We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average visit. ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers
Ranked #6 of 46 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed in a Superior room. The room was fairly clean and tidy. The furniture needs maintenance as there was a lot of water damage and rotting on the wooden furniture, esp the doors and cupboards. Overall the room was good. Check in and check out was quick and efficient. There is a skywalk to Sandton City.

This was the worst breakfast I had at any hotel before from all my travels. There is hardly any variety. The fruits were not fresh. The juice was not fresh. I ordered an omelette and it was the worst I ever had. Reason why I would not return.

The pool and gym were excellent and in good condition. Gym is international standard. The hotel offers parking at R50 a day.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Thank PMuhammad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaliq E, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your tripadvisor posting.

Your comments both positive and constructive have been noted. With regards to your room condition, your room number has been picked up from history and maintenance manager will attend to the items mentioned. Breakfast comments have been discuss with chef and F&B manager and corrective action has taken place.

Please contact me directly on kaliq.essop@icsandtontowers.com for your next stay, so that I have the opportunity to show you that what you experienced is not the norm.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (638)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 638 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The magnificient intercontinental sandton towers is one of the first luxury hotels in the city. Located adjacent to the convention center is the perfect option if you have an event in the sandton convention centre like I had. Just a walking distancia without going to the street Same to to go the shopping mall and supermarket. Really perfect


I stayed in floor 23rd on the suite 2356. HUGE. An tremendous living and a big bedroom. Bathroom nice,with shower and tub

Huge toiletries by Agraria.

I had the privilege of using the Intercontinental lounge spread over three floors. So I went for breakfast there because there were less people than in the main location. Buffet of course much smaller, but I had all I needed, even Nutella. Downstairs the buffet is huge and the choice of breads and pastries really big.

The hotel will go under a full refurbishment next year. Actually the colors and style is old fashioned like, but important things like bed/mattress, bedsheets are really top

Huge gym fully equipped, small outdoor pool but with some loungers to chill out, kinda of oasis amidst the crazy city.

Staff all, really helpful and nice

The only weird thing was the switches of the lighting. A point to improve

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Thank LuxeGraupix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaliq E, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for using this platform to detail your experience.

Your comments both positive and constructive have been noted. A point of improvement with the light switches has also been noted. Look forward to your next stay hopefully not in the too distant future.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017 via mobile

Very nice hotel conveniently situated in Sandton City right next to the large mall which you can easily walk to using the sky bridge connection. Also easy to get to surrounding suburbs- Fourways, Bryanston etc. Friendly and helpful staff. The hotel shuttle for the Johannesburg sight seeing city tour bus has a stop just next door to the hotel at the Sandton Convention Center which was really great. The concierge was great and helped me organise my sightseeing and made very useful suggestions. The Hotel provides a car service to/from O.R Tambo Airport for a fee which was very convenient for my early morning arrival. Definitely recommend staying here.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
Thank Keli W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaliq E, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Thank you for your posting on TripAdvisor.

Your detail description and positive comments have been noted and will be shared with the team.

Look forward to your next stay in the not too distant future.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017

I regularly stay at the Intercontinental Hotel in Sandton. Special mention to the Concierge team , the front of hotel staff and the Club lounge staff in the evening,. Nothing is too much to ask, so from the much appreciated upgrades, the comfy bed it really is a home from home.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrystelBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaliq E, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Thank you for your posting on Tripadvisor.

Your positive comments will be shared with the team and i will personally thank the concierge, club lounge and front desk staff.

Look forward to your next visit.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

Great hotel in a very safe location.
It is interconnected to the mall which makes life alot easier to move around
Breakfast was substandard but overall the hotel was great.

Clean spacious room with all the basic amenities

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Daniyal L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaliq E, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Thank you for your posting on TripAdvisor.

Your comments both positive and constructive have been noted. The breakfast delivery will be discussed with our Restaurant Manager and corrective action will take place.

Look forward to your next stay.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.9 km away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#13 of 46 in Sandton
1 375 reviews
0.2 km away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#3 of 46 in Sandton
993 reviews
0.1 km away
DaVinci Hotel and Suites
DaVinci Hotel and Suites
#10 of 46 in Sandton
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Sandton Sun
Sandton Sun
#4 of 46 in Sandton
955 reviews
0.6 km away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
0.9 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers

Address: Corner Maude & Fifth Streets, Sandton 2146, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Sandton
#4 Spa Hotel in Sandton
#5 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
Price Range: R2 031 - R3 659 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers 5*
Number of rooms: 231
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the safe hub of Sandton, Johannesburg with direct access to: shopping malls, Sandton Convention Centre, Food, Wine and excursions. Perfect for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers Hotel Sandton
Intercontinental Johannesburg Sandton Hotel
Intercontinental Sandton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing