We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!!!!”
Review of Sandton Sun

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sandton Sun
Ranked #4 of 46 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 October 2017

Our welcome by Vinny at the door and checking in was all a 5 star experience. Our room was perfect, clean and very classy/stylish. We had a very relaxing afternoon at the pool and then on the sun deck. Friendly barmen and staff at the hotel. The whole feel was just perfect and my wife was in heaven. The romantic turn-down was done so classy and we were really surprised. Room was cleaned twice and restocked. We really felt like we were royals and the hotel is magnificent. Breakfast was good but pls add butter to the breakfast, we could not understand that one. We will gladly return yearly. Thank you Sandton Sun, Vinny and all your staff, you made us feel special and keep up the 5 star service.

Room Tip: Will stay as high as possible, 4 lifts and the ride is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Boela Elzanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert J, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Sandton Sun and for taking the time to share your experience with other travellers on Trip Advisor. Your views are of utmost importance to us and thank you for your positive comments about the hotel.

Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Sandton Sun in the not too distant future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (951)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

38 - 42 of 952 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2017

Housekeeping left my door open all day. I requested to speak with a manager but he wouldn’t meet with me face to face in the business center and only spoke with me over the phone. Fortunately nothing was missing from my room. The manager said he would investigate and follow up with me but I never heard back from him.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Judd S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert J, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your feedback and for advising us of the open bedroom door during your stay with us. We have investigated the matter and found nothing untoward.

Guest feedback is an essential part in ensuring that our clients are provided with the standards of quality and effective customer service that are synonymous with the heritage of the Sandton Sun.

We appreciate your opinion and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017

Extremely helpful and professional staff at check in and check out. Very spacious and clean room, mini bar well stocked. I prefer to bath (in very little water and wash my hair in the bath), but did find rinsing my haire difficult - may I suggest a hand shower?

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Fredrikamagdalena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert J, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your feedback and for choosing to stay with us at Sandton Sun. Your comments are of vital importance to us and we utilise this to continually evaluate and improve on the service we offer.

We hope to have you stay again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017

Stayed 2 nights - room was quiet, clean and convenient. Hotel was quite full but never noisy - service at the front desk very efficient, valet parking good and not expensive. Service at the bar on the 6th floor abysmal - being white made us totally invisible. Otherwise everyone was very pleasant and friendly. Not the cheapest but we felt valued and we were relatively safe in a scary city.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clive T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert J, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Thank you for your positive feedback and for choosing to stay with us at Sandton Sun. Your comments are of vital importance to us and we utilise this to continually evaluate and improve on the service we offer.

We hope to have you stay again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017

Staying at The Sandton Sun is definitely value for money, while I attend to my business meetings, my wife still goes out shopping without me driving her around, just a walk to the mall without going outside the hotel, the staff welcomes us with smiles and respect.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Ntombifuthi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert J, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Sandton Sun and for taking the time to share your experience with other travellers on Trip Advisor. Your views are of utmost importance to us and thank you for your positive comments about the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.1 km away
InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers
0.3 km away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#3 of 46 in Sandton
992 reviews
0.2 km away
DaVinci Hotel and Suites
DaVinci Hotel and Suites
#10 of 46 in Sandton
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
1.0 km away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#13 of 46 in Sandton
1 373 reviews
0.3 km away
Garden Court Sandton City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandton Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandton Sun

Address: Cnr Fifth & Alice Lane, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Sandton
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
#8 Business Hotel in Sandton
#9 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
Price Range: R2 374 - R3 722 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandton Sun 5*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Johannesburg's business district and connected to the most luxurious shopping centre in the city, the hotel offers 5-star accommodation and a range of business and leisure facilities to all travellers, including state-of-the-art boardrooms, conference and banquet facilities. The menus at the award-winning restaurants are seasonal and sustainable while the outdoor deck offers breath-taking views of the city. Everything from a sundowner deck to a luxurious spa can be found under one roof, highlighting accessibility and connectivity ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Sandton Sun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandton Sun Hotel Sandton
Sun Hotel Sandton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing