We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Basic Breakfast!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers
Ranked #7 of 46 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2017

The hotel room was great, staff were helpful, cheerful, polite and professional. The breakfast though was so basic compared to the other Intercontinental hotels in other countries. The hotel has a direct access to Nelson Mandela Square and Sandton City Mall which is of great advantage.

Room Tip: you get an extended check out if you are an IHG Rewards Member!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ardementozo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaliq E, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

Thank you for your posting on Tripadvisor.

Your comments both positive and constructive are highly appreciated and will be shared with the team. Your feedback regarding the breakfast will be discussed with the Chef and F&B Manager and improvement will be implemented.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (638)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 15 of 638 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2017 via mobile

This was a delightful hotel. Lovely room and pleasing decor, (with a 1980's/ early 90's vibe), yet really comfortable with a semi walk-in closet. Breakfast was included in the room rate, which was great, as we didn't have to pay an additional amount for it. Staff was very courteous. I also loved the tiny lindt chocolates housekeeping would leave on both sides of my bed every time they cleaned the room.....superb; as I'm a devout chocoholic! The only thing I didn't like about it is the very low balcony overlooking the atrium of the hotel. The balcony and railing was way too low and I just thought it was kinda dangerous and posed a real risk. It made me super nervous! Now I really liked this hotel, but I WOULD NOT stay here with my small children, unless they would put me in a much lower floor. I also wish they had more diverse channels on T.V. All in all, a wonderful experience!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank naijababe2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaliq E, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Thank you for using this platform to detail your experience.

Your comments both positive and constructive have been noted. The safety concerned and the TV channels are currently being looked at.

Look forward to your next stay.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017

This was my first stay at this hotel and hopefully many more to come. The team went far to make my stay comfortable and enjoyable. As a Royal Ambassador, I was upgraded to a suite. The hotel contacted me prior to my arrival to add welcome amenities. High Tea in the Club Room is a must try.
However as with every hotel there's always room for improvement: club room needs expansion to cater for busier periods
Wider selection for breakfast in the restaurant
As usual with Intercontinental, service is exceptional.
Special thanks goes out to Salman, Kathleen, Babalwa Mkaka and Kaliq Essop

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ASC786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaliq E, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Thank you for your posting on TripAdvisor.

Your compliments with be passed onto the individuals mentioned and I will personally thank them for their service. I am glad that your status as Royal Ambassador was recognized. The constructive comments regarding room for improvement have been noted as well.

Look forward to your next stay and thank you for your membership as Royal Ambassador.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017

Beside the superb location, quality of the property, amenities and food, the pearl is the people and staff that unconditionally are at your entire service and looking after you at any detail. Congratulations to the concierge staff that made everything to have me and family (we were 7 people) at the max of our comfort in the Inter Sandton.
Thanks a lot!!!!!!

Room Tip: 2656 is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Gustavo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaliq E, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Thank for for your posting on Tripadvisor.

Your positive comments are appreciated and will be shared with the team especially the concierge team.

Look forward to your next visit in the not too distant future

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017 via mobile

This was my second time at this hotel and i must say that will not ne the last. We got a suite for the whole family. Check in experience was exceptional. Room was simply great with all the possible amenities. Thanks to all staff to arrange an incredible stay.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Paolo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaliq E, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Thank you for your posting on Tripadvisor.

Your positive comments is welcomed and will be shared with the team. thank you for sharing your experience on this platform.

Look forward to your next stay in the not too distant future.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.9 km away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#13 of 46 in Sandton
1 371 reviews
0.1 km away
DaVinci Hotel and Suites
0.2 km away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#3 of 46 in Sandton
991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Sandton Sun
Sandton Sun
#4 of 46 in Sandton
949 reviews
0.6 km away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
0.9 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers

Address: Corner Maude & Fifth Streets, Sandton 2146, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Sandton
#5 Spa Hotel in Sandton
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range: R2 014 - R3 915 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers 5*
Number of rooms: 231
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the safe hub of Sandton, Johannesburg with direct access to: shopping malls, Sandton Convention Centre, Food, Wine and excursions. Perfect for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers Hotel Sandton
Intercontinental Johannesburg Sandton Hotel
Intercontinental Sandton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing