We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$319
US$266
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$247
US$242
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$256
US$176
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$159
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$168
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$151
US$146
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Sandton(Sandton)
US$148
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Glenalmond Hotel Sandton(Sandton)(Great Value!)
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Maslow(Sandton)
US$194
US$188
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$264
US$171
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (436)
Filter reviews
437 results
Traveller rating
320
73
21
10
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
320
73
21
10
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgrand chateauvilla suiteamuse bouchebeautiful hotelan oasisbustling cityrose petalshour flightpleasure of stayingmain buildinglarge bathroomturn down servicetop classsandton areasouth africanelson mandela squarejohannesburg
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 437 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2018

Great location and service
Friendly Staff
Room very clean
Value for money
Great Menu, enough options
More than what we expected
.... we will definitely visit again... soon
great location for 'couple get aways'

Room Tip: Court Yard, excellent!
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank buyilen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael_Kewley1, General Manager at Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018

Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.

We are thrilled to know that we met and exceeded your expectations. We value your feedback as it allows us to reward excellence and improve our services. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Fairlawns shortly.

Kind Regards

Michael Kewley
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2018 via mobile

I don’t generally give reviews. However, it would be an injustice not to comment on the amazing experience at the Fairlawn. This boutique hotel have the best service I’ve ever received in my travels. They cater to the guest like you’re kings & queens. The decor is authentic and a mix of modern and traditional.

Our room was very spacious and the claw foot tub was a must have after a long day of touring. The staff is extremely friendly & one even offered to “iron” my clothes. I truly felt like a celebrity.

We’ve traveled all over the world and I have yet to find service like this . It’s a must stay in JoBurg.

In case management reads this: Please thank Andre & Carla again for their service.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Rhonda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael_Kewley1, General Manager at Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor.

Your lovely comments about our decor and friendly staff was appreciated, and a special thanks will be extended to Carla and Andre. We strive for more as a five star establishment, and therefore thrilled to know that your Fairlawns experience was so amazing.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Michael Kewley
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2018 via mobile

We live nearby but haven't come here for dinner before. Superb service from drinks on the terrace to excellently well prepared and fresh food (I had the caesar salad which was the best I've had in South Africa followed by the pork) extremely well presented and generous portions.
Will be visiting again.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael_Kewley1, General Manager at Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your Amuse-Bouche Food & Wine experience.

Your kind comments about our superb service and excellently prepared food was greatly appreciated and will be shared with the Chef and his team. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Micheal Kewley
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018

I loved this property. The staff was delightful and helpful. The brandy and fruit in the room was also a nice touch, the room was incredibly spacious and grand. Breakfast Buffet was also wonderful with lots of delicious choices. I would definitely stay here again.

I actually traveled in December of 2016 for Christmas.

Stayed: February 2017
Thank Yobabydoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael_Kewley1, General Manager at Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your experience.

Your lovely review and wonderful comments about our delightful and helpful staff was well received and will be shared with the Team. We strive for excellence and thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Sanctuary in the City.

Kind Regards

Michael Kewley
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018 via mobile

I have used Fairlawns for about 5 years, and it’s consistently excellent. Food, staff, location all brilliant. The new owners who took over last year have made a few improvements too. If you want a hotel with personal service and high standards, then visit Fairlawns.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Thank CKN-Harrogate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael_Kewley1, General Manager at Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Your wonderful comments about our high standards and brilliant staff was greatly appreciated and will be shared with the team. We are continuously working on improving our services and offerings and thrilled to know that we have met your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Michael Kewley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews