We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
City Lodge Hotel Katherine Street
Nearby Hotels
US$319
US$220
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$259
US$242
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$258
US$178
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$159
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hilton Sandton(Sandton)
US$148
US$135
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$254
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$154
US$145
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Maslow(Sandton)
US$175
US$156
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$264
US$172
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glenalmond Hotel Sandton(Sandton)(Great Value!)
US$80
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (95)
Filter reviews
95 results
Traveller rating
17
40
29
1
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
17
40
29
1
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscarpe diemgrayston drivesandton cityeasy accessroom serviceswimming poolbusiness
Filter
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 95 reviews
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 17 August 2009

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 21 July 2009

I couldn't stay in my usual place on this trip to Johannesburg because of the confed cup but managed to get a room here. Even though I only checked in at 11.30 at night, the reservations staff were cheery and nothing was a problem. The rooms were modern and everything worked as it should. The price I think was around R 750 including breakfast which included a very good buffet and a really good cooked English breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HillcrestBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2009

We were here only 3days on or way to to another county. Our fist time in Jo'burg and we were so happy with this hotel. The rooms were really GREAT - they were very updated and comfortable. The staff was very helpful with any requests or questions. They assisted with arranging taxis at price level that we asked for, suggested when would be a better time to visit a particular place etc. Mostly business travelers were here, but that allowed for us to meet a range of diverse people.

You can walk up the street to a an upscale plaza that has shopping, restaurants, ATM's and supermarkets. If you walk a bit further you can go to Mandela square which is a Grand shopping& dining experience. Easy to find ( only one turn) so no need to waste time or money with a taxi.

The breakfast was great and the Shebeen restaurant next door had a good selection for dinner.

I implore you to take the time to go to the Origins Center, the Hector Pieterson Museum
(in Soweto) and The Apartheid Museum at a minimum. There are all sorts of tours for your taste - but these three places are affordable and meaningful to all. If we had more time and money we would have gone to the cultural center as well - heard that it is great because you get to see and learn more about what real life is like for ech type of tribe. If you've ever been or heard of the Polynesian Cultural Center in Hawaii - I imagine that it is as great.

Key Points:
*Very easy to get arpund by car - so I would suggest renting a car and get a map.
*We live in the US but we are Black Jamaican and this was a profound experience from a historical perspective. A city that less than 20 years ago was under Apartheid rule now hosting the World Cup under a democratic system led by a Black President.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kahawtho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2008

Right on the Grayston Drive commercial avenue, and about 10 mins drive Sandton commercial centre.

Has all the facilities but not what you'd call luxury. Has a small pool but this is principally a business traveller's hotel. Car or taxi essential.

Clean largish rooms, cheerful staff, good but not obtrusive security. 50 rand for an hour's WiFi bu you can switch it on and off.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank EnglishAssessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2007

This hotel was excellent.
There was orange juice and sherry on arrival and fresh muffins and fruit and paper bags when you went out for a day.
The breakfast was cooked to order and there was fresh fruit, muffins etc. The tables had tablecloths and there were plenty of staff.
The hotel was gated but there was a typical african restaurant inside for dinner and lunch.
There was an enclosed lush garden with a pool and a mini gym.
Staff were courteous and helpful.
We took trips to Sowetto, Palinsburg animal park, Zoo Park and the craft markets on Saturday at Rosedale.
The most facinating was the visit to the Apartheid Museum.
Rooms were great, beds comfortable and on departure the hotel called the Magic Bus to take us to the airport.

Stayed: September 2007
6  Thank welltravelledlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews