We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Happy traveler

True luxury

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 05 Jul 2021
As stop overs go, this is an amazing place, Gautrain from OR Tambo, safe and no need to leave the precinct makes this my perfect place in Johannesburg. It is a little expensive, but what price do you put on safety and luxury?
Date of stay: May 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
R 1 886
Go to your Happy Price
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 886
  • Trip.com
    R 1 882
  • Radissonhotels.com
0.7 km from Michelangelo Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    R 2 401
  • Priceline
    R 2 401
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 404
0.4 km from Michelangelo Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 220
  • Booking.com
0.1 km from Michelangelo Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 366
  • Booking.com
0.2 km from Michelangelo Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Bella Casa Guesthouse
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 2 212
  • Priceline
5.8 km from Michelangelo Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Relax poolside after a long day!
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 432
  • Priceline
9.9 km from Michelangelo Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 3 115
  • Booking.com
10.1 km from Michelangelo Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 974
  • Algotels
0.6 km from Michelangelo Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 982
  • Algotels
10.0 km from Michelangelo Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 340
  • Booking.com
0.9 km from Michelangelo Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Sandton
Reviews (1 200)
Filter reviews
1 200 results
Traveller rating
749
298
92
33
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
749
298
92
33
28
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 1 200 reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2020 via mobile

I love this hotel. I really do. Though I don’t know why.
It’s brash and garish but it’s also comfortable and safe and it works. Great setting in Nelson Mandela square with escalators down to shopping mall. Super car service in lobby. Friendly and helpful staff and best room cleaning I’ve ever encountered in Africa. Very convenient for everything really

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank melstein13
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2020

Dear melstein13
Thank you for your review posted on Trip Advisor.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful and that our housekeeping impressed you.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Regards
Roberto Rosa
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2020

Stayed here on a business trip and it was perfect.
Located at the end of the Gautrain from the airport it was very easy to find.
The hotel is big with a number of restaurants and a great reception area. The fact that its part of the shopping centre just helps you get around and do a bit more.
The staff were very friendly and helped make this a pleasant stay with their warm welcome. The rooms were clean and tidy and very spacious.

The bar area is good and comfortable to drink by yourself or with guests. As for the breakfast, very filling and tasty.
Thank you, I'll be staying again next time.

Room tip: Corner suites are very quiet
Date of stay: February 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gooner_JT
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2020

Dear Gooner_JT
Thank you for your Trip Advisor review.
We appreciate your feedback and will be sure to share it with the entire team.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Best Wishes
Roberto Rosa
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2020

A luxury hotel belonging to the chain The Leading Hotels of the World. The hotel is directly adjacent to the shopping center with direct entrance. The hotel has a very nice bar and staff.
The breakfast was extensive and good

Date of stay: February 2020
1  Thank Rune C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2020

Dear 893runec
Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.
We are delighted your stay was a memorable and comfortable one with us and that you enjoyed our bar and breakfast.
We hope to welcome you back you soon.
Regards
Roberto Rosa
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2020

What to say. It is just nice. Elegant. Stylish. Smilish.

Everything works perfectly. We had a 7 day biz stay. Every evening joining the piano bar lounge. Either drink ordered came like a film star statue.

Room tip: If Sandton is your destination. This is elegant.
Date of stay: March 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BLastein
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2020

Dear BLastein
Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and we will be sure to share it with the entire team.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Best wishes
Roberto Rosa
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2020

Rooms are big ,clean service is great from all the staff and adjacent to Sandton city for great shopping
Check in was a breeze
Thanks to Mpho for being so efficient and good
Our 6 th stay here over the years
Have tried other hotels in the area but always come back here

Date of stay: February 2020
Thank Marisse G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2020

Dear Marisse G
Thank you for your your review and for choosing to stay with us again.
We will be sure to share your feedback with Mpho
We look forward to welcoming you back soon for your 7th stay.
Best wishes
Roberto Rosa
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews