We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
City Lodge Hotel Katherine Street
Ranked #33 of 47 Hotels in Sandton
Reviewed 19 December 2009

We had taken our office staff to J'burg for Christmas for 4 days. For a 3 star hotel it was great.

Check in was very slow (past midnight), and the lady was busy talking on the phone, so we had to hurry her up. There is no concierge service, so you need to haul your bags around.

The rooms are of a decent size, with a double bed (comfy with good pillows, blanket, and throw). There is a large work desk, safe that can fit a lap top, a single seater sofa with foot stool, and coffee table, tea and coffee making facilities, and a small cupboard. The room was very comfortable, had excellent air conditioning, and a TV with satellite television.

The bathroom had a good power shower, and separate bath. The towels were of good quality.

Breakfast was excellent with good service. Not pretentious at all. There was an egg station with hot food choices, fruits, cereal, pastries and breads, cold cuts and cheese. Juice, water, tea and coffee. It was a very good breakfast for a 3 star hotel. The hotel does serve some light meals, but has menus for various fast food and restaurants that deliver. You are welcome to use their breakfast room to eat food from outside, and they will supply you wit crockery and cutlery. This was a brilliant idea.

There is a pool, and mini gym, as well as some vending machines.

The only let down was the taxi service. It is operated by some foreigners, who have no real idea where they are going, are very expensive (more then 5 star hotels we had stayed in at Sandton), and very rude. After 2 days, we got the number for other operators, and called our own transport.

The hotel is 5 minutes drive from Sandton City shopping mall.

Overall an very good hotel, that was extremely comfortable, had good service and a great breakfast. I would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roadwarriorafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

77 - 81 of 93 reviews

An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 17 August 2009

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 21 July 2009

I couldn't stay in my usual place on this trip to Johannesburg because of the confed cup but managed to get a room here. Even though I only checked in at 11.30 at night, the reservations staff were cheery and nothing was a problem. The rooms were modern and everything worked as it should. The price I think was around R 750 including breakfast which included a very good buffet and a really good cooked English breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HillcrestBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2009

We were here only 3days on or way to to another county. Our fist time in Jo'burg and we were so happy with this hotel. The rooms were really GREAT - they were very updated and comfortable. The staff was very helpful with any requests or questions. They assisted with arranging taxis at price level that we asked for, suggested when would be a better time to visit a particular place etc. Mostly business travelers were here, but that allowed for us to meet a range of diverse people.

You can walk up the street to a an upscale plaza that has shopping, restaurants, ATM's and supermarkets. If you walk a bit further you can go to Mandela square which is a Grand shopping& dining experience. Easy to find ( only one turn) so no need to waste time or money with a taxi.

The breakfast was great and the Shebeen restaurant next door had a good selection for dinner.

I implore you to take the time to go to the Origins Center, the Hector Pieterson Museum
(in Soweto) and The Apartheid Museum at a minimum. There are all sorts of tours for your taste - but these three places are affordable and meaningful to all. If we had more time and money we would have gone to the cultural center as well - heard that it is great because you get to see and learn more about what real life is like for ech type of tribe. If you've ever been or heard of the Polynesian Cultural Center in Hawaii - I imagine that it is as great.

Key Points:
*Very easy to get arpund by car - so I would suggest renting a car and get a map.
*We live in the US but we are Black Jamaican and this was a profound experience from a historical perspective. A city that less than 20 years ago was under Apartheid rule now hosting the World Cup under a democratic system led by a Black President.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kahawtho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2008

Right on the Grayston Drive commercial avenue, and about 10 mins drive Sandton commercial centre.

Has all the facilities but not what you'd call luxury. Has a small pool but this is principally a business traveller's hotel. Car or taxi essential.

Clean largish rooms, cheerful staff, good but not obtrusive security. 50 rand for an hour's WiFi bu you can switch it on and off.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank EnglishAssessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandton hotels
1,6 km away
Faircity Quatermain Hotel
Faircity Quatermain Hotel
#17 of 47 in Sandton
292 reviews
1 km away
Garden Court Sandton City
0,7 km away
City Lodge Hotel Sandton Morningside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0,5 km away
Glenalmond Hotel Sandton
Glenalmond Hotel Sandton
#25 of 47 in Sandton
113 reviews
0,4 km away
Courtyard Hotel Sandton
Courtyard Hotel Sandton
#21 of 47 in Sandton
98 reviews
1 km away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Lodge Hotel Katherine Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lodge Hotel Katherine Street

Address: | corner Katherine Street & Grayston Drive, Sandown, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 47 Hotels in Sandton
Price Range: R 1 346 - R 1 580 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — City Lodge Hotel Katherine Street 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Sandton. Park-like gardens in the courtyard of the hotel contribute to a lovely ambiance, accentuated by the swimming pool built as if joined to the lounge. For guests' convenience there is a fitness room in the hotel and a restaurant is located on the property. It is situated in close proximity to the M1 motorway with easy access to all major routes. It is 3 minutes from the shopping centres of Sandton City, Nelson Mandela Square and a 30 minute drive from OR Tambo International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your City Lodge Hotel Katherine Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing