We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
R 2 625
Fully refundable before Fri, 03 May
Breakfast included
No prepayment needed
Expedia.com
R 2 468
Fully refundable before Sun, 05 May
Get rewarded with One Key
Agoda.com
R 2 205
Fully refundable before Sat, 27 Apr
Breakfast included
No fees just great deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
RosG101
Johannesburg, South Africa
Mostly good, depends on your tastes
Review of The Maslow
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 11 Nov 2020
Stayed recently for four nights. Booked a Junior Suite as was nominally more expensive than the standard room on Hotels.com and is definitely worth it.

The positives:
- Great location, central Sandton CBD. (Hotel is situated on a very busy intersection so is very noisy at peak hours, but fine if keep doors and windows closed).
- Lots of free parking on hotel grounds, but it's outside and our car was covered in leaves every morning from heavy rains.
- Room is large, with a separate lounge (but with most uncomfortable couch ever).
- Suite has a patio with nice views, great for sundowners.
- Has a big comfortable bed, nice linen.
- The shower is AMAZING and there is a lovely large bath, great for relaxing after long day.
- Room was mostly clean.
- We didn't have breakfast but did order room service one evening - burgers are very good, but a bit overpriced. There isn't a table to eat at (in a Suite) which would be nice to have.
- The staff are all very friendly and helpful, service was excellent.
- Covid measures are in place including temp checks, hand sanitizers, limited pax in lifts etc.

The negatives:
- The wifi is absolutely useless. Barely worked in our room throughout our stay. You can connect to it but can't actually do anything, especially no video calls. Not acceptable in 2020 in a largely business hotel.
- The room has an open plan bathroom - my pet hate! Why do hotel architects think this is a good idea? I wouldn't want it in my home, so why in a hotel? It's fine if you are on your own, but not fine as a couple - aside from the fact that I don't want to see and hear my husband in the bathroom, it is so impractical - I had to get up early every morning for work and so my husband was woken too. It is impossible to sleep with the bright light and shower/hairdryer noise 1-2 metres away from the bed. For goodness sake guys - enough with the open plan.

The Maslow is good value for money, especially the suite, but because of the wifi and impractical bathroom it's unlikely we will go back. If these things don't bother you, then it's worthwhile. (PS: don't book direct with hotel, way cheaper on Hotels.com)
Date of stay: November 2020
Nearby Hotels
Priceline
R 2 259
Go to your Happy Price
  • Agoda.com
    R 2 258
  • Radissonhotels.com
    R 2 239
  • Trip.com
    R 2 248
0.6 km from The Maslow
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
R 1 493
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    R 1 493
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 342
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 479
0.9 km from The Maslow
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior
Booking.com
R 2 486
  • Radissonhotels.com
    R 2 490
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 490
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 489
1.0 km from The Maslow
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
R 1 359
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    R 1 488
  • Agoda.com
    R 981
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 425
9.3 km from The Maslow
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
R 3 147
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    R 3 120
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 119
  • Priceline
    R 3 147
9.6 km from The Maslow
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
R 2 003
Fully refundable
  • Vio.com
    R 2 002
  • Agoda.com
    R 2 003
  • eDreams
    R 2 003
9.4 km from The Maslow
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
R 1 280
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    R 1 422
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 142
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 409
11.8 km from The Maslow
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
R 1 163
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    R 1 219
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 097
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 097
0.9 km from The Maslow
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Sandton
Reviews (1 122)
Filter reviews
1 122 results
Traveller rating
526
398
116
42
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
526
398
116
42
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviews africology spa lacuna bistro business hotel nelson mandela square free shuttle coffee machine the hotel offers south africa sandton area johannesburg conference concierge mall establishment
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 1 122 reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2020

The check in was very unfriendly and did not acknowledge our arrival. We were also not advised by reception that we had to provide credit card details in order to charge to the room. This resulted in me receiving a call from downstairs at 21:30 in the evening when I was already sleeping to insist that I come downstairs immediately to settle a bill for R65 ($4) for two cool drinks that I signed to the room. The room is also very basic for a four star hotel and does not even have a power point for a shaver in the bathroom.

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 725wikusv
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Calan Naidoo, Other at The Maslow, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2020

Dear valued guest, thank you so much for sharing your feedback with us. We work hard to ensure that we create a memorable experience for all who visit us at the Maslow. We apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced during your stay with us. I will be sure to share the feedback with our management team! We look forward to hosting you again in the near future in the hope that we can give you the exceptional experience you deserve. Kind Regards Calan Naidoo Customer Relations Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2020

Safe and ample parking.
Swift, efficient and friendly check in.
Clean room - spacious, nice view, modern bathroom.
Designer wardrobe with iron board and safe.
Equipped in-room kitchenette fridge to wine glasses.

Affordable room service menu.

It cant get any better!!!

Date of stay: October 2020
Thank Clement263
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Calan Naidoo, Other at The Maslow, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2020

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your rating and feedback! We look forward to hosting you again in the near future. Kind Regards Calan Naidoo Customer Relations Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2020

The barista made 2 amazing cappuccinos with fabulous images on the surface of the drink. The accommodation was lovely, the reception staff were very helpful and because there were some difficulties with the pandemic, were very concerned for our well being.

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jennifer1254
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Meander08238483838, Customer Relations at The Maslow, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2020

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your rating and feedback! We look forward to hosting you again in the near future. Kind Regards Calan Naidoo Customer Relations Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2020 via mobile

OK hotel, more like a conference centre with lodging. Easy to find, and lots of parking. My room was clean and tidy, rainfall shower was nice with an iron and ironing board. Breakfast buffet was pretty good, lots of seating in the restaurant and a huge selection of choices.

The only issue I had was whilst eating dinner at the Lacuna bar, where the waiter decided to choose the payment currency himself, and then when questioned assured me it was hotel policy, but it wasn't early in the day. A quick chat with the manager and an apology a refund was attempted but there's only 1 machine which can perform a refund, and it wasn't working, the next day it still wasn't working so still need to check my statement.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled on business
2  Thank Meloquin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Meander08238483838, Customer Relations at The Maslow, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2020

Dear valued guest, Thank you so much for sharing your positive and constructive feedback with us. We work hard to ensure that we create a memorable experience for all who visit us at the Maslow. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your stay with us. I will be sure to share the feedback with our management team at large! We look forward to hosting you again in the near future. Kind Regards Calan Naidoo Customer Relations Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2020

My wife and I spent a couple of days at The Maslow and, on balance, enjoyed our time there. Service was always pleasant and attentive and food very good. The room itself was small but serviceable - our biggest issue was that the 'trendy' glass bathroom and toilet were very noisy, so if one person went to the loo the other person could hear everything! Thankfully we're married so romance wasn't on the cards but worth knowing...

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Calan Naidoo, Other at The Maslow, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2020

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your rating and feedback! We look forward to hosting you again in the near future. Kind Regards Calan Naidoo Customer Relations Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews