We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sandton Sun
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Average 3/5
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Pool
    Reviews (1 024)
    Filter reviews
    1 024 results
    Traveller rating
    563
    306
    101
    28
    26
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    563
    306
    101
    28
    26
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsshopping malldirect accessnelson mandela squaresun decksandton citynespresso machineconvention centerexcellent hoteltsogo sunworld classhouse keepingbusiness hotelbusiness tripsouth africaenjoyed my staygautrain stationvinny
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    271 - 276 of 1 024 reviews
    Reviewed 5 January 2017

    Disappointed aswell as dissatisfaction and for a presidential suite "so not cool"..its liek any other room not what was expected...I enjoyed all my previous stays but this was my worst stay ever and I don't even know id I should advise people staying there ever

    • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
    Thank 46shiroog
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    PeterDavidson01, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2017

    Dear Valued Guest,

    Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I was most disappointed to hear that you found your stay not to the standards expected and please accept my personal apologies for this. I'd love to hear more about your experience as I truly value all comments and utilise them in the ongoing improvement of the product and services offered.

    I hope you will afford us the opportunity to rectify your impressions of the hotel in the future.

    Kind Regards
    Peter Davidson
    General Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 4 January 2017

    Each year we spend the last three nights of the year at the Sandton Sun (for the last couple of years).

    The hotel definitely deserves the five stars its rated, the food is amazing, the staff are friendly and ever ready to please. From the time we arrived we were welcomed by Vinny, we were checked in by Betty and from then on everyone was just as fantastic.

    The room very well appointed, good coffee machine and brand new amenities. We were given an upgrade which was welcomed! Breakfast has everything one would expect from a 5 star hotel, pity we couldnt get seating for dinner at the restaurant at new years (apparently booked out months in advance) but that wasn't a big issue.

    The hotel is connected to Sandton City so shopping is very convenient as well as other eateries.

    Room service was efficient and well presented, through to checkout.

    Thanks to all at the Sandton Sun for a great stay!

    • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Service
    Thank Yusuf G
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    PeterDavidson01, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2017

    Dear Yusuf G,

    Thank you for your feedback and also for choosing to stay with us at Sandton Sun. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and I hope we have the opportunity to see you and on many future occasions. We are constantly looking for ways in which we can improve on the product and services we offer so if there is anything, however small which you feel would have improved on your time here or could perhaps enhance a future visit, please feel free to drop me a short message.

    I look forward to welcoming you back to Sandton Sun.

    Kind Regards
    Peter Davidson
    General Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 4 January 2017

    Lovely place to stay especially if you plan to shop at Sandton City mall. Staff is very friendly and helpful, even had a waitress who greeted us with a big hug and smile every morning. Terrific concierge. Reason only 4 stars: other than great service by staff at breakfast, there was nothing else particularly good about the breakfast so I cannot give it five stars. The hot food was never hot and instead of refilling buffet dishes when they half empty, the staff would wait until there was not much on the dish before refilling them. If we ordered hot food from the kitchen, it took a very long time to come out even on days when the restaurant wasn't busy. The menu had V next to an item we ordered but it came with fish and the entire rest of the dish tasted like fish. The over easy eggs I ordered were hard, there weren't enough plates when the restaurant was busy. The refreshments in the room were not replaced consistently during our stay and after we used two mugs the first day, we were given only one from then on. (There were three of us in the room). The binder in the room was broken, (same problem as last year), the telephone did not always work, nor did the face light in the bathroom. Definitely not a lively hotel and over the time we were there, there were very few people around the lounge and bar area. I would not recommend it for singles but for families it is good value. Rooms not as chic as newer hotel such as Da Vinci but less expensive than it too.

    Room Tip: As high up as possible so quieter
    • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    Thank tali71
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    PeterDavidson01, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2017

    Dear Valued Guest,

    Thank you for such a candid review. I am glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay overall. Please accept my deepest apologies for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay as well as the service you received at breakfast, this is not the standards we aspire to at Sandton Sun. I will ensure that the respective Head of department is made aware of your comments and that the appropriate action is taken to rectify the situation.

    I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

    Kind Regards
    Peter Davidson
    General Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 4 January 2017 via mobile

    The hotel is superb. Service is acceptable as they provide what they supposed to do without being friendly. Breakfast is the worst in the Tsogo Sun group. I think they employed their worst chefs at this hotel. Housekeeping is very efficient. Will not recommend as there are far better hotels for the same price range.

    Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    Thank logann176
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    PeterDavidson01, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2017

    Dear Valued Guest,

    Thank you for staying with us and for your feedback. Please accept my sincere apologies that you found our breakfast to be below expectations. This is not the standard we expect or strive for and it is disappointing that we have missed this opportunity during your stay. I have personally communicated your concerns to the relevant line manager for his immediate attention.

    I hope you will afford us the opportunity to rectify your impressions of the hotel in the future.

    Kind Regards
    Peter Davidson
    General Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

    I've been there with my family and we all loved! The hotel is really beautiful and very well located, near Mandela Square and two malls! The breakfast was amazing, I travel a lot and for me this was one of the best hotel breakfast that I had !! Also the hotel location makes you feel comfortable to go out and have lunch and dinner as there is a wide variety of really good restaurants near the hotel. The only thing you may consider is that sometimes at night, as the hotel has a bar downstairs, it is a bit noisy. Other than that, awesome hotel!

    Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    Thank Amanda A
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    PDavidsonSandton, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2017

    Dear Valued Guest,

    Thank you for your feedback and kind comments. I am so glad to hear that overall you had a pleasant stay. Our hotel aims to provide a truly unique experience, and we are thrilled that we were able to exceed your expectations.

    I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

    Kind Regards

    Peter Davidson
    General Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews