We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 201)
Filter reviews
1 201 results
Traveller rating
749
299
93
32
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
749
299
93
32
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nelson mandela square leading hotels of the world shopping mall beautiful hotel direct access luxury hotel rooms are large sandton city business trip archie concierge joburg gym lounge gautrain
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
89 - 94 of 1 201 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2018

I have stayed very many times in this hotel and ALL my stays have always been better than perfect.
I already wrote a review 5 years ago, but servicewise, think the hotel has even further improved. The hotel superstar is the Head Concierge, Archie, speaking absolutly fluently 7 languages: whatever your wish, whatever your question, Archie will immediatly find the perfect solution with a smile. Also a great gest relation manager, Mario.
All, truly all the staff is attentive, kind, smiling, helpful and professional. Rooms and bathroooms are extremely comfortable. Breakfast is a dream.
Cherry on the cake, the hotel is fantastically located within the best mall in greater Jo'burg, around Nelson Mandela square.
Are there other hotels providing this level of service? yes but very few such as the very top hotels in Singapore, Hong Kong or Bangkok.
Plus an excellent quality to price ratio.
Congratulations to the General Manager, Mr. Roberto Rosa. I just left on Trip Advisor a poor comment on another hotel saying one could see it was not managed. Well at the Michelangelo anyone can see that is not only managed, but greatly managed.

Room tip: Over Nelson Mandela square.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank HGBParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2018

Dear HGBParis
Thank you for such a wonderful and kind review. It was certainly a pleasure to have you stay with us and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much. We will certainly pass on your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Best wishes
Roberto Rosa
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2018

Easy drive off peak hours from the International Airport Tambo. Well situated in a shopping centre where you can many restaurants and a cinema. We arrived in the afternoon and left again the next morning for a safari, same on the way back home.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Liisa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelangeloSandton, Guest Relations Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2018

Dear Liisa E
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted you had a memorable stay with us and hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Mario Merola
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2018

Great location in the Sandton area near Mandela Square with great views as well as beautiful common areas, great service, and common areas. The rooms are spacious and the gym, pool, and spa are top notch. Views of the general area and the square with a lot of shopping and restaurant options without leaving the building and area.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank advantageintl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2018

Dear 2advantage
Thank you for you kind review on Tripadvisor. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to your next visit.
Best wishes
Roberto Rosa
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2018

Stayed one night while in transit between safaris. Location, connection, and security couldn't be better. Taking the GUATRAIN from Tambo airport was super-efficient and easy, possibly one of the best airport train experiences I've ever had. Hotel was a quick walk (3 left turns & you never have to cross a city street) from the SANDTON train station (apparently you can even make the walk through the mall if the weather's bad, but it's a little more complicated).

I will agree that the decor isn't quite my taste (lots of gold trim), but everything was in good shape & room was good sized with a generously sized bathroom. Didn't have any issue with noise and had a nice view of the city.

The hotel's location at Sandton is both a good and bad thing. It's super easy to reach & very safe. It opens onto Nelson Mandela Square and an endless world of connected high-end shopping malls. For a first-timer to Johannesburg, it's a very sanitized experience (for better or worse). The surrounding neighborhood is primarily office buildings, so very little opportunity to get a true sense of the city.

What truly distinguished the hotel were the concierges. We had two interactions & both were fantastic. First we needed a dinner recommendation. To his credit, the concierge didn't recommend the hotel restaurant (although the food there is fine). We gave him a vague guideline of what we wanted (high quality, but not fussy). After visiting one recommended place, we returned with a request for another choice. He listened to what we didn't like about the first option & fine-tuned his recommendation to a place that was much better suited to our taste. He even walked us halfway there. The next morning we asked for a recommendation for a sightseeing option for the 1-2 hours before returning to the airport. Once again he listened and came up with 2 options that were perfect. Couldn't ask for more.

Room tip: Higher floor so that your view will clear neighboring builidings.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank L C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2018

Dear Nyctravelr
Thank you for your detailed and valuable feedback on Tripadvisor. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to your next visit,.
Best wishes
Roberto Rosa
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2018

We had just finished a rather grueling trip thru South Africa and came back to Joburg, taking the Guatrain (excellent) from the airport to the Michelangelo. Their website looked wonderful and we were not let down by the actual experience.

The room was great in every way, service was excellent,staff very friendly and efficient. We had a fantastic dinner at their restaurant, enjoyed the cocktail bar with live pianist and I had a spectacular massage by Matilda.

It's a beautiful and special place in the middle of a challenging city. We'll stay there again if the opportunity arises.

Room tip: Upgrade to the next level from the basic room. You'll be glad you did.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Doug M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2018

Dear Doug M
We are happy to hear that you had a wonderful time with us and it was a pleasure to have you stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Best wishes
Roberto Rosa
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews