstairs.

No real reason not to go back, and good for a short JNB stay.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank michaelsS5609YD
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert J, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2018

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your positive feedback and also for choosing to stay with us at Sandton Sun. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and I hope we have the opportunity to see you on many future occasions.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2018

The room is wonderful and very spacious. The bathroom is quite large and the shower is great! Breakfast with lots of choices. Well equipped gym. The attendance of the staff left a little to be desired.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank flavitm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert J, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2018

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your feedback and for advising us of your recent stay.

Guest feedback is an essential part in ensuring that our clients are provided with the standards of quality and effective customer service that are synonymous with the heritage of the Sandton Sun.

We appreciate your opinion and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018

Great service, well appointed rooms, excellent location, what more can one ask for? For a busy business hotel the attention to detail and smiling employees make one's stay always a pleasant experience.However there were some renovations going on with the outside bar area and drilling started early Friday morning. Without any notification made to the guests on check-in or in the room.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank swaziboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert J, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your feedback and for advising of your recent stay with us.

Guest feedback is an essential part in ensuring that our clients are provided with the standards of quality and effective customer service that are synonymous with the heritage of the Sandton Sun.

I would therefore like to use this opportunity to offer my sincerest apologies for the inconveniences caused to you, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2018

Our family (including 2 teenagers) recently spent just one night at the Sandton Sun on a stop over in Joburg. I wished we were there longer! We were accommodated in interconnecting rooms: a double and twin on the 11th floor which proved to be perfect for us. The rooms were exceptionally clean and well equipped. The staff were friendly and helpful right through from when I made the booking and arranged airport pickup to our departure. We eat dinner in the bar and the food was varied, tasty and plentiful, and service excellent. The hotel is well situated with easy access to the shopping mall and Mandela square. We would definitely be happy to return to the Sandton Sun!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank FujiyamaCrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert J, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your positive feedback and also for choosing to stay with us at Sandton Sun. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and I hope we have the opportunity to see you on many future occasions.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews